Powered by 100% agave

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej is the first expression from Siete Misterios that is made in a copper still, and produced outside the region of Sola de Vega.

About this mezcal

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej is made from agave Espadin. Doba-Yej is Zapotec for agave Espadin, and they chose this name as this mezcal is different from the Siete Misterios Espadin. It is the first expression from Siete Misterios that is made in a copper still rather than the clay pot still seen in their other mezcals. The milling for this mezcal is also done by horse-drawn tahona, rather than by hand like the other Siete Misterios mezcal. In typical Siete Misterios fashion, each batch is made by a different mezcalero, and depending on the batch, your bottle of Doba-Yej either came from Santiago Matatlan or San Luis del Rio.  Make sure to check your bottle for these details.

Siete Misterios Mezcal

Siete Misterios was founded in 2010 with the intent of keeping traditional mezcal production at the forefront of the mezcal industry. They produce a wide range of mezcals that all highlight a single agave varietal. They are backed by those who are deeply saddened by the industrialization seen in most tequila and some low-grade mezcal, and they're doing everything in their power to keep the art of the mezcalero alive. The mezcaleros making their bottles change batch to batch, so one batch's bottles may taste entirely different from the next batch's bottles. This gives Siete Misterios a lot of variety in it's bottling as each batch is made by a different person, with agave grown in a slightly different micro-climate, and the mezcal may hold a slightly different ABV. Make sure to check your bottle for these details.

10 reviews

2.75 out of 5


Andy

Andy

21 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

NOM-0153. Lot: DBY06/19
Vanilla on the nose, acetone. Vanilla continues less strongly on the palate, some fruit, sweet. A decent Espadin but not mind blowing. Think there are better Espadins on the market for the price. Having said that, it stood out as different and therefore wouldn’t argue against trying.

Rakhal

Rakhal

169 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot: DBY27/16. I’ve had some good Mezcal from this brand, this is not one of them. Rubbing alcohol, nail polish remover, tin, burnt electric wires, hay. Really bad.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lol If you’ve gathered anything, I tried a lot of mezcals at Mexico in a Bottle. I noted this was very unique but didn’t have any other notes.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very heavy nose, boozy, Peaty and a little candied.
Zingy GNS on the palate with the persistent taste of fresh peat, typical ambiguity of espadin, some stone fruits leather then grass.
Finish is fairly cheery sweet.
Wasn’t too bad, but was following some big hitters.

LosMuertos

LosMuertos

32 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

2013 vintage. Pink/purple top ribbon.

This is by far my least favourite mezcal of the around 30 Mezcal’s that I’ve tried. The scent is quite anonymous, some smoke, paint and burning alcohol. On the palate it’s bad but then it calms down only to come back even worse with more bitterness and burning alcohol. It’s actually amazing how it can do that. I got shivers down my spine on every sip(in a bad way). If I could give it zero stars I would.

Scent: 0/5
Mouthfeel: 0/5

2013 vintage. Pink/purple top ribbon.
This is by far my least favourite mezcal of the around 30 Mezcal’s that I’ve tried. The scent is quite anonymous, some smoke, paint and burning alcohol. On the palate it’s bad but then it calms down only to come back even worse with more bitterness and burning alcohol. It’s actually amazing how it can do that. I got shivers down my spine on every sip(in a bad way). If I could give it zero stars I would.
Scent: 0/5
Mouthfeel: 0/5

Read more
PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Industrial smoke kick to the head with some stone fruit in the background but you have to search for it through the burn. Excellent for cocktails calling for a good amount of smoke but a bit too harsh as a sipper. That being said, friends who enjoy peaty scotches enjoyed this one more than the complex agaves that minimize smoke. Good starter mezcal for those new to the spirit.

AndrewF

AndrewF

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2016 Batch.
Disappointing compared to the 2015. Sweetness is very prominent, smoke has the peaty/industrial quality of a Ledaig scotch, mothballs and magic markers, but the fruit is restrained and fleeting, no longer a parade of fruity acetates but a short march. Still better than many entry-level offerings but a far-cry from earlier editions.

AndrewF

AndrewF

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

2015 Batch. A quick ethanol/higher alcohol blast transitions directly into electric stonefruit and citrus on a background of gentle, persistent smoke, all shot through with lavender and a tiny hint of oyster. Must be a wild ferment to get this many acetates. Beautiful, even if it isn’t a smoke monster. Don’t buy it, you’ll hate it. 🙂

Tyler

Tyler

395 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Leather, copper, and chocolate on the nose. Slightly metallic, spice, peat, and ashy notes on the palate. The copper taste is prominent. There is a warm finish to this mezcal. 2013 batch ESP/MAT – 01/13 from Don Celso Martinez in Santiago Matalán.

Jonny

Jonny

425 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This Mezcal is a good espadin. It’s very sweet with notes of orange and pineapple. There’s a lot of alcohol on the nose and the heat carries over a bit in the taste. The flavor doesn’t seem as full as some of their other expresssions.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top