Powered by 100% agave

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej is the first expression from Siete Misterios that is made in a copper still, and produced outside the region of Sola de Vega.

About this mezcal

Siete Misterios Doba-Yej is made from agave Espadin. Doba-Yej is Zapotec for agave Espadin, and they chose this name as this mezcal is different from the Siete Misterios Espadin. It is the first expression from Siete Misterios that is made in a copper still rather than the clay pot still seen in their other mezcals. The milling for this mezcal is also done by horse-drawn tahona, rather than by hand like the other Siete Misterios mezcal. In typical Siete Misterios fashion, each batch is made by a different mezcalero, and depending on the batch, your bottle of Doba-Yej either came from Santiago Matatlan or San Luis del Rio.  Make sure to check your bottle for these details.

Siete Misterios Mezcal

Siete Misterios was founded in 2010 with the intent of keeping traditional mezcal production at the forefront of the mezcal industry. They produce a wide range of mezcals that all highlight a single agave varietal. They are backed by those who are deeply saddened by the industrialization seen in most tequila and some low-grade mezcal, and they're doing everything in their power to keep the art of the mezcalero alive. The mezcaleros making their bottles change batch to batch, so one batch's bottles may taste entirely different from the next batch's bottles. This gives Siete Misterios a lot of variety in it's bottling as each batch is made by a different person, with agave grown in a slightly different micro-climate, and the mezcal may hold a slightly different ABV. Make sure to check your bottle for these details.

14 reviews

3.14 out of 5


booyaka2

booyaka2

7 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Soft, delicate and incredibly approachable. This is the mezcal to lewer friends away from tequila. It’s so afordable too!!!! Please comment if you know why this Agave is so cheap. Lote 03/20 bottle 1569/4000 at 44% abv. I got it in Alberta canada for $46.00

CallMeYan

CallMeYan

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

DBY13/19 (2019 bottling), 44% ABV
Baked pear and cinnamon sweetness, barbecue sauce, charred meat. A great crunch of roasted poblano and cracked clay keep it from being overly sweet.
A great drop at any price, but an absolute steal for less than a good bottle of whisk(e)y.

MexcalliCR

MexcalliCR

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Lot: DBY12/19, Brown ribbon. This is a best value for me. Of course, it is not as complex as some clay pot mezcales, but for half of the price it’s perfect. Strong alcohol at the begining and then lots of fruit pairing with the soft smoky flavor.

aarild

aarild

69 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

2019 batch.
Admittedly, one star is awarded for the price since this bottle, at least in my country, cost little more than any average tequila.
A brief strike of agave on the nose, followed by plum, dusty loft and some smoke. Great, classic agave fruit on the palate, pear and cucumber-ish, the character that one immediately recognise as espadin. It makes me think that this is what the makers of the rough but fruity tequilas I had two decades ago tried to achieve, but couldn’t. Smoke is in the background towards the end, but not omnipresent. Surprisingly long aftertaste with slight butterscotch and mint.

Except from a bit dusty, slightly chemical whiff for a split second, this bottle is on par with any mezcals I have had up to twice the price. It has just the perfect, fruity punch you need in cocktails. It is way more than acceptable to sip, although veterans to agave spirits might not be too impressed. Very happy to see such a quality product at such a low price.

2019 batch.
Admittedly, one star is awarded for the price since this bottle, at least in my country, cost little more than any average tequila.
A brief strike of agave on the nose, followed by plum, dusty loft and some smoke. Great, classic agave fruit on the palate, pear and cucumber-ish, the character that one immediately recognise as espadin. It makes me think that this is what the makers of the rough but fruity tequilas I had two decades ago tried to achieve, but couldn’t. Smoke is in the

Read more
Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

NOM-0153. Lot: DBY06/19
Vanilla on the nose, acetone. Vanilla continues less strongly on the palate, some fruit, sweet. A decent Espadin but not mind blowing. Think there are better Espadins on the market for the price. Having said that, it stood out as different and therefore wouldn’t argue against trying.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: DBY27/16. I’ve had some good Mezcal from this brand, this is not one of them. Rubbing alcohol, nail polish remover, tin, burnt electric wires, hay. Really bad.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lol If you’ve gathered anything, I tried a lot of mezcals at Mexico in a Bottle. I noted this was very unique but didn’t have any other notes.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very heavy nose, boozy, Peaty and a little candied.
Zingy GNS on the palate with the persistent taste of fresh peat, typical ambiguity of espadin, some stone fruits leather then grass.
Finish is fairly cheery sweet.
Wasn’t too bad, but was following some big hitters.

LosMuertos

LosMuertos

33 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2013 vintage. Pink/purple top ribbon.

This is by far my least favourite mezcal of the around 30 Mezcal’s that I’ve tried. The scent is quite anonymous, some smoke, paint and burning alcohol. On the palate it’s bad but then it calms down only to come back even worse with more bitterness and burning alcohol. It’s actually amazing how it can do that. I got shivers down my spine on every sip(in a bad way). If I could give it zero stars I would.

Scent: 0/5
Mouthfeel: 0/5

2013 vintage. Pink/purple top ribbon.
This is by far my least favourite mezcal of the around 30 Mezcal’s that I’ve tried. The scent is quite anonymous, some smoke, paint and burning alcohol. On the palate it’s bad but then it calms down only to come back even worse with more bitterness and burning alcohol. It’s actually amazing how it can do that. I got shivers down my spine on every sip(in a bad way). If I could give it zero stars I would.
Scent: 0/5
Mouthfeel: 0/5

Read more
PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Industrial smoke kick to the head with some stone fruit in the background but you have to search for it through the burn. Excellent for cocktails calling for a good amount of smoke but a bit too harsh as a sipper. That being said, friends who enjoy peaty scotches enjoyed this one more than the complex agaves that minimize smoke. Good starter mezcal for those new to the spirit.

AndrewF

AndrewF

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

2016 Batch.
Disappointing compared to the 2015. Sweetness is very prominent, smoke has the peaty/industrial quality of a Ledaig scotch, mothballs and magic markers, but the fruit is restrained and fleeting, no longer a parade of fruity acetates but a short march. Still better than many entry-level offerings but a far-cry from earlier editions.

AndrewF

AndrewF

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

2015 Batch. A quick ethanol/higher alcohol blast transitions directly into electric stonefruit and citrus on a background of gentle, persistent smoke, all shot through with lavender and a tiny hint of oyster. Must be a wild ferment to get this many acetates. Beautiful, even if it isn’t a smoke monster. Don’t buy it, you’ll hate it. 🙂

Tyler

Tyler

519 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Leather, copper, and chocolate on the nose. Slightly metallic, spice, peat, and ashy notes on the palate. The copper taste is prominent. There is a warm finish to this mezcal. 2013 batch ESP/MAT – 01/13 from Don Celso Martinez in Santiago Matalán.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

This Mezcal is a good espadin. It’s very sweet with notes of orange and pineapple. There’s a lot of alcohol on the nose and the heat carries over a bit in the taste. The flavor doesn’t seem as full as some of their other expresssions.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top