Powered by 100% agave

Xicaru Silver

Xicaru Silver is made with agave Espadin in Santiago Matatlan. It is traditionally produced using a stone horno, tahona, and copper distillation.

About this mezcal

Xicaru Silver is an unaged mezcal made with agave Espadin. Mezcalero Fernando Santibañez uses traditional production methods for this mezcal, which he learned how to make from his grandmother. The Xicaru Silver has an earthy character with vegetal notes. It is blended to 40.5% ABV.

Total Wine Spirits Direct

The US retailer Total Wine & More buys directly from distilleries for inventory at their many stores. These close relationships give them exclusive access to spirits at lower prices.

Learn more about Spirits Direct.

Xicaru Mezcal

Xicaru is the Zapotec word for beautiful. This name reflects mezcalero Fernando Santibañez’s desire to share his artistic creations. Using his grandmother’s recipe, Fernando makes small batches of Xicaru Mezcal at his palenque in Matatlán, Oaxaca. Its natural smoky flavor is derived by cooking the agave in a conical stone oven on mesquite and ocote, woods native to Oaxaca. The cooked agave is tahona mashed and naturally fermented in an open pine vat. Following fermentation, it is double distilled in a copper alembic, filtered and precisely blended. Fernando is extremely proud to be able share his family’s mezcal with you.

8 reviews

2.06 out of 5


Jim Clement

Jim Clement

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Xicaru is one of the most unpleasant mezcals in the market. It doesn’t get much worse than this.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

203 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars6 months ago

LOTE: XICARU-50 (Bottle: 120/12,553)
Nose: Metallic, sour apple, exhaust smoke.

Palate: Charred wood. Artificial vanilla flavor. Burned rubber. Smoke all the way through and not the good variety. This stuff is pretty rough.

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

16 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Ethanol, light smoke, and some fruit notes. Very mild and thin, with some mild fruit, faint vanilla sweetness, and a nice ashy finish. Certainly nothing offensive on the nose or the taste but it is definitely on the blander side of mezcals I’ve tried. This could use a higher ABV to give it a bit more bite. It’s just fine as a budget sipper.

Jdouglass

Jdouglass

7 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

17-48847. Rather unpleasant as a sipper. Tastes like burnt pineapple flesh with an assertive ethanol bite that comes on far too strong for 81 proof. As a mixer I can see how the right touch with some sweet and some sour can round this into a solid cocktail.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tastes slightly sweet and loads of burnt rubber. Not to be sipped…Fine as a mixer I guess if you desire some “smoke” but this one is more akin to funky burnt-out tires than smoke.

Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very mediocre. Taste of ethanol, sweet, and then somewhat dry.

No depth. This is not a neat mezcal, and it also doesn’t work very well mixed. I am in between pouring this bottle out and keeping it in my bar.

The pricetag says everything. There is no such thing as good cheap mezcal.

Tyler

Tyler

480 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Sour water with a hint of vanilla. Not meant to be sipped. Maybe okay as a mixer. This “silver” mezcal is incredibly cheap (about $30/bottle) which is an indicator of its purpose as the well at a bar. The first time I tried it was at a dive bar in New Orleans and the bartender tried to talk me out of ordering it. This recent sip was Bottle 18-49004.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Really good mixing Mezcal for me. Not a lot on the nose or flavors mixed into the Agave. I can find this bottle for $26.99 by my house, and for that price I love having this one at home. Typical Espadin but great value for a mixer that will have you feeling great the next morning

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top