Powered by 100% agave

Yuu Baal Jabali

Yuu Baal Jabali is one of the few clay-pot-distilled mezcals made with maguey Jabali on the international market.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Yuu Baal Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O72X
Mezcalero:Nahun Bohorquez
Maguey:Jabali
Agave:Convallis
Milling:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlán
ABV: 45%
Website: http://www.mezcalyuubaal.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Yuu Baal Jabali is made with maguey Jabali that are cooked in a traditional pit oven. Once cooked, the agave are mashed by hand with wooden mallets, fermented in pine wood vats, and double distilled in small clay pots. The label says this mezcal was produced in Miahuatlan de Porfirio Diaz, Oaxaca using clay pots which makes it unique because that region is not known for distillation in clay.

Yuu Baal Mezcal

Mezcal Yuu Baal is a social enterprise that highlights the traditions of the native Oaxacan producers of mezcal. They pay close attention to detail on the complete process of production to ensure the mystical, the exotic, and the absolutely delightful taste is in every majestic drink. Grupo Yuu Baal is made up of producers in San Juan del Rio, San Luis del Rio Tlacolula and Miahuatlan, Oaxaca.

The quality of the maguey begins in the earth. This means that the complete cycle of production, including planting, cutting, and distillation are done manually, and all with absolute respect for the environment.

Member rating

3.94 out of 5

9 reviews

GMAD

GMAD

88 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

LOT#: YJ07-21, 45%, BOTTLE#: 1222/2000, Wild, 375ml

Nose: Tart and sweet. Ginger, mango, tamarind, cinnamon, raisins. Some nuttiness in there as well; vanilla, cream soda, and coffee grounds. This is like a fall/winter seasonal scent; potpourri, a Michael’s store.

Palate: Sweet, soft, and a bit tart. Cotton candy, coconuts, watermelon, pina colada, caramel, sweet and sour sauce. That fake pink ginger you get at sushi restaurants. Ripe sweet oranges.

Finish: White pepper and a sweet, grassy dryness; cilantro, parsley, and a little bit of tobacco.

So tangy, citrusy and funky; reminds me of a tepeztate/mexicano ensamble. I like this a lot. Very flavorful. It’s a burst of sweet and tart notes all the way through.

LOT#: YJ07-21, 45%, BOTTLE#: 1222/2000, Wild, 375ml
Nose: Tart and sweet. Ginger, mango, tamarind, cinnamon, raisins. Some nuttiness in there as well; vanilla, cream soda, and coffee grounds. This is like a fall/winter seasonal scent; potpourri, a Michael’s store.
Palate: Sweet, soft, and a bit tart. Cotton candy, coconuts, watermelon, pina colada, caramel, sweet and sour sauce. That fake pink ginger you get at sushi restaurants. Ripe sweet oranges.
Finish: White pepper and a sweet, grass

Read more
Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot: YJ07-21
Bottle: 143/2000 (375 ml)
ABV: 45%

I’m quite impressed with this spirit given its price point. Also noteworthy is that my particular bottle is listed as being double distilled using well water in copper, not clay. Crushing was done by hand by wooden mallet and cooking was done in a stone oven.

Nose is brine-y sea salt, oak, orange bell pepper and sugary bbq smoke. Sweet and inviting overall.

Initial flavors are salty chocolate, toasted agave, virgin olive oil and spicy Jabali. The Jabali note doesn’t last as long and really isn’t as intense as I want prefer but it is still there and not bad at all.

Finishing flavors are a mix of fruit, walnuts and smoke but then it turns sour/bitter for a moment. Thankfully it ends with not much of any lingering flavor at all (which is not preferred but better than the sour).

Overall I enjoyed this one and am glad I purchased it, a nice spirit at a great price.

Lot: YJ07-21
Bottle: 143/2000 (375 ml)
ABV: 45%
I’m quite impressed with this spirit given its price point. Also noteworthy is that my particular bottle is listed as being double distilled using well water in copper, not clay. Crushing was done by hand by wooden mallet and cooking was done in a stone oven.
Nose is brine-y sea salt, oak, orange bell pepper and sugary bbq smoke. Sweet and inviting overall.
Initial flavors are salty chocolate, toasted agave, virgin olive oil and spicy Jabal

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot YJ21-22 Bottle 699/3000 45% Sampled on 12-11-2023 Aromas out of the bottle are Very green very Herbal. No smoke spicy. This is the greenest I’ve ever smelled alcohol in any form acetone, rubbing or simple. If a fresh cut grass field was put into a simple alcohol base, this would be it. This may be as close as a fresh cut yard has ever been bottled. The flavors follow the suit in everyway a little alcoholic but very drinkable. Lots of pepper sour alcohol and spices.

copa llena

copa llena

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Tasted this in Oaxaca, very interesting Jabali, with both savory and sweet notes. I found it well balanced and tasty, not overly smoky, with an enjoyable finish.

agavetimes

agavetimes

16 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

From Miahuatlan, 18- year old Jabali pinas are harvested, cooked and hand crushed with wooden mallets. Forward savory-sweet-peppery notes dominate along with brine and dark red fruits. Hard to make and hard to find, but well worth the effort.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not sure why this is rated so highly. Maybe I got a bad batch? Maybe my palate sucks?

Tyler

Tyler

651 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Musty with notes of cherry Life Savers candy. A friend of mine loves this but it is not for me. It is not unique or wild for my taste. The labels says clay pot from Miahuatlan which raises red flags for me; I’ve never heard of clay pot distillation in that region. Of course, they don’t list the producer. This is a very expensive bottle at around $180 for 750ml but it seems they may have lowered the price. My bar was set high early on for Jabali mezcals after tasting Rey Campero and El Jolgorio (batch 1 and 2). Batch YJ15-18, bottle 329/720.

Musty with notes of cherry Life Savers candy. A friend of mine loves this but it is not for me. It is not unique or wild for my taste. The labels says clay pot from Miahuatlan which raises red flags for me; I’ve never heard of clay pot distillation in that region. Of course, they don’t list the producer. This is a very expensive bottle at around $180 for 750ml but it seems they may have lowered the price. My bar was set high early on for Jabali mezcals after tasting Rey Campero and E

Read more
Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I tried this at The Room here in San Miguel de Allende on March 12, 2022. At first the proprietors had me try 60 Fierros Jabali–and I loved it immediately. Nice, big, round flavors.

At the first sip of this Yuu Baal Jabali, I wasn’t grabbed. It was okay. But the more I sipped the more of the subtle flavors I detected. If you know me you’d know I hesitate to use the term “smoky” for mezcales, thinking it’s wildly overused. But…heh heh heh…I think this one might qualify as such. A nice, subtle, smoky beauty that lingers in the back of my throat. I decided I like this one better than the previous. Salud!

I tried this at The Room here in San Miguel de Allende on March 12, 2022. At first the proprietors had me try 60 Fierros Jabali–and I loved it immediately. Nice, big, round flavors.
At the first sip of this Yuu Baal Jabali, I wasn’t grabbed. It was okay. But the more I sipped the more of the subtle flavors I detected. If you know me you’d know I hesitate to use the term “smoky” for mezcales, thinking it’s wildly overused. But…heh heh heh…I think t

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch: YJ15-18 Bottle: 555/720
Nose – Rosemary, salt and pepper seasoned, rotisserie chicken drumstick. Chocolate-dusted almonds.

Palate – Soft, icing sugar sweetness and delicate poultry (a medium-rare duck breast). This is very well-balanced the whole way through although I feel like it would be even a little better at a 48%-ish ABV (vs. 45% where it’s at). This is in the 4.25-ish range and I’d like round up but this bottle is quite pricy (although I got it on sale) – so rounding down to 4 stars.

Batch: YJ15-18 Bottle: 555/720
Nose – Rosemary, salt and pepper seasoned, rotisserie chicken drumstick. Chocolate-dusted almonds.
Palate – Soft, icing sugar sweetness and delicate poultry (a medium-rare duck breast). This is very well-balanced the whole way through although I feel like it would be even a little better at a 48%-ish ABV (vs. 45% where it’s at). This is in the 4.25-ish range and I’d like round up but this bottle is quite pricy (although I got it on sale) &

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top