Powered by 100% agave

Yuu Baal Espadin

Yuu Baal Espadin is made from farm grown agave Espadin, and it exhibits a nice, soft flavor followed by a refreshing but vigorous intensity.

About this mezcal

Yuu Baal Espadin is good for all occasions, as an appetizer or even as a complement for some of the most diverse regional foods.  It is made from farm grown agave Espadin, and it exhibits a nice, soft flavor followed by a refreshing but vigorous intensity that reflects the first years of the maguey plant. This mezcal is made by mezcalero Isaias Martinez Juan in San Juan del Rio.

Yuu Baal Mezcal

Mezcal Yuu Baal is a social enterprise that highlights the traditions of the native Oaxacan producers of mezcal. They pay close attention to detail on the complete process of production to ensure the mystical, the exotic, and the absolutely delightful taste is in every majestic drink. Grupo Yuu Baal is made up of producers in San Juan del Rio, San Luis del Rio Tlacolula and Miahuatlan, Oaxaca.

The quality of the maguey begins in the earth. This means that the complete cycle of production, including planting, cutting, and distillation are done manually, and all with absolute respect for the environment.

18 reviews

3.17 out of 5


Mezcaliente

Mezcaliente

8 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Nothing extraordinary. Basic mezcal flavors. In blind taste test it had a Britney almost meaty flavor in comparison to others. Ok for sipping, and cheap price make it an OK bottle to have around, but I always find myself reaching for another bottle instead.

namespayne

namespayne

7 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

For me this is a no brainer. Aromatic but packs a fiery punch. Decent amount of smoke but it does not obscure the nuance and balance. Some citrus, some banana, dried fruit. There’s a small tire fire in this bottle and I mean that in a good way. Easily procured and fairly priced.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

102 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lot #: YJ10-20 (Bottle: 2417/5100)
Nose: Walnut. Some cheesy funk. Swampy and smoky.

Palate: Powered sugar. A little creamy. Caramel. Nice bit of smoke. Slight ethanol heat. Cigar aftertaste.

I really like this espadin – it’s sweeter than most. The price is right too!

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch YJ02-19. San Juan del Rio. Mezcalero: Isaias Martinez Juan. 48%. Had it at home. Light fresh flavor. Easy drinking, mild sharpness. A green agave flavor arrives subtly after a few sips. A sweet caramel roastiness comes later. Seems like the initial alcohol blast numbs up the mouth and the other flavors come out.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

95 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Overall solid mezcal. Great for sipping neat or mixing cocktails (the good price point allows for this). Sweet on nose with notes of melon and lemon grass. Good, smoky finish. Buttery notes throughout. Batch: YJ01-19, Bottle 4418.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

13 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Alcoholy bite on the palette. Smoke is overwhelmed by that taste. Lacks sweetness or richness. Tastes more similar to a tequila. There are definitely better sipping mezcals in this price range. Not good.

Batch: YJ03-19

meighmey

meighmey

18 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch YJ01-19 … Aromas of a light mint and eucalyptus; flavors of citrus, banana and mint with a long zesty finish. I enjoyed this neat and the price makes it a candidate for cocktails. < $40 usd

pallzley

pallzley

16 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

for price and versatility in pretty much any mezcal drink. it’s costco’s best kept secret, and for the lowest price i’ve seen. it’s a higher proof workhorse.

try it in an el camino, with a rye whisky, you manhattan fans will be blown away. can have an edge sipped neat – as rakhal reports with the bitter and isopropyl notes – but after oxidizing, opens up to be a bit more sweet and having pollen notes on palate. i actually didnt like most of the first bottle i bought, and was only until a month or two later revisiting that i wondered what happened. im on the 5-6th bottle

for price and versatility in pretty much any mezcal drink. it’s costco’s best kept secret, and for the lowest price i’ve seen. it’s a higher proof workhorse.
try it in an el camino, with a rye whisky, you manhattan fans will be blown away. can have an edge sipped neat – as rakhal reports with the bitter and isopropyl notes – but after oxidizing, opens up to be a bit more sweet and having pollen notes on palate. i actually didnt like most of the first bottle i

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

284 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot YJ05-17. I found this pretty unpleasant. Rubbing alcohol. White sugar, bitter gourd, lemon pith, sunflower seeds. Sour, bitter, and chemical.

Jongers

Jongers

14 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My first mezcal was this one. At first, I was overwhelmed by the burnt tire smokey character, but these days I realize how good that character is and how hard it it to find quite as prominent in an affordable bottle. Solid.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch YJ08-18 One of the better affordable bottles I’ve picked up. I see myself grabbing another one of these once it’s gone. Cooked fruit and a slight sweetness that goes along with it. Grabbed this after seeing it was by one of the mezcaleros from Marca Negra.

pexc1

pexc1

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch YJ13-18 I’ve had two bottles of this Mezcal before and loved it. This batch is just way off. The nose has really strong, unpleasant vomit notes that waft far from the glass. On the palate it it’s not bad, the main note I was getting was egg nog, but it’s not nearly as smoky as previous bottles I’ve had. And the smell is so off putting I had to immediately wash out the glass so I could stop smelling it.

Yocos

Yocos

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Light banana and bubble gum aromas with just a hint of smoke.
Packs heat on the palate, this needs to breathe a bit, and ends on a slightly petroleum note

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch YJ05-17, Bottle 8270/9360, 48% ABV. Straight from a newly-opened bottle you might be disappointed. Needs to breathe. If you’re patient enough to give it some air time, it will reward you with concentrated flavors and a soft, delicious sweetness. After the bottle has been open for several days it really settles down. A sniff reveals a bit of bread dough and herbs. Tastes of unripe melon, raisins, honey, and something fruity and mildly sweet that my palate is not sophisticated enough to identify. Finishes with a lingering burn that numbs the tongue and lips. Quite enjoyable.

Batch YJ05-17, Bottle 8270/9360, 48% ABV. Straight from a newly-opened bottle you might be disappointed. Needs to breathe. If you’re patient enough to give it some air time, it will reward you with concentrated flavors and a soft, delicious sweetness. After the bottle has been open for several days it really settles down. A sniff reveals a bit of bread dough and herbs. Tastes of unripe melon, raisins, honey, and something fruity and mildly sweet that my palate is not sophisticated enough to id

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

122 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

very good.mellow minty with agave sweetness.some hint of smoke.bright flavor with no harshness.the price makes it a steal.if it had cost twice as much,it would still get 4 stars.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Smooooooth

Tyler

Tyler

463 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Great mezcal for the price point. This espadin has a minty bite that quickly smoothes out. There are flavors of dried fruit and soft smoke. This mezcalero also makes an espadin for Marca Negra which is also good but more expensive.

Jonny

Jonny

497 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch YJ05-16. Bottle 531/5040. Considering the price, this is a really good Espadin. There are a lot of Espadin mezcals out there that cost a lot more and don’t taste this good. The nose is clean with notes of fresh pollen, flowers, and spring breeze. The body is balanced. Tasting notes of candied yams, dried papaya, and orange peel. I’m sipping this neat and it’s really enjoyable.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top