Powered by 100% agave

Yuu Baal Madrecuixe

Yuu Baal Madrecuixe has intense notes of green vegetation and wet earth. It's the only Yuu Baal mezcal made by master mezcalero Alberto Ortiz.

About this mezcal

Yuu Baal Madrecuixe is made with wild maguey Madre-Cuishe by master mezcalero Alberto Ortiz in Santa Maria la Pila. This mezcal offers an unmistakable herbal aroma and taste. It accentuates intense notes of green vegetation and wet earth, with a mineral smell that is unparalleled and unforgettable. This is the only Yuu Baal mezcal that is made by Alberto Ortiz, who is responsible for many high-end mezcals that are distributed by other brands.

Yuu Baal Mezcal

Mezcal Yuu Baal is a social enterprise that highlights the traditions of the native Oaxacan producers of mezcal. They pay close attention to detail on the complete process of production to ensure the mystical, the exotic, and the absolutely delightful taste is in every majestic drink. Grupo Yuu Baal is made up of producers in San Juan del Rio, San Luis del Rio Tlacolula and Miahuatlan, Oaxaca.

The quality of the maguey begins in the earth. This means that the complete cycle of production, including planting, cutting, and distillation are done manually, and all with absolute respect for the environment.

Member rating

3.74 out of 5

17 reviews

les

les

32 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

maraschino, cantaloupe, watermelon, yogurt, raspberry, cherry, papaya, cream, lime, brine, char, green chile, sweet grass, soil, grapefruit peel, lemon balm, pine
YJ05-21, 48%

GMAD

GMAD

79 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

LOT#: YJ05-21, 48%, BOTTLE#: 0623/3000, Wild, 375ml

Nose – Very natural, fresh, and earthy. Wet asphalt, fresh cut grass, peanuts, lumber, and wet dirt.

Palate – Mellow flavor with a hot bite. Vegetal. Mineral water with green bell pepper, and hint of bittersweet citrus, like grapefruit and orange rind. Fairly smoky as well; wet cigarette filter.

Finish – Mellow and dry with a bit of a soft, tangy bittersweetness. Horseradish, broccoli, and like chewing gum when the flavor is all gone.

It’s good, but lacks a punch. Too mellow and savory for my taste, but I can appreciate its wild attributes due to the obvious earthy and vegetal flavors.

LOT#: YJ05-21, 48%, BOTTLE#: 0623/3000, Wild, 375ml
Nose – Very natural, fresh, and earthy. Wet asphalt, fresh cut grass, peanuts, lumber, and wet dirt.
Palate – Mellow flavor with a hot bite. Vegetal. Mineral water with green bell pepper, and hint of bittersweet citrus, like grapefruit and orange rind. Fairly smoky as well; wet cigarette filter.
Finish – Mellow and dry with a bit of a soft, tangy bittersweetness. Horseradish, broccoli, and like chewing gum when the flavor is a

Read more
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lot YJ05-21. Found this in a tall slender 375ml bottle which looks great on the shelf but unlikely to last long. I don’t get a ton on the nose for this, but flavor-wise it delivers earthy, vegetal and herbal with a fairly long, savory finish. A nice minerality with a dry mouthfeel.

By itself I don’t know that I find it that exciting, and I generally like a little more sweetness. But when I drank this and a Vago tepeztate back to back they seemed to compliment each other really nicely and it seemed more enjoyable.

Lot YJ05-21. Found this in a tall slender 375ml bottle which looks great on the shelf but unlikely to last long. I don’t get a ton on the nose for this, but flavor-wise it delivers earthy, vegetal and herbal with a fairly long, savory finish. A nice minerality with a dry mouthfeel.
By itself I don’t know that I find it that exciting, and I generally like a little more sweetness. But when I drank this and a Vago tepeztate back to back they seemed to compliment each other really nicel

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

87 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

7/10/23 lot YJ05-21 BOTTLE 1372/3000 48% Aromas out of the bottle are initially warm Sweet Smoke then pine needles and nice acetone like Aromas very pleasant aromas. Wet firering in the morning comes to mind. Flavors more or less fall in line with a lot of really sweet delicious smoke like flavors very delicate and lingering. Candy like flavors are hidden in there along with pine tar and Earth. This is very good Mezcal for the price I’m liking this one. After airing out for a very short time. The smoke fades even more and candy tropical flavors come forward. Acetone candy
7/31/23 bottle 1470/3000 same

7/10/23 lot YJ05-21 BOTTLE 1372/3000 48% Aromas out of the bottle are initially warm Sweet Smoke then pine needles and nice acetone like Aromas very pleasant aromas. Wet firering in the morning comes to mind. Flavors more or less fall in line with a lot of really sweet delicious smoke like flavors very delicate and lingering. Candy like flavors are hidden in there along with pine tar and Earth. This is very good Mezcal for the price I’m liking this one. After airing out for a very short ti

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Green vegetation, mango, brine, model car paint.
Palate: peppers and metallic flakes. Some trunk of the plant with that classic cuishe taste. Brined, ocean seawater. Then juicy vegetation. Alcohol burn on the finish that really gets your tongue, so a deduction for that. The aftertaste is pleasantly vegetal.

Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

45 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Forgot to get the Lot. All I got from this was stale ashtray and smokers jacket. Not pleasant. Liked everything else from Yuu Baal, so I would try again and just hope it’s a different lot.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Woody and herbal nose indeed, slight whiff of nail polish remover that evaporates quickly, sour and unripe cherries. On the palate, there is a certain bitterness that stings a bit. If you don’t mind that, and the fact that there is a bit alcohol burn you’ll love this. On the palate, there is also lots of tropical woods, reminds me of a bar that used wooden tiki mugs. A bit coconut with brown skin, hemp ropes (yes, I have tasted that…), dried epazote. Really intriguing tastes, there is some sweetness I think will develop more with time and oxygen. I’ll try to come back for this when the bottle has settled.

Woody and herbal nose indeed, slight whiff of nail polish remover that evaporates quickly, sour and unripe cherries. On the palate, there is a certain bitterness that stings a bit. If you don’t mind that, and the fact that there is a bit alcohol burn you’ll love this. On the palate, there is also lots of tropical woods, reminds me of a bar that used wooden tiki mugs. A bit coconut with brown skin, hemp ropes (yes, I have tasted that…), dried epazote. Really intriguing tastes, there is some

Read more
Spiritseducator

Spiritseducator

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

YJ03-20
Clear and fresh agave character in the nose. Really nice and fruity expression of a madrecuishe on the palate. Great experience.

NOSE: typical agave aromas, herbal, green vegetable notes, some citrus, a bit of pepper
PALATE: fresh, fruity, a touch of sweetness, slightly smoky
MOUTHFEEL: bold and creamy
FINISH: long, agave with some sweet notes

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A bit hot, but rich and full of pepper, sweet cream, a crisp rainwater note. Light vegetation, some more of that chemical glue note, though it’s not offputting. Bright and crisp.

Honestly, Yuu Baal is the definition of a hit or miss bottler given the state of their pechuga, but this is a bright, fun, crisp fruity adventure that manages to also remain quite unique.

ashenden

ashenden

1 review
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

YJ15-16

I agree with most of what’s written here. Super earthy and grassy. Mild salt tingle on the tongue. I also got a punch of lemon on first sip. Unusual notes. Definitely worth the pour.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

55 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

BATCH YJ28-16, BOTTLE 39/60
I love this bottle, although it’s one of the hardest I’ve ever had to make notes for. Definitely very earthy on the nose with some fruit and smoke. The palate shows great minerality with a fairly good balance of alcohol.

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Woody fruit with a spicy mineral finish. Complex mid-palate. Overall amazing. Don Beto is a master. Batch YJ15-16. Bottle 1047/1200.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot YJ07-16. This one seemed very tropical to me. Like freshy turned earth in a tropical greenhouse. Flowers and wet green plants with earthy spices of clove, cinnamon, and allspice. A delicious strawberry jam finish. I did a side by side with the Mezcalero 16 Madrecuixe and even though I prefer the Mezcalero 16, this one is very good.

COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

These other reviews are spot on. Minerally, sweet with lavender. Big fan of madrecuixe and this can hang with the best of them.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

158 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

i have really become a fan of madre.the profile is just like the other reviews describe.the entry is earth and veggie.the sweetness comes in mid way with spice and slight smoke on the finish.its a mix of savory and sweet and alberto ortiz always makes great mezcals with a bit of mineral in the taste.very enjoyable!

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Very strong Madre. If you like this type of agave this bottle is the purest form of it I’ve tasted. Like liquid soil, extremely earthy and strong. The first time I had it I found the flavor overwhelming but I now appreciate what the mescalero was able to achieve with the madrecuixe

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 years ago

Lot YJ07-16. Very vegetal and earthy. This is almost musty in its earthiness. There’s also a lot of fruity notes of orange, plantains, and citrus. The Mezcalero brand did the Special Bottling #1, which is made by Alberto Ortiz with agave madre-cuishe, so it was essentially just a different batch of the same mezcal. The Mezcalero brand was also aged in glass for 18 months, which gave it a bit of a rounded feel, but this is still a great mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top