Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Espadin Capon

Cinco Sentidos Espadin Capon is milled by hand with wooden mallets and fermented with open air yeasts and tepehuaje tree bark.

About this destilado de agave

5 Sentidos Espadin Capon is made by maestro mezcalero Alberto Martinez and his son-in-law Reynaldo in Santa Catarina Albarradas, Oaxaca. When the Espadin agaves sprouted their quiotes (stalks), Alberto and Reynaldo cut off the stalks and allowed the agaves to remain in the field for almost one year. This practice concentrates the sugar in the heart of the agave, which is later distilled to make mezcal. The additional sugars change and enhance the mezcal a great deal.

5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos (or Cinco Sentidos) is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it’s creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as “Destilado de Agave”.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

Member rating

3.91 out of 5

17 reviews

Ronco Sips

Ronco Sips

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch CAP 08-21c
Bottled Feb. 2022

200ml
ABV: 49.0%

I love these small bottles, a great way to sample various mezcal from 5 Sentidos.

Nose: At first a very light smoke, then a sweat agave, tropical fruit, a bit funky in a good way, rain water.

Palate: Sweat agave, orange, guava, a funky old truck tire mineral taste which is interesting not bad or off putting.

Finish: Sweetness fades very slowly into a mineral terroir

A really enjoyable Espadin Capon !! Tasty but not boring.

Batch CAP 08-21c
Bottled Feb. 2022
200ml
ABV: 49.0%
I love these small bottles, a great way to sample various mezcal from 5 Sentidos.
Nose: At first a very light smoke, then a sweat agave, tropical fruit, a bit funky in a good way, rain water.
Palate: Sweat agave, orange, guava, a funky old truck tire mineral taste which is interesting not bad or off putting.
Finish: Sweetness fades very slowly into a mineral terroir
A really enjoyable Espadin Capon !! Tasty but not boring.

Read more
relevanteagle

relevanteagle

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch: CAP 05-22f
Bottle: 200ml
ABV: 52.1%

Nose: perfume, flowers, raspberry

Palate: honey, heat, caramel

Finish: rich caramel taste

Thoughts: This is tasty. I feel you can tell the quality. Also had some elements that I don’t normally get in other mezcales.

Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

45 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars10 months ago

CAP02-20 Bottle 199/232
I tried really hard to like this and gave it a fair shot over 4 months of sipping off and on. The predominant flavor to me was butyric acid which is just awful. I think I’m finding I don’t like clay pot distillation.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

batch capsn 12-20, 52.5% abv

Review #35: Mossy, clay, mild grassiness, wet earth, wet sweet smoke, wet wood, wet hay, fresh rain, sea spray, overall a musty wet-ness to everything, iodine and rubber reminding me of a peated scotch, after opening up and tasting for a while i get some burnt caramel, peach, and melon.

This is very earthy and it does it so well. I would have never expected myself to enjoy the soil so much, haha. After enjoying and adjusting to the earthiness you start to pick up more delicate fruit flavors underneath it all. Big and bold but it has some secrets to uncover

batch capsn 12-20, 52.5% abv
Review #35: Mossy, clay, mild grassiness, wet earth, wet sweet smoke, wet wood, wet hay, fresh rain, sea spray, overall a musty wet-ness to everything, iodine and rubber reminding me of a peated scotch, after opening up and tasting for a while i get some burnt caramel, peach, and melon.
This is very earthy and it does it so well. I would have never expected myself to enjoy the soil so much, haha. After enjoying and adjusting to the earthiness you start to pick up mo

Read more
GMAD

GMAD

76 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Batch CAP 08-21c, 49.0%

Nose – Sweet and fruity. Apples, butter, pine. Smells like a bakery. Apple pie.

Palate – Agave rich; sweet but funky. Brown sugar, cinnamon, tamarind, raisins, orange rind.

Finish – Burnt bread pudding. Sweetness with the slightest hint of char.

Very rich and agave forward; this is very reminiscent of a blanco tequila. Sweet but savory. Like having salt sprinkled on top of oranges. Great stuff.

Forpowder

Forpowder

87 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Cap 08-21c 49.0% 200 liter distilled Aug 2021 glass aged 5 months bottled Feb 2022. Aromas out of the bottle are iodine, spices, rubber smoke. Flavors are smoked peaches, candy flavored dirt, rich smooth smoke. Long lasting creamy aftertaste salty iodine. Minty Carmel brown tones.

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch#: CAP 08-21a
Nose: funk, cheese, salt,
Palate: mineral, cheese; long, oily finish that ends with carmel
Wish I were able to sit with this a while longer but unfortunately I was at work when I had it and was only able to enjoy a half ounce. Will definitely look out for this though as I really enjoy a nasty, funky, savory spirit to sip on every now and then so if you do as well this one is gonna be a winner!!

haleyrae

haleyrae

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Found this mezcal in the hills of Oaxaca and it was the first mezcal I truly loved. Smooth and clean tasting, as they distill with fresh mountain water running through a stream in the palenque. Mucho gusto

JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch: CAP01-19 Bottle: 118/355 48.1% abv

Was first exposed to this particular 5 Sentidos offering at Damian in Los Angeles in April 2021 and really enjoyed it. I then went out a purchased a bottle at Ramirez, and this bottle has been such a chameleon. The capón aspect can really intensify the sugars and sweetness, and this one definitely is a sugar bomb, however it does have some of those over-the-hill qualities or like overripe fruit, it can hit a bit of champagne vinegar or even funk or rottenness. It makes it hard to review because it goes back and forth for me, being super sweet and delicate and then overpowering and off-putting. On the nose it does have a slight funk to it but tons of burnt sugar/caramel/roasted sugarcane as well as wet earth from a recently tilled field. The flavors are a combination of heavy cinnamon syrup, toasted almond, and artificial sweetener (yes, it is that sweet). In addition, it seems to be a little effervescent. One review mentioned vomit or sweaty feet, and it hits on that too. Looking over the other reviews, it seems like there is a wide divergence in flavor profiles (except for that cinnamon note/red hots/Dentyne ) and a bit of funk. I would recommend sampling it if you can find it a bar, but at $110 a bottle, you may want to hold off until you try it.

Batch: CAP01-19 Bottle: 118/355 48.1% abv
Was first exposed to this particular 5 Sentidos offering at Damian in Los Angeles in April 2021 and really enjoyed it. I then went out a purchased a bottle at Ramirez, and this bottle has been such a chameleon. The capón aspect can really intensify the sugars and sweetness, and this one definitely is a sugar bomb, however it does have some of those over-the-hill qualities or like overripe fruit, it can hit a bit of champagne vinegar or even funk or ro

Read more
justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch CAP03-21, 47.9%, 220L
Nose: Vivid, bright and complex. Prominent ripe agave. Floral, vegetal, fruity. Incredibly fresh. Notes of trampled hay and barnyard. The smoldering remains of last nights campfire.
Palate: Slightly sweet, perfectly balanced again. Perfectly ripe, perfectly roasted agave flavor at the forefront. Orchard fruits, peaches, plums, cactus fruit, guava. A hint of fresh farmers cheese or clotted cream.
Finish: Long. Thoughtful. Invigorating.
Overall: Perfect mezcal from the best of the best. Signature notes of bucolic, luscious barnyard and a caress of clay pot character. Senor Martinez does it again. I would probably still take the Sierra Negra as my “desert island” bottle but this Espadin Capon might be a better showcase of what I consider to be the unique, quintessential flavor of agave.

Batch CAP03-21, 47.9%, 220L
Nose: Vivid, bright and complex. Prominent ripe agave. Floral, vegetal, fruity. Incredibly fresh. Notes of trampled hay and barnyard. The smoldering remains of last nights campfire.
Palate: Slightly sweet, perfectly balanced again. Perfectly ripe, perfectly roasted agave flavor at the forefront. Orchard fruits, peaches, plums, cactus fruit, guava. A hint of fresh farmers cheese or clotted cream.
Finish: Long. Thoughtful. Invigorating.
Overall: Perfect mezcal from the

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

643 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I love this. Alberto is a master and this batch is basically perfect. Huge agave notes with orange peel, sugar syrup, fresh bark, and rainwater. Would rather just enjoy this instead of adding more notes. Batch CAP01-19 bottle 257/355, 48.1%.

Edit: The Red Hot note from Squashplayer is pretty spot on.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Baking spices, specifically nutmeg and cinnamon. A musty attic – somewhat moldy but somehow it’s not unpleasant as one would think with that description.

Palate – Flat Sprite soda. Dark chocolate. A meaty, mesquite flavor smoke in the finish. Oily but enjoyable texture. An excellent capon aging on this but not too much – very well balanced in that regard (i.e. optimal funkiness, ha!). This was only a 2 oz. sample but I’d definitely seek this out again for more – very tasty!

Nose – Baking spices, specifically nutmeg and cinnamon. A musty attic – somewhat moldy but somehow it’s not unpleasant as one would think with that description.
Palate – Flat Sprite soda. Dark chocolate. A meaty, mesquite flavor smoke in the finish. Oily but enjoyable texture. An excellent capon aging on this but not too much – very well balanced in that regard (i.e. optimal funkiness, ha!). This was only a 2 oz. sample but I’d definitely seek this out again

Read more
t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Really really nice expression. Loving the complexity here. Great balance of clay, minerality and sweetness.

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch: CAP01-19
Nose: Aggressively funky at first – sweaty feet and vomit. After a long while it subsides into stanky Swiss cheese over roasted pineapple and caramelized onions. Bittersweet herbs/spices as well, including sage, fresh cut grass, red pepper flakes and orange pith.

Palate: Sweet candied agave develops into musty fruit candies out of an old purse, ripe Swiss cheese, herbs from the nose and silty soil. Medium-full, syrupy body.

Finish: Sage and musty smoke, then turns back to Swiss cheese with honey. Winds up in baked agave and minty herbs. Medium length.

Thoughts: When I first poured this, the sweaty funk was pretty alarming – but eventually it settled down into a somewhat less off-putting ripe cheesy odor. Other than that flaw, it has a mustier, honeyed profile than the vernal baked agave I usually get from Espadin.

Batch: CAP01-19
Nose: Aggressively funky at first – sweaty feet and vomit. After a long while it subsides into stanky Swiss cheese over roasted pineapple and caramelized onions. Bittersweet herbs/spices as well, including sage, fresh cut grass, red pepper flakes and orange pith.
Palate: Sweet candied agave develops into musty fruit candies out of an old purse, ripe Swiss cheese, herbs from the nose and silty soil. Medium-full, syrupy body.
Finish: Sage and musty smoke, then turns back to Sw

Read more
Squashplayer

Squashplayer

36 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch 01-19, 355 bottles. Reminds me of Dentyne gum or “ red hots” candy from years ago. Softly sweet with cinnamon. Some earthiness on the finish that I suspect is from the clay pot distillation. Really enjoying this one.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Funky, a little strange for an espadin. Still searching for more words

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Batch 01-18. Bottle 36/355. Smells slightly sweet with notes of pomegranate, rich cream, cinnamon, and pumpkin spice. Palate is full and round. Less sweet on the palate than nose. Notes of light soft cheeses, freshly churned butter, fresh green collards, and cinnamon. Reminiscent of something my grandmother would bake in the oven, but also of the old hard candy she would leave out in her living room. Great Espadin!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top