Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Madrecuixe – Tio Tello

5 Sentidos Madrecuixe from Tio Tello is one of the first batches from this master palenquero that Cinco Sentidos has exported.

Rating: (5 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$
Brand:5 Sentidos
Mezcalero:Eleuterio Perez Ramos
Maguey:Madrecuishe
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlan
ABV: 45.21%
Batch size: Batch TELMC14: 200 liters
Website: http://www.drink5sentidos.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

5 Sentidos Madrecuixe from Tio Tello was initially released as a California-only batch of Madrecuixe (A. Karwinskii). It is one of the first batches made by master palenquero Eleuterio Perez Ramos that Cinco Sentidos has exported to an international market. Eleuterio, who is also known as “Tio Tello,” harvested the ripe agaves in Miahuatlan de Porfirio Diaz, Oaxaca. Post harvest, he roasted the agaves in a conical oven with mesquite firewood for at least four days. After cooking the agaves, Tio Tello, along with friends and family members, chopped the agave into small pieces with a machete, and then mashed them with large hammers made of mesquite in a wooden trough. Once mashed, Tio Tello allowed the mash to ferment with well water in cypress sabino tanks. He then distilled the fermented mash in a single copper alembic style still at his small palenque in El Nanche, Oaxaca. Adjusted with heads, hearts and tails. The California-only batch was approximately 200 litres, distilled in April 2014, and bottled January 2021.

5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it's creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as "Destilado de Agave".

A note about the bottle shape: The short round bottles are the US release bottles. In other areas of distribution (e.g. Mexico, Canada, Japan) the bottles are the taller Bordelaise shape.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

5 reviews

4.1 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

290 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose – Wet planting soil. Nice floral aspect like a bunch of fresh picked violets.

Palate – This one is a nice, slow burn. The floral theme continues jasmine and oddly what I imagine tiger lily petals would taste like. Honeydew melon. Mouth feel is a bit flat but the finish is a fantastic heat. A smoky potpourri aftertaste.

Tio Tello, you’re rock solid!

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

298 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Its hard for me to describe this one. If I had to describe this to someone, id say its an upper echelon madre that is colored within the lines. Key lime, heavy cream, classic fresh cut grass. Enjoyable AF

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Solid Madrecuishe! All the flavors you want and expect from this Agave. I got pound cake, vanilla cupcakes, and tons of watermelon. Really nice.

Leif

Leif

8 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

very pleasurable experience. i was able to sample this at a local craft spirits bar. high complexity as you would expect from a madrecuishe. extremely aromatic and pleasing aesthetic all around. loses half a star for value (a little high on the price for a mezcal of this caliber). still, worth a try.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

163 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Eleuterio Perez Ramos TELMC14 April 2014 205btl
45.21%

Nose: This is singing the in the glass. Grilled watermelon galore, oranges, hibiscus, clover honey, it’s like smelling the colors of a sunset. This manages complexity whilst not losing the forest for the trees. More berries coming to the fore, in spades, pushing over the peanut brittle aspects that I got right at first pour. Aromatic, vibrant, fresh, with just enough earth and tea to make me eagerly await the palate!

Palate: Coming from the 51.2% sample I poured before this, it’s a touch subtle, but you don’t feel like you’re missing much. A complex array of fruit and orange dances on the midpalate before fading into light nut butter and breakfast tea along with cherry. There’s a minerality and florality and candied citrus aspect that reminded me of unaged Hampden rums, adding energy. The time in glass might be the reason for the wonderful subtlety and control and coherancy.

Thoughts: I can’t wait to try more from this producer! 5S bringing magic, per usual.

Eleuterio Perez Ramos TELMC14 April 2014 205btl
45.21%
Nose: This is singing the in the glass. Grilled watermelon galore, oranges, hibiscus, clover honey, it’s like smelling the colors of a sunset. This manages complexity whilst not losing the forest for the trees. More berries coming to the fore, in spades, pushing over the peanut brittle aspects that I got right at first pour. Aromatic, vibrant, fresh, with just enough earth and tea to make me eagerly await the palate!
Palate: Coming from t

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top