Powered by 100% agave

Alipus Destilado en Barro (San Miguel Sola)

Alipus Destilado en Barro is distilled in small clay pots, which is typical of the region of Sola de Vega, Oaxaca, where this mezcal is produced.

About this mezcal

Alipus Destilado en Barro is a small batch mezcal made using clay pot distillation and maguey Arroqueno (agave Americana).  There are three different mezcaleros who make this Mezcal, and the sticker on the neck of the bottle will tell you which mezcalero made that specific bottle. There are three possibilities for the mezcalero: Tio Leonardo (made by Leonardo Rojas), Tio Jesus (made by Jesus Rios), or Tio Felix (made by Felix Garcia).

Alipus Mezcal

Alipús was born in 1999, as a project of the Destilería Los Danzantes, with Don Joel Antonio and sons as the first producers, in San Juan del Río. Subsequently, Don Eduardo Hernández, of Santa Ana del Río, making Alipús Santa Ana mezcal; Don Cosme Hernandez and his son Cirilo in San Baltazar Guelavila, who make the Alipús San Baltazar mezcal; Don Valente Angel and sons, of Santa María La Pila, with the Alipús San Andrés mezcal. In 2013, Alipús San Luis was incorporated, made by Don Baltazar Cruz and sons, of San Luis del Río, and Alipús San Miguel, made by Don Felix García, Leonardo Rojas, and Tío Jesús in the Potrero Sola de Vega.

 

Craft Distillers’ tasting video

Member rating

4.03 out of 5

32 reviews

Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

47 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 days ago

Lot SMS001L/21 Bot 095
There was something about this that I just didn’t care for. I know now it’s most likely from the clay distillation, kind of a bandaid or savory mineral note.

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lote SMS002F/20 botttle 239/980 47.5% Tio Felix Aromas out of the bottle or sugary sweetness a little bit of smoke surprisingly but some kind of fermented sweet candy flavor that I’ve never experienced before. Wow the chase follows with some kind of sweet licorice fennel agave acidic smokiness that’s just awesome. For the price point this is excellent Moscow I love the mix of the two Agaves

Bryen

Bryen

55 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Currently in Cabo, where mezcal is not quite the drink of choice. Found the Tio Felix bottle for a steal at the local supermarket and I’m enjoying it on vacation for the $50 price point that I found it for! The clay is quite evident on the nose and it’s very espadin forward but the arroqueno brings a nice fruity taste to it as well. kind of weird to say but it tastes slightly like Dr. Pepper in mezcal form lol in the best way possible. If you can find it on sale like me, grab it. Full price, maybe reach for something else.

Currently in Cabo, where mezcal is not quite the drink of choice. Found the Tio Felix bottle for a steal at the local supermarket and I’m enjoying it on vacation for the $50 price point that I found it for! The clay is quite evident on the nose and it’s very espadin forward but the arroqueno brings a nice fruity taste to it as well. kind of weird to say but it tastes slightly like Dr. Pepper in mezcal form lol in the best way possible. If you can find it on sale like me, grab it. Full price,

Read more
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Tio Felix. Batch SMS002F/20

Big fan of clay distilled mezcals. Upon initially opening the bottle it was all sharpie pen aromas. Once that calmed down though this was fantastic. Lovely balance between sweet, earthy, mineral, smoky and vegetal notes. Could easily drink too much. Excellent value IMO.

GMAD

GMAD

88 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lote: SMS003L/21, 47.5%, Bot. 082/700, Tio Leonardo
Espadin 80% / Arroqueño 20%

Nose – Funky; the clay is very apparent. Terra cotta, fresh cut grass, butterscotch. It’s cheesy with some overtones of acetone.

Palate – A strange, funky flavor; the clay definitely makes an appearance. Think hot, citrus rubber – ginger, orange rind, raisins, rubber bands, and some maple syrup.

Finish – The funk cools off and is a little more subdued but in a bittersweet way; licorice, tamarind.

The industrial notes standout more than the organic ones. Almost gives off an artificial taste despite it being Ancestral. Nonetheless, it’s still a good and interesting Mezcal to have considering its value and availability. Fantastic bottle art.

Lote: SMS003L/21, 47.5%, Bot. 082/700, Tio Leonardo
Espadin 80% / Arroqueño 20%
Nose – Funky; the clay is very apparent. Terra cotta, fresh cut grass, butterscotch. It’s cheesy with some overtones of acetone.
Palate – A strange, funky flavor; the clay definitely makes an appearance. Think hot, citrus rubber – ginger, orange rind, raisins, rubber bands, and some maple syrup.
Finish – The funk cools off and is a little more subdued but in a bittersweet way; licori

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

105 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of the earlier mezcals I tasted and bought.
sms001F/19 bottle 100/794

The nose is a blast of clay, earth, and tire rubber.
Palate is DEEP, clay and smoke. Vinyl in a classic car interior. One of the smokiest mezcals I’ve had. I’ve moved on from Espadin and Alipus but this was one of the gateways for me.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tio Leonardo
Bottle 308/516
Lot SMS002L/13
48.2% ABV

I get a ton of citrus in the nose on this, orange rind and lime leaf mixed with ocean air. It could be the presentation that accompanied the copita with beautiful fresh orange slices that is influencing my perception. So smooth in the mouth. Vanilla wafer cookies, honeycomb, verbena, and terra cota with fresh Italian parsley. Medium-full bodied. A wonderful sipper and I’m my Top 3 Alipus for sure.

Chuey Agave

Chuey Agave

19 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: SMS003F/19 bottle 479/750
Tio Felix

Aroma – mineral notes from the clay pot come through strong, you can smells the espadin and arroqueno separately as well. Roasted agave and Citrus for days.

Flavor – earthy and mineral notes from the clay pot. Espadin flavor profile dominates. Mouthfeel is a little thin and the finish is strong and medium long.

MinorThreet

MinorThreet

7 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tio Felix
Wow was this full of industrial notes but in a great way

N: asphalt, rubber, menthol, sasparilla, spicy rootbeer barrel candies
P: bright grapefruity citrus, oak, green vegetal funk, cigarette ash,
F: bitter citrus peel, clay, bitter dark cocoa transition

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Originally tasted Feliz, Jesus & Leonardo’s ancestral Mezcals at Los Danzantes’ location in Centro, Oaxaca City for my 30th birthday! Had to get a bottle* Bottle 402/1204 (2019, I believe)

Aroma: BBQ Chicken, apple and citrus instantly. Fruity and earthy minerality.
Taste: Nice heat and smoke on first sip, some roasted pineapple, Pollo Asado. White raspberry, honeydew melon, charred jalapeño. A slight coating of sweet Madagascar vanilla throughout the palate. Reminiscent of a smoked NYC cheesecake. Exhale of light bbq smoke through the nose and upper palate. F me, that’s good!

*I loved all of them but could only bring back one bottle, so I bought the Leonardo for mi padre, since he doesn’t care for the more Smoky/peppery Mezcals. Jesus and Felix were better for my palate.

Originally tasted Feliz, Jesus & Leonardo’s ancestral Mezcals at Los Danzantes’ location in Centro, Oaxaca City for my 30th birthday! Had to get a bottle* Bottle 402/1204 (2019, I believe)
Aroma: BBQ Chicken, apple and citrus instantly. Fruity and earthy minerality.
Taste: Nice heat and smoke on first sip, some roasted pineapple, Pollo Asado. White raspberry, honeydew melon, charred jalapeño. A slight coating of sweet Madagascar vanilla throughout the palate. Reminiscent of a smoked NY

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Alipus en Barro
Tio Leonardo Lot:SMS001L/19
Dark black wet clay with roots and leaves in it, forest decay, black licorice. Delicious.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: SMS002L/16, Bottle: 1079/1224
Nose – Lemon meringue pie – crust and all. Oak campfire embers.

Palate – Oreo pie crust. Dark chocolate the whole way in fact. Lime citrus. Pineapple. Rolling tobacco. Heavy ash and some clay in the finish (definitely not Sola de Vega funky which is a minor disappointment). Chocolate mousse notes sprout up in the aftertaste.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Tio Jesus. Did not catch any batch number.
This is so special, it does not quite compare to any other mezcal I have tried. Ash, soil, clay, peat, dried fruit on the nose. Tastes of dried limes, dark mulberries, Scottish pipe tobacco and Irish whiskey. Best aspect of this mezcal is the aftertaste where the tongue is exposed to flavours hitherto reserved for the nostrils. The low price is also a plus, of course.

Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I’ve had this many times. The first time (about 4.5 years ago) was at a nightclub with my wife and another couple here in San Miguel de Allende. At the time I thought it might be the best Espadín I’d ever had, and was blown away by every sip. At least one time maybe a year later I found it disappointing. (Bar proprietor adding something to it? No se.) A few other times I’ve had it and found it pretty damn good. The essence of clay is balanced by a bit of sweetness. I’d say this is my favorite of the typically available Alipus offerings.

I’ve had this many times. The first time (about 4.5 years ago) was at a nightclub with my wife and another couple here in San Miguel de Allende. At the time I thought it might be the best Espadín I’d ever had, and was blown away by every sip. At least one time maybe a year later I found it disappointing. (Bar proprietor adding something to it? No se.) A few other times I’ve had it and found it pretty damn good. The essence of clay is balanced by a bit of sweetness. I’d s

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

One word. Ash. Like a campfire now just smoldering after a long night of camping. But the smoke doesn’t linger like a low quality mezcal. Very interesting bottle at just the right price.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

80/20 Espadin and Arroqueno from Tio Leonardo- got a great deal on this bottle and the clay pot stuff seemingly always delivers. This bottle is no different – considering the value and the blend this a definite winner. Round, citrus, mild smoke, sweet, and all too easy to drink. One of my go-to bottles right now!

AdrianM

AdrianM

19 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Clay at its best from Alipus. I’m a sucker for it. I tried the 50/50 arroqueno and espadin and it is an exciting ensamble, very enjoyable. Sweet on the palate too. Great stuff.

James

James

9 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Light funk on the nose, sweet and smoky, smells a little like cola. Palate is clay and spice, full mouthfeel, a little dark, earth. This bottle took a little while to open up. Very enjoyable, a little thick, not overly complex, but well balanced with strong flavors. Lot SMS001L/17 from Tio Leonardo.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

55 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I got a bottle of this in Playa del Carmen. Went through to pretty quick.
It was a pretty good sipper and it made some good cocktails too.
Smooth, clay, some citrus, funk not overly complex but the price was right! Solid Arroqueño ensamble!

booyaka2

booyaka2

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Huge fan, sweet cirtice with clay funk right off the bat. pepper and spice followup. Has a stink that i love!!!!! Get it and enjoy.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top