Powered by 100% agave

Amaras Cupreata

The Amaras Cupreata is made with agave Cupreata agave that is harvested from the mountain slopes in the Rio Balsas basin.

Rating: (31 reviews)
Brand:Amaras Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O239X
Mezcalero:Faustino Robledo
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Guerrero
Town:Mazatlán
ABV: 40%
Website: http://www.mezcalamores.com, opens in new window

About this mezcal

The Amaras Cupreata is made with agave Cupreata that is harvested from the mountain slopes in the Rio Balsas basin. The slopes are between 4,000 and 6,000 feet above sea level and it takes the Cupreata about 13 years to mature due to the harsh climate of the region. This mezcal is made using only open-air fermentation and the fermented agave are distilled in copper. This mezcal features aromas of leather, cocoa, and toasted pumpkin seeds.

Amaras Mezcal

Mezcal Amores (Or Amaras as it’s known in the U.S.) focuses heavily on terrior and it shows in their product. Mezcal Amores believes that humans should benefit from the ecosystem by keeping it in balance. As of 2017, they had over 145,000 agave in their nurseries and they have a goal of planing ten agave for every one agave they harvest. They also promote horizontal growth of their mezcal production across several different producers and they provide micro-loans to mezcaleros who wish to upgrade their equipment.

 

Mezcalistas blog: Launching mezcal sustainably

 

Member rating

3.85 out of 5

31 reviews

MezcalBabe

MezcalBabe

63 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars39 mins ago

Conical stone oven, natural fermentation in pinewood vessel, Copper Pot stills ; 2023; Lot 2

very light roast on the nose; funkyyyy on the nose; tastes like toasted toffee

Poor rating for me bc I simply don’t care for cupreata

tallchad

tallchad

111 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

This one is amazing! After having the Espadin and Repo versions, the rep accepted my secret handshake and brought out a bottle from under his table. “Shhh, I don’t have enough for everyone”, is usually a good way to make a new friend.
I did not get much of the bottle info, but I remember hearing Guerrero. I did not look at the abv–and if you told me it was 40% I would have objected strongly–but it acted like a good one in the high 40s.
Aromas of backyard bbq, tropical fruit and light perfume. Very nice!
The taste was fairly smooth (maybe it was lower abv) with more tropical fruit, light smoke, pepper and earth.
The finish was worth finding this bottle! The blend of earthy sweetness was incredible and memorable. One of the best finishes ever.
Overall great and superbly well-balanced mezcal.

MR does not have the Amaras Verde listed. So here is my review for that.

Mezcalera Diana Orozco, the agave is listed as Espadin Verde.
Aroma has intense smoke and after a while orange blossom.
The taste is fun, and very good but it hits you all at once–very intense. It’s a little sweet, earthy, with light citrus.
The finish is good, long and balanced.
ABV 43%
3.5 stars

This one is amazing! After having the Espadin and Repo versions, the rep accepted my secret handshake and brought out a bottle from under his table. “Shhh, I don’t have enough for everyone”, is usually a good way to make a new friend.
I did not get much of the bottle info, but I remember hearing Guerrero. I did not look at the abv–and if you told me it was 40% I would have objected strongly–but it acted like a good one in the high 40s.
Aromas of backyard bbq, trop

Read more
MezcalJeffe

MezcalJeffe

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Fantastic Cupreata! It’s got a unique herbaceous flavor that I love. I taste a complex vegetal pepper flavor with herbal and floral notes. The smoke is very subtle and light. Overall, a great sipper on a hot summer day.

masmezcal

masmezcal

14 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Dominant vegetal notes, and some mineral notes, not very complex overall. Medium finish with peppery notes.

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot 2 year 2020 43% Aromas out of the bottle are asparagus and green beans, with some complicated asotone and alcoholic flavors. The overall flavors are pretty good on this one with green and gabby, and once again green vegetables A little blue cheese. And pepper. Capers olives citrus. This is good.

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Bottled: 2023
Primavera
Lote: 3
ABV: 40.3%

This was a random purchase and at first I thought a huge mistake. Strong prominent vapors of rubbing alcohol were all I could pull from it and the flavors were not much different. Initially this tasted like a cheap vodka but after a week of being open I was somewhat pleasantly surprised by the changes.

The nose became much sweeter, somewhat lactic and at least 50% of the rubbing alcohol vapors disappeared. The Cupreta flavors finally began shining through and while they never became totally distinct (or even all that pleasant tbh) it did become drinkable. When mixed with a zero-calorie sparkling lime water it actually became an excellent mixed drink.

The low ABV was always a factor; I never really got enough enjoyment from sipping it before I just quit drinking it stand-alone altogether. This is definitely a mass market product and a nice mixer that did improve with time however don’t believe I will ever return to it again.

Bottled: 2023
Primavera
Lote: 3
ABV: 40.3%
This was a random purchase and at first I thought a huge mistake. Strong prominent vapors of rubbing alcohol were all I could pull from it and the flavors were not much different. Initially this tasted like a cheap vodka but after a week of being open I was somewhat pleasantly surprised by the changes.
The nose became much sweeter, somewhat lactic and at least 50% of the rubbing alcohol vapors disappeared. The Cupreta flavors finally began shining throu

Read more
Bagaso

Bagaso

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This was my first time trying a Cupreata – mild floral notes, incredibly light almost watery. The low abv is felt immediately but can feel diluted, longing for more nuanced flavors. Nice to have but I likely won’t return for this batch.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

44 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Bottled in 2021
Lote No. 2
Mezcal Amaras 4c (not sure what this indicates)
43% ABV
Initial nasal impact is warming.
Aroma of sweet vinegar hits first. Floral, mineral, some tropical fruit and honey follow.
Very soft mouthfeel.
Flavor is fresh cut jalapeno peppers marinated in rain water. Mineral, some cumin and licorice. A little cheese funkiness on the retro nasal. Nicely balanced with a hint of smoke. Would like to try it at 46% ABV. A very nice cupreata (especially for the price point – around $50).

Bottled in 2021
Lote No. 2
Mezcal Amaras 4c (not sure what this indicates)
43% ABV
Initial nasal impact is warming.
Aroma of sweet vinegar hits first. Floral, mineral, some tropical fruit and honey follow.
Very soft mouthfeel.
Flavor is fresh cut jalapeno peppers marinated in rain water. Mineral, some cumin and licorice. A little cheese funkiness on the retro nasal. Nicely balanced with a hint of smoke. Would like to try it at 46% ABV. A very nice cupreata (especially for the price point –

Read more
tecolotesweet

tecolotesweet

14 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

2020 – lote 2 – bubblegum/cherry on the nose, smooth oak on the palette. super easy drinking. would make a killer mezcal old fashioned but a killer sipper as well. incredible no matter how you spin it.

richmezcla

richmezcla

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch: invierno 2021 lote 2

Overall it’s a good mezcal, that can be enjoyed sipped though it’ll be better as a cocktail mixer.

It has some spice and citrus aromas, a little too sour. Flavor is nice and very soft. Bell pepper, minerality, not too sweet, a hint of astringency. The finish is peppery and very short though.

Dom

Dom

29 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Cracked pepper, citrus, light smoke, mint, herbaceous notes, sweet mineral after taste

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote 1 / Papalote / 43%

This $55 bottle drinks like some of my $100 bottles. A very excellent expression of Cupreata at any price point but it just happens to be a value bottle.

danimal_xoxo

danimal_xoxo

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Bottled in 2021.
Spring
Lote: 7

Nose: vegetal, lightly cooked agave, citrus/bright

Taste: light acetone, rich vegetal flavor like a pepper…definitely herbal with notes of mineral and earth. Not so much smoke. Definitely a bright mezcal.

Feel: soft, kind of watery viscosity. Maybe even a little salty feeling.

Overall great flavor and at a great price point. I bought this to expand my collection so I would have a cupreata.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Freshly cut Anaheim pepper, pineapple fruit, and Italian parsley on the nose. Big in the mouth with viscosity and some good, supporting heat. Flavors of light, sweet smoke, flan custard, and green pepper skin. Very enjoyable, I could drink this very often.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lower ABV than I usually go for but as a nice entry into a different mezcal category so give it a shot. Low price point and a nice sweet green pepper, floral, clean, and smooth offering. Nice option for newly minted mezcal drinkers or anyone you want to ease into the mezcal category.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote No: 2
Nose: Vibrant floral nose.

Palate: Peppermint gum sweet and heat. Black licorice. Spinach. A hard water, mouth feel. Catching a slight dandelion/weed note that messes up some of the other good stuff going on. I agree with some of the other reviewers on the astringent finish. Good but not great.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

1/2 ounce sample no Lot number. Four years ago this was my first Cupreata, and I loved it. Now I taste it again with a lot more experience and I still love it! Fresh jalapeño, cold crema, caramel, black licorice, and peppermint. Soft and light and delicious.

Tutta

Tutta

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Casa Martin, a very nice restaurant in Cabo San Lucas, served me a bottle of Mezcal Amores Cupreata (Amaras in the US) and I was blown away from the distinctive and different note this Mezcal offered. I had a lot of different Mezcals in my life, and really love the most smokey ones the best. But Amores added a flora note to it that blew my. mind. Definitely my favorite Mezcal so far.

Tom_B

Tom_B

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Complex vegetal flavors with really interesting notes of leather and minerals (chalk/limestone), but what brought it down a star was the slightly harsh, astringent finish. I would like to try this one some and judge it on more than a single shot in shot glass of questionable cleanliness.

Mexicoinmyglass

Mexicoinmyglass

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Very herbaceous, vegetal spinach, asparagus, celery, cooked nopal, wild and astringent finish, this is how a big papalote or maguey mariposa should taste, I am not a fan of Cupreata mezcales but this just my personal taste, I have tasted other brands made in Guerrero to compare but this one for the price and refined style is truly worth it. Smooth finish without the burning sensation. Cupreata has definitely a very distinctive and unique character with the vegetal component.
43% ABV Made in the winter of 2019 Lot #3 certified organic and Kosher.
I won’t use this on a cocktail, this is definitely to drink on its own and discover what agave Cupreata is able to bring to the table.
In Guerrero agave Cupreata grows at 1,300 m above sea level.

Very herbaceous, vegetal spinach, asparagus, celery, cooked nopal, wild and astringent finish, this is how a big papalote or maguey mariposa should taste, I am not a fan of Cupreata mezcales but this just my personal taste, I have tasted other brands made in Guerrero to compare but this one for the price and refined style is truly worth it. Smooth finish without the burning sensation. Cupreata has definitely a very distinctive and unique character with the vegetal component.
43% ABV Made in the

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top