Powered by 100% agave

Bruxo No. 5 Tobala

Bruxo No. 5 is made by mezcalero Candido Reyes or Cesareo Rodriguez. Each with their own style and unique aspects of production.

About this mezcal

Bruxo No. 5 is made by mezcalero Candido Reyes, AKA Tio Conejo (Uncle Rabbit). Other releases of this are also made by Cesareo “Hero” Rodriguez. The wild agave Tobala are very small, meaning that it takes a great amount of Tobala to produce small quantities of mezcal.

Bruxo Mezcal

Bruxo was created by a group of friends who love and honor the country of Mexico. They discovered the magic of mezcal, but above all, its people. Brujo is synonymous with shaman, wise, illuminated; and the “X ” in Bruxo then refers to the pronunciation of their origin lands, Oaxaca and México. Each bottle of Bruxo may vary slightly from lot to lot, so make sure to check your bottle for details.

 

10 reviews

3.9 out of 5

Greg Mueller

Greg Mueller

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Very well balanced.
Vegetal, creamy and fruity.
Typical Tobala flavour and not too smokey.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose – Carrot tops. Cheesecake tarts. Green, sweet and creamy aromas.

Palate – A big funky, creamy cheesecake note to start. It fades midway to a tangy, dry finish. Long aftertaste of sweet clay flavors. Viscosity on the lighter side. A tasty tobala.

This was a 2 oz. copita at Piedra Santo in Tijuana.

aarild

aarild

125 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

B0292 Candido Reyes.
Smells fantastic, a bit clay and dust, dried chamomile, charred pine wood. Tastes of lime peels, pink peppercorns, quince, some vegetal notes, balanced woody smoke. And as Razorbackmike says: Potato. It actually also has a texture reminiscent of Norwegian potato distillates used in aquavit and gin, giving it a nice, rich mouthfeel.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

My favorite in their lineup – its got a nice sweet veggie profile – nothing overwhelming and you can get the Tobala notes right away. Easy to sip – very gentlemanly mezcal. Looking forward to trying this one again.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

excellent. end of story – will buy again

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot- 10776M (bottle 16)
The mezcal itself tinted a touch green.

Nose – Mild acetone and definite smokey note of charred capsicum. Some vegetal aromas as well.

Palate – a soft sweetness of maple gives balance to smoke. Round and easy to drink.

Overall nice not overly complex or harsh. 4/5

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot B2583R by Candido Reyes 46% ABV. Good but not great. The aroma is distinctly tobala and there is a nice honey sweetness on the palette. The aftertaste comes up short; it reminds me of plastic. This batch at least is not in the same league as the El Jolgorio or Rey Campero tobalas. In Mexico, I also would recommend the Convite tobala, which is a little over half the price.

Updated on Dec 3: Head to head with the 2015 Jolgorio tobala I have previously reviewed, there is no comparison.

A year later in late 2019 – still very average and not getting better with age. This bottle is about 1,500 pesos in Mexico. Very poor value for money down here.

Lot B2583R by Candido Reyes 46% ABV. Good but not great. The aroma is distinctly tobala and there is a nice honey sweetness on the palette. The aftertaste comes up short; it reminds me of plastic. This batch at least is not in the same league as the El Jolgorio or Rey Campero tobalas. In Mexico, I also would recommend the Convite tobala, which is a little over half the price.
Updated on Dec 3: Head to head with the 2015 Jolgorio tobala I have previously reviewed, there is no comparison.
A year

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

137 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

very soft mezcal.not the typical tobala flavor but does have the same personality.subtle sweetness with earthy potato.clay notes mid way with a gentle finish.i didnt get much smoke and it was different from other tobalas.a pleasant linger on the tongue.very good but i think the barrill made by this brand is fantastic.

Tyler

Tyler

583 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Floral and vegetal on the nose. Sweet, clay, citrus taste. Incredibly light mezcal at 46% ABV. Bruxo offers a very special tobalá that really brings out the best flavors of this rare plant. After trying a few tobalás this is a real standout. My current bottle from Candido Reyes (Lot 10466M) has impressed me less than the first one I tried. There is a bit of a chemical cream aftertaste.

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

This is crazy rich and balanced. It’s slightly vegetal on the nose with hints of smoke and tobacco. The taste is also vegetal but with a much sweeter twist that is fruity with a mouth feel that almost resembles clay. This is one of my favorite mezcals made with agave Tobala, and I love agave Tobala. This mezcal is refined and suave in a way that other mezcals can’t touch. This bottle was from LOT: V2551G from Candido Reyes.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top