Powered by 100% agave

Burrito Fiestero Masparillo

Burrito Fiestero Masparillo is made with maguey Masparillo, which is yellowish green in color and has very short, wide pencas.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Burrito Fiestero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O316X
Mezcalero:Juan Manuel Conde
Maguey:Masparillo
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Filipino
Style:Joven
State:Durango
Town:San Nicolas
ABV: 50.2%
Age of plant: 14-16 years
Website: http://mezcalburrito.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Burrito Fiestero Masparillo is made with maguey Masparillo that is found growing wild in the lower areas of El Mezquital, Durango. This mezcal is produced by Juan Manuel Conde in San Nicolas, Durango. The agave are milled by hand with axes and distilled in a clay/wood (viejo) Filipino still. This still uses clay pots on the bottom chamber, with the upper chamber made of wood. As the spirit condenses, drops run through a bamboo into a collector.

Burrito Fiestero Mezcal

Mezcal Burrito Fiestero hails from the mountainous State of Durango. The company has an agave reforestation campaign called “ONE FOR ONE” where they plant one maguey Cenizo per bottle that is produced, essentially planting 10 times more than what they use. They also play an important role in the sustainable development of San Nicolas, Durango by becoming the biggest jobs provider of the region.

Member rating

4.28 out of 5

9 reviews

Bryen

Bryen

52 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Got this on sale at Binnys for 90 instead of the typical 120. My biggest issue with this bottle is the price because the flavor profile is very similar to the burrito fiestero ensamble and that one comes in at $45-50 price point. I don’t feel like there’s enough of a difference to justify the big uptick in price and I would have preferred to have not bought this bottle lol bbq flavors are a bit present but the grape/sour flavors shine through on this one. As with other bottles, this may become more complex over time but I’m not really feeling it at this point. Will update as always if things change.

Got this on sale at Binnys for 90 instead of the typical 120. My biggest issue with this bottle is the price because the flavor profile is very similar to the burrito fiestero ensamble and that one comes in at $45-50 price point. I don’t feel like there’s enough of a difference to justify the big uptick in price and I would have preferred to have not bought this bottle lol bbq flavors are a bit present but the grape/sour flavors shine through on this one. As with other bottles, this may beco

Read more
JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Lot: Ancestral 03-MP, 50.2% abv, Date 02/22/2020 Bottle: 14/720

Picked up this bottle at Mission Liquor. My batch is different from other reviewers, though it was the review on YouTube by Tequila Hombre that intrigued me enough to grab a bottle finally.

Nose: raw sugar cane, beet juice, light ashy aroma

Palate: sweet carrots, root veggies, sweet herbal tea, gochujang, Walla Walla Onion, galangal, and faint smoke. With more air, the pour evolves into some of the tropical fruit notes that other reviewers mention from their batches.

This one is just slightly better than the masparillo from Lamata, but both are very high quality offerings. This had some nice lingering heat and flavor and a bit more complexity. Great to be able to taste both side-by-side.

Lot: Ancestral 03-MP, 50.2% abv, Date 02/22/2020 Bottle: 14/720
Picked up this bottle at Mission Liquor. My batch is different from other reviewers, though it was the review on YouTube by Tequila Hombre that intrigued me enough to grab a bottle finally.
Nose: raw sugar cane, beet juice, light ashy aroma
Palate: sweet carrots, root veggies, sweet herbal tea, gochujang, Walla Walla Onion, galangal, and faint smoke. With more air, the pour evolves into some of the tropical fruit notes that oth

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Haven’t had many Masparillos but every one I’ve tried from Durango has been fantastic like this one. Very expressive flavors of BBQ jerky, dragonfruit, pink peppercorn, orange hard candy, and bubbly tonic. This is a great example of unique Durango mezcal. Not that it adds to the flavor, but the painted bottle is badass too. Lot 001-MP from 2019, bottle #862/1440.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot: 002-MP Bottle: 102/720
Nose – Wild Cherry Pepsi. A sugar-glazed oatmeal raisin cookie.

Palate – Tropical flower potpourri. Big animal cracker note. Vanilla. Dead grass. Dried mint. The heat is on the light side for 50.2% ABV. Mineral finish – slightly saline at first but then the clay breaks through and is predominant well into the aftertaste. Smoke throughout is medium but really tastes amazing with the clay on the back end of this Masparillo journey. This stuff is an absolute treat!

Lot: 002-MP Bottle: 102/720
Nose – Wild Cherry Pepsi. A sugar-glazed oatmeal raisin cookie.
Palate – Tropical flower potpourri. Big animal cracker note. Vanilla. Dead grass. Dried mint. The heat is on the light side for 50.2% ABV. Mineral finish – slightly saline at first but then the clay breaks through and is predominant well into the aftertaste. Smoke throughout is medium but really tastes amazing with the clay on the back end of this Masparillo journey. This stuff is an ab

Read more
DavidB

DavidB

6 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch 001-MP. Bottle 026/1440. First time drinking any agave variety from Durango. Nothing but positive reviews, and this bottle definitely met the high expectations. Grass, earth, fruit, light body, smooth finish, pleasant aromas. Arturo Conde is someone I will be looking to follow!

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 002-MP. Yum!! Both Masparillo Mezcals I’ve had have been delicious!! This is similar to the Amormata/Lamata but less ashy and earthy. Bbq pineapple, clay dust, and tons of mint flavors, like menthol cigarettes. I also love the mini cement tahona wheel bottle cap. I want to try more from this brand!

MezcalHombre

MezcalHombre

8 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This was the first time I tried a Masparillo and my second expression from the Burrito Fiestero line. I have to say I am really enjoying these mezcals. Being a mostly tequila drinker, I find these to be great mezcals for those looking to dive into Mezcal from Tequila. There is little smoke. Just enough to let you know it’s a mezcal produced in an ancestral way. Nose I get Cinnamon, fruit like citrus and minerality from the water..
Flavors Cinnamon sweetness, then tart sweet fruit like pineapple and then tropical fruit like papaya, mango and banana. On the finish nice sweetness that tell you to sip some more.

Nice strong fruit flavors, very easy to sip and enjoy. I recommend it for anyone looking to try Mezcal from tequila and anyone that like the more fruity flavored mezcals.

This was the first time I tried a Masparillo and my second expression from the Burrito Fiestero line. I have to say I am really enjoying these mezcals. Being a mostly tequila drinker, I find these to be great mezcals for those looking to dive into Mezcal from Tequila. There is little smoke. Just enough to let you know it’s a mezcal produced in an ancestral way. Nose I get Cinnamon, fruit like citrus and minerality from the water..
Flavors Cinnamon sweetness, then tart sweet fruit like

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch 001-MP. Bottle 862/1440. Strong aromas of gingerbread cookies, fresh flowers, and serrano peppers. The palate has vanilla bean, jalapeno, dry grasses, minerals, and spicy radishes. This is really tasty.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

158 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

first time to try a masparillo.i was not disappointed.the nose was strong with fresh wild flowers and sugar cookies.like spring in a bottle.the first impression on the tongue was reserved but after a second or two it really blossomed.very floral and a stong vanilla note.the finish was medium with mucho vanilla,plenty of smoke and the vanilla continued.mild with a pleasant bite.little hints of honey.wonderful spirit.this was a freshly opened bottle and i cant help but think that time will turn this beautiful spirit into a 5 star when it opens up.

first time to try a masparillo.i was not disappointed.the nose was strong with fresh wild flowers and sugar cookies.like spring in a bottle.the first impression on the tongue was reserved but after a second or two it really blossomed.very floral and a stong vanilla note.the finish was medium with mucho vanilla,plenty of smoke and the vanilla continued.mild with a pleasant bite.little hints of honey.wonderful spirit.this was a freshly opened bottle and i cant help but think that time will turn th

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top