Powered by 100% agave

Chacolo Azul Telcruz

Chacolo Azul Telcruz is made with 1 of the 14 different agave Angustifolia varietals that the family has been collecting for the last 3 generations.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Chacolo
Mezcalero:Macario Partida
Maguey:Azul Telcruz
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Filipino
Style:Joven
State:Jalisco
Town:Zapotitlan de Vadillo
ABV: 48.6%
Age of plant: 10-13 years
Website: https://www.facebook.com/chacolotradicional/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Chacolo Azul Telcruz is made with maguey Azul Telcruz (agave Angustifolia), which takes about 10 years to reach maturity, plus 3 years capon. This is one of fourteen agave Angustifolia varietals produced by Chacolo. The agave are cooked in an underground oven and milled by hand with axes. Once cooked and milled, the agave are fermented naturally in wooden tinas with mountain spring water. Finally, they are double distilled in a Filipino style still.

Chacolo

The Partida family, lead by Don Macario, has been making their iconic “mezcales” for 5 generations in Zapotitlan de Vadillo, Jalisco, however due to legalities they can neither call their product mezcal nor tequila. They are renowned among mezcaleros and mezcal aficionados for the amazing spirits that are meticulously made from the 15 different agave varietals that they have been collecting from their region for three generations. These varietals include 14 A. angustifolia sub varietals and 1 A. rhodacantha sub-varietal.

Learn more:

Member rating

4.39 out of 5

9 reviews

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

* Lot: 2
* Bottle: 276/343
* Liters: 259
* ABV: 48.6%

Soft and sweet on the nose, sugary candy with a slight bit of mint. Intriguing!

Taste is complex; like fruit and nuts all picked at peak harvest, almost overly nutty. Fig, white pepper, pear and light, light strawberry. Sweet, maybe too sweet for me by just a tiny touch.

I personally prefer the Brocha but would I say “no” to a friend trying to hand me a pour of this? No lol, no I absolutely would not. Overall an A- spirit in my opinion.

* Lot: 2
* Bottle: 276/343
* Liters: 259
* ABV: 48.6%
Soft and sweet on the nose, sugary candy with a slight bit of mint. Intriguing!
Taste is complex; like fruit and nuts all picked at peak harvest, almost overly nutty. Fig, white pepper, pear and light, light strawberry. Sweet, maybe too sweet for me by just a tiny touch.
I personally prefer the Brocha but would I say “no” to a friend trying to hand me a pour of this? No lol, no I absolutely would not. Overall an A- spirit in my opinion.

Read more
peter-campora

peter-campora

15 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Chacolo Azul Telcruz 48.6% Jan. 2018 batch

Nose: Mint and french fries. The fries are slight burnt.

Palate: Sweet powdered sugar is followed by an interesting acidity that’shard to describe. Maybe like lime juice from a lime that’s been left out too long. Some of that burnt fry note from the nose comes in.

Finish: Burnt fry note. Medium-long. I actually like this note so I enjoy this finish.

Overall: Fun profile. Despite my lack of notes there is some complexity.I think a touch more oomph on the palate would help.

Chacolo Azul Telcruz 48.6% Jan. 2018 batch
Nose: Mint and french fries. The fries are slight burnt.
Palate: Sweet powdered sugar is followed by an interesting acidity that’shard to describe. Maybe like lime juice from a lime that’s been left out too long. Some of that burnt fry note from the nose comes in.
Finish: Burnt fry note. Medium-long. I actually like this note so I enjoy this finish.
Overall: Fun profile. Despite my lack of notes there is some complexity.I think a touch more

Read more
jmehrk35

jmehrk35

42 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Vol 4
Lote: #2
2018
Bottle 239/343
259 ltrs
48.6%
Initial nasal impact is very drying with a slight prickle.
Aroma leads with BBQ rub and fruit, mostly berries.
Initially sweet, and extremely drying with generous alcohol heat. The flavor begins with a sweet berry hard candy, BBQ sauce, sage, tarragon and chocolate milk. All this lingers with a campfire medium to long finish. As I sip it, a wintergreen note develops on the backend. The 3 year capon has made this what it is. Seems most capon expressions have some common flavor components: berries, strawberry and chocolate milk (in some combination) in the flavor profile. This is (naturally) sweeter than I usually like but it works well. Another solid bottle from Chacolo

Vol 4
Lote: #2
2018
Bottle 239/343
259 ltrs
48.6%
Initial nasal impact is very drying with a slight prickle.
Aroma leads with BBQ rub and fruit, mostly berries.
Initially sweet, and extremely drying with generous alcohol heat. The flavor begins with a sweet berry hard candy, BBQ sauce, sage, tarragon and chocolate milk. All this lingers with a campfire medium to long finish. As I sip it, a wintergreen note develops on the backend. The 3 year capon has made this what it is. Seems most capon expre

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Easy to see why this is one of the most popular Chacolo release. Azul Telcruz is the oldest and has the highest sugar content of the agaves the Partida family works with. A crowd pleaser with lots of sugar with sour candy like Jolly Rancher as Jonny noted with a dry finish. I don’t have a ton of notes but wanted to leave a review before the bottle is empty. March 2022, lot 1, bottle 58/212, 159 liters, 50% ABV.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Mesquite BBQ potato chips. Dates.

Palate – Fig Newton. Crispy bacon. Fresh chopped mint. A dry champagne, squeezed lemon and milk chocolate finish (sounds crazy but it is awesome). One of the smoothest capon mezcals I’ve had (3 years… wow!). Pretty special stuff here. 🤩

zeepuzzler

zeepuzzler

25 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Vol. 4, January 2018, Lot 2. Bottle 190/343.
The nose is complex and thought-provoking. Lemon drops, chamomile, dried mission figs, and smoked whitefish. I get a subtle hit of chocolate milk while pulling in the first sip before deeper umami flavors race across the palate: prosciutto, mirin, bonito flakes, and black pepper. The finish takes me back to childhood when my mother would make Martha Stewart’s “Ideal Sugar Cookies” at Christmas, and I would steal fat pinches of raw dough while she wasn’t looking. It’s all butter, granulated sugar, high-proof vanilla extract, and brandy (the extra-special ingredient). Many minutes later, the flavors fade into the unexpectedly happy combination of concord grape skins and chunky peanut butter.

This is some phenomenal juice. I could pull more tasting notes out it all night long.

Vol. 4, January 2018, Lot 2. Bottle 190/343.
The nose is complex and thought-provoking. Lemon drops, chamomile, dried mission figs, and smoked whitefish. I get a subtle hit of chocolate milk while pulling in the first sip before deeper umami flavors race across the palate: prosciutto, mirin, bonito flakes, and black pepper. The finish takes me back to childhood when my mother would make Martha Stewart’s “Ideal Sugar Cookies” at Christmas, and I would steal fat pinches of ra

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Fruit stand nose, rauchbier and lemon on the palate, in addition to lollipop (strawberry flavor) and some campfire on the finish. Wonderful

Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 2. January 2018. 259 liters. Volume 4.

Second Chacolo of the night. Not at all disappointed! This pour left me wondering how such sweet a flavor could be pulled out from the Agave Angustifolia. It’s like there is special effect in the fermentation or something, I’ve learned they distill in a sort of wooden tree trunk. Fascinating. The candy like flavors are somehow so rounded, and the finish is never-ending. Amazing.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Vol 4. Big nose full of fruit and musk, like if you mashed up blueberries and made them into a men’s cologne. Hints of proscuitto, bacon, soy sauce, and dried fish. It’s also pretty sweet though. A bit of jolly rancher, but I can’t quite tell which flavor, maybe grape.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top