Powered by 100% agave

Chacalo Lineño

Chacalo Lineño is made with 1 of the 14 agave Angustifolia varietals that the producing family has gathered over the last few generations.

Rating: (5 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Chacolo
Mezcalero:Don Macario Partida
Maguey:Lineño
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Filipino
Style:Joven
State:Jalisco
ABV: 47.4%
Age of plant: 6-9 years
Website: https://www.facebook.com/chacolotradicional/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Chacolo Lineño is made with maguey Lineño (agave Angustifolia) in the state of Jalisco. Lineño is one of the fourteen agave Angustifolia grown by this producing family. This agave takes about 6 years to reach maturity, with 3 additional years of capon. The agave are cooked in an underground oven and milled by hand with axes. Once cooked and milled, the agave are fermented naturally in wooden tinas with mountain spring water. Finally, they are double distilled in a Filipino style still.

Chacolo

The Partida family, lead by Don Macario, has been making their iconic “mezcales” for 5 generations in Zapotitlan de Vadillo, Jalisco, however due to legalities they can neither call their product mezcal nor tequila. They are renowned among mezcaleros and mezcal aficionados for the amazing spirits that are meticulously made from the 15 different agave varietals that they have been collecting from their region for three generations. These varietals include 14 A. angustifolia sub varietals and 1 A. rhodacantha sub-varietal.

5 reviews

4.2 out of 5

Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lots of citrus and mint as others have noted. Getting a lot of lime zest with dry peppermint tea. Clean and simple with organic notes. I dig it but am not drawn to it. I dig the brand but haven’t fallen in love with a bottle yet. Vol 5, capon 3 years, 47.4%, 62 liters, June 2019.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

423 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose – Fruity Pebbles. Green mini- marshmallows.

Palate – Creamy key lime pie. Spearmint gum. Mandarin orange. Baking chocolate (semi-sweet). Finish is grassy and a tad dry. Overall… good sipping here.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

358 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Citrus, marshmellow, and cacao. Really really awesome. It seems that Chacolo hits notes that are hard to find for other distro’d destilados in the US. Musty without being funky, if such a thing is even possible. Wow

Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 001. June 2019. 62 Liters. Volume 5.

Happy Father’s Day to me! I’ve heard about Chacolo a long time now, and am very excited by this set. Sounds like it was pretty tough to find.

The nose on this was totally beguiling. There was this amazing amount of lemon citrus going on, while being closely followed by a delightful seafood type note. I dove in expecting the nose to mislead me but then again I was wrapped up in the most unusual way by this. The mouthfeel was totally unique, weighty and lots of interesting flavors. Some of the best agave spirit I’ve ever had.

Lot 001. June 2019. 62 Liters. Volume 5.
Happy Father’s Day to me! I’ve heard about Chacolo a long time now, and am very excited by this set. Sounds like it was pretty tough to find.
The nose on this was totally beguiling. There was this amazing amount of lemon citrus going on, while being closely followed by a delightful seafood type note. I dove in expecting the nose to mislead me but then again I was wrapped up in the most unusual way by this. The mouthfeel was totally unique, wei

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Vol 5. The nose on this thing! So much going on. Aromas of chocolate covered strawberries, white chocolate, vanilla, caramel, brown sugar, and honey. How can an Angustifolia smell like this? The palate has a bit of leather, mixing with more sweet candied notes of chocolate orange, fresh maple syrup, and gooey caramel. A little citrus on the back end. This stuff is phenomenal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top