Powered by 100% agave

Chango Loco Juan

The Chango Loco Juan is one of the most unique Madre-Cuishe Mezcals on the market.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Chango Loco Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O233X
Agave:Madre-Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Ana
ABV: 48%
Website: www.changolocomezcal.com
About this mezcal

The Chango Loco Juan is made with agave Madrecuishe. It has a very thick mouthfeel – the flavor comes on strong and pleasantly warms your mouth. The smell is earthy and the taste reminds you of the crisp smell of freshly cut grass…of racing a horse through a dewy green pasture. It’s full-bodied with rich citrus notes. This mezcal is single distilled.

Chango Loco Mezcal

Chango Loco Mezcal is proudly reviving the chango mezcalero and celebrating the tradition of artisan-created Mezcals true to the techniques passed from father to son for centuries. Using only the finest agave and traditional methods, Chango Loco produces the highest quality, small-batch spirits. Each limited edition bottle is hand blown, numbered, painted and filled using traditional equipment and techniques.

10 reviews

4 of out 5 stars


kelsheyk on Nov 30, 2017

  • Overall:

Unique flavor, my new favorite!

hollymm on Nov 30, 2017

  • Overall:

So good!! I love the bottle too!!!

Tyler on Dec 30, 2016

  • Overall:

Smells like dirt in a good way, think “fresh earth”. This is a unique madrecuishe and the mezcalero is not listed on the bottle. The Juan is very balanced on the palate with flavors notes of peppermint, wood, and fruit. My favorite of the three Chango Loco mezcals. Lot 201.

Jonny on Dec 30, 2016

  • Overall:

Lot 201. This mezcal is incredibly earthy. It has aromas of rich earth, wet leaves, and sweet damp hay in fall. This is a super vibrant mezcal and tastes of very wet earth. It’s notes are deep and earthy, rich and dark. This is the most unique madre-cuishe that I’ve tried.

Sandy on Sep 19, 2016

  • Overall:

Not like any other Mezcal…but y’all can tell that from the bottle. Reminds me of a crisp fall day on the farm.

Mary Batchelor on Sep 17, 2016

  • Overall:

The Chango Loco Juan has a little chimp bottle, and I am convinced it is because drinking this mezcal feels like a deep breath of air from a rainforest floor. It has a minty, earthy taste that can bring out the inner chimp in anyone!

Larry on Sep 17, 2016

  • Overall:

Initial thought was…”WHOA!” Definitely a different flavor! It is interesting how earthy the flavor is. The taste reminds me of that moment right after a summer rain. When it hits your nose you can taste that wet dirt. Very unique but not for me. Maybe it will grow one me. Only one way to find out.

3chainz on Sep 17, 2016

  • Overall:

Wow! Earthy and grassy…won’t be a fit for all palates but distictive and rich.

Kameron on Sep 17, 2016

  • Overall:

Very earthy, unique muddy flavor.

Jordan on Sep 17, 2016

  • Overall:

New to the Mezcal world and this crazy monkey has a kick! Very spicy with warm earthy tones.

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews