Powered by 100% agave

Chango Loco Juan

The Chango Loco Juan is earthy and has notes of wet leaves. Production details of this mezcal are limited.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Brand:Chango Loco Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O233X
Agave:Madre-Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Ana
ABV: 48%
Website: www.changolocomezcal.com
About this mezcal

The Chango Loco Juan is made with agave Madrecuishe. The smell is earthy and the taste is reminiscent of the crisp smell of freshly cut grass. It’s medium-bodied with citrus notes.

Chango Loco Mezcal

Chango Loco Mezcal is reviving the chango mezcalero by featuring a monkey as their bottle. Each limited edition bottle is hand blown, numbered, painted and filled using traditional equipment and techniques.

11 reviews

3.9 of out 5 stars


AgaveNerd101

AgaveNerd101

7 reviews
6 months ago

Bizare in a good way. The flavor reminds me of fresh sage and the nose gives a warm feeling of heat. The bottle is a novelty and the flavor/aroma stands tall.

kelsheyk

kelsheyk

1 review
2 years ago

Unique flavor, my new favorite!

hollymm

hollymm

1 review
2 years ago

So good!! I love the bottle too!!!

Tyler

Tyler

324 reviews
3 years ago

Smells like dirt in a good way, think “fresh earth”. This is a unique madrecuishe and the mezcalero is not listed on the bottle. The Juan is very balanced on the palate with flavors notes of peppermint, wood, and fruit. My favorite of the three Chango Loco mezcals. Lot 201.

Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
3 years ago

Lot 201. This mezcal is incredibly earthy. It has aromas of rich earth, wet leaves, and sweet damp hay in fall. This is a super vibrant mezcal and tastes of very wet earth. It’s notes are deep and earthy, rich and dark. This is the most unique madre-cuishe that I’ve tried.

Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
3 years ago

Not like any other Mezcal…but y’all can tell that from the bottle. Reminds me of a crisp fall day on the farm.

Mezcal_Mary

Mezcal_Mary

6 reviews
3 years ago

The Chango Loco Juan has a little chimp bottle, and I am convinced it is because drinking this mezcal feels like a deep breath of air from a rainforest floor. It has a minty, earthy taste that can bring out the inner chimp in anyone!

Avatar

Larry

3 years ago

Initial thought was…”WHOA!” Definitely a different flavor! It is interesting how earthy the flavor is. The taste reminds me of that moment right after a summer rain. When it hits your nose you can taste that wet dirt. Very unique but not for me. Maybe it will grow one me. Only one way to find out.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
3 years ago

Wow! Earthy and grassy…won’t be a fit for all palates but distictive and rich.

Avatar

Kameron

3 years ago

Very earthy, unique muddy flavor.

Avatar

Jordan

3 years ago

New to the Mezcal world and this crazy monkey has a kick! Very spicy with warm earthy tones.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top