Powered by 100% agave

Creador Espadin Capon

Creador Espadin Capon is made with agaves that had their quiote cut, condensing the sugars in the heart of the agave before production.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Creador Agave Spirits
Mezcalero:José Alberto Pablo
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Capón
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Bernardo Mixtepec
ABV: 48.4%
Age of plant: 8-10 years
Batch size: Lot JAEC1122: 300 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.creadorspirits.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Creador Espadin Capon is made with 100% capon agaves. Capón is the act of cutting the quiote when it is jutting skyward from the center of the agave. This takes tremendous energy, which is in fact, sugar. With the quiote cut and nowhere for that energy to be expended, the sugar stays in the plant and transforms until the agave is harvested. The result – destilado with distinct and delicious characteristics.

Batch JAEC1122 is José Alberto’s first ever batch of espadín capón. This Agave angustifolia, was cultivated in the Sola de Vega region of Oaxaca, and took 8-10 years to reach maturity. The quiote was cut (capón), and the agave remained in the ground an additional 9 months before being harvested.

Creador Agave Spirits

Creador Agave Spirits seeks out independent family producers who have little to no representation outside of their local markets – producers who want to make a transition to full-time production of destilado and need help getting their agave spirits to market.

Creador strives to support palenqueros and their communities by providing autonomy for the producers, as well as fair pricing. The company does not contractually obligate producers, nor negotiate price – what the palenqueros ask, they pay, and the company will advise if they think the spirits are underpriced. Creador profit-shares with the producers, providing transparency into the complex economics of selling spirits into the tiered alcohol-distribution systems prevalent in the US.

Creador translates to “creator” and is an homage to the artisan creators of agave spirits, and a tribute to the creators and makers in us all. De la mano y el corazón – from the hand and the heart.

You can now order Creador directly to your door.

Member rating

3.79 out of 5

14 reviews

JDB

JDB

154 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

48.4% abv

Classic espadin aromas. Light smoke, citrus, and a mellow lactic vibe with burnt sugar. Subdued flavors, black pepper, underripe pineapple, slight sourness and astringency, faint smoke and jellybellys.

A decent espadin, but not over or underwhelming. Don’t get the influence of clay that much and not as much sweetness as other reviewers mentioned.

RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose: Right from the nose I get this plasticine and orange soda combo like sweet Play-Doh (in a good way!) White grapes and citron. Incredibly fruity start with some underripe mango and strawberries. Cooked lemongrass, agave, sage, and bell pepper bring some green herbal elements to the nose. Buttered popcorn, pine nuts, and sunflower oil. There’s also a lactic or fermented quality about this mezcal too. Pineapple, Granny Smith apple peels, pulque, and vanilla yogurt. A fascinating nose with much to explore.

Palate: Sweet and soft floral notes on the palate. Potpuri, marigolds, and bee pollen. More cooked agave flavors with familiar agave syrup sweetness. Pithy citron rinds bring a bitter quality to the glass with more green apple sour notes popping up alongside. There’s a certain bread or grain quality here too like sweet oat cakes. Herbaceous flavors come out over time as this rests in my glass. Parsley, basil, thyme, and even a touch of chocolate mint. Lastly rounding out a more vegetal note is some grilled asparagus with rosemary butter.

Finish: The finish brings all of those earthy clay notes I expected and a slight surprise. Dark chocolate and herbs like a smoking rosemary garnish in a cocktail glass. Mesquite, BBQ smoky wood, and ash flavors. Burnt toast and peanut oil fried hashbrowns. I’m getting more grilled lemongrass on the finish and the charred bitterness reminds me of cacao nibs. This is a nice change of pace with the more sweet flavors from the palate.

Batch Number: Release 2, batch JAEC1122.
ABV: 47.7%.

Nose: Right from the nose I get this plasticine and orange soda combo like sweet Play-Doh (in a good way!) White grapes and citron. Incredibly fruity start with some underripe mango and strawberries. Cooked lemongrass, agave, sage, and bell pepper bring some green herbal elements to the nose. Buttered popcorn, pine nuts, and sunflower oil. There’s also a lactic or fermented quality about this mezcal too. Pineapple, Granny Smith apple peels, pulque, and vanilla yogurt. A fascinating nose with m

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose – Watermelon Jolly Rancher. Slight nail polish. A tiny, sour clay note.

Palate – A hint of canned corn flavor. Subtle celery leaf. Didn’t get much clay. Feels hotter than the 48,4% ABV. The finish has a harshness to go along with the heat.

This isn’t too vegetal or sweet but those are the main flavors I pick up. This is overshadowed by a harsh finish. I’ve tried much better espadin capon that punch with much more flavor. Comme ci, comme ca.

Batch: JAEC1122, Bottle: 72/388 48.4% ABV

Nose – Watermelon Jolly Rancher. Slight nail polish. A tiny, sour clay note.
Palate – A hint of canned corn flavor. Subtle celery leaf. Didn’t get much clay. Feels hotter than the 48,4% ABV. The finish has a harshness to go along with the heat.
This isn’t too vegetal or sweet but those are the main flavors I pick up. This is overshadowed by a harsh finish. I’ve tried much better espadin capon that punch with much more flavor. Comme ci, comme ca.
Batch: JAEC1122,

Read more
jackstraw

jackstraw

30 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

batch: JAEC1122
bottle: 72/388
abv: 48.4%

candy corn; sweet cherry
wood-fired green peppers
jerky; stone fruit
clay; smoke

review #24

tallchad

tallchad

99 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

This is a solid espadín. I was hoping for more clay influences.
The aroma is the best part: redwood shavings, salinity, creamy sweetness.
Taste is overpowered with spicy Red-Hots. I get some river rock too.
The finish has good smoke but more Red-Hot candy spiciness. Not bad.
Overall pretty good. If you are looking for clay influence (like I do) then you can skip this one.
Batch JAEC1122

Jam

Jam

143 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

48.4% abv, batch JAEC1122

Review #94: Nose has overripe banana, cherry, chalk, sweet grass, cream, sweet tart, vanilla, milk chocolate, charred wood, and cooked potato. Palate has cinnamon, red hots candy, chocolate, leather, wood, vanilla, sweet smoke, toasted nuts, hemp seed, cherry, earthy, and cooked potato.

This is some good stuff. Really fun savory notes i get on this like the nuts, seeds, and especially the potato. A good balance of sweet and tart flavors from the fruits with the darker earthy notes really add a lot of great complexity to this. Lots going on here as it opens up in the glass as well.

This sample was provided to me free of charge with no strings attached.

48.4% abv, batch JAEC1122
Review #94: Nose has overripe banana, cherry, chalk, sweet grass, cream, sweet tart, vanilla, milk chocolate, charred wood, and cooked potato. Palate has cinnamon, red hots candy, chocolate, leather, wood, vanilla, sweet smoke, toasted nuts, hemp seed, cherry, earthy, and cooked potato.
This is some good stuff. Really fun savory notes i get on this like the nuts, seeds, and especially the potato. A good balance of sweet and tart flavors from the fruits with the darker

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

98 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

JAEC1122

Nose: soft pears, more cherry, wet leaves, confectionery sugar

Palate and Finish: more mineral than the nose would suggest, slate, charred veggies with a bit of honey, roasted peanuts. Finish comes full circle to the nose. Powdered sugar, more rock, soft pear texture, a bit of tobacco at the very end.

Truthfully I didn’t love this the first time I tried it but I saved half my sample and round two it’s really nice. A ton of layers going on and a really nice finish that has you reaching for more. Lovely

This sample was provided to me. The above notes and review are my honest opinion.

JAEC1122
Nose: soft pears, more cherry, wet leaves, confectionery sugar
Palate and Finish: more mineral than the nose would suggest, slate, charred veggies with a bit of honey, roasted peanuts. Finish comes full circle to the nose. Powdered sugar, more rock, soft pear texture, a bit of tobacco at the very end.
Truthfully I didn’t love this the first time I tried it but I saved half my sample and round two it’s really nice. A ton of layers going on and a really nice finish that has you reachi

Read more
COak

COak

228 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch JAEC1122
One of the more interesting espadins I’ve had this year. The nose smells of butterscotch, wet forest and ripe agave. The palate is minerally & earthy. It’s really complex, rich, and has a long sweet finish. This is one I keep going back to.

Gfunk

Gfunk

19 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Reminds me more of a Mexicano rather than an espadin. A little ethanol and chemical notes on the nose. Explodes with darker flavors in the mouth, clay, minerals, a little smoke. Clean, kind of coppery finish.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lote: JAEC1122
Aromas of wet clay (as others mentioned) and some of that new tennis ball / synthetic smell. Hard to recognize this as an Espadin.
Taste at first seemed a bit hot. Some minerality, bonfire woody/smokiness, but along with something a bit synthetic too which I don’t particular like along with some leather/rawhide notes. Not really too sweet or fruity as I normally enjoy with an espadin, although there is some slight red apple notes at the very end. Not bad at all, but not my favorite from this line. 3.25 Stars
Review #193

Lote: JAEC1122
Aromas of wet clay (as others mentioned) and some of that new tennis ball / synthetic smell. Hard to recognize this as an Espadin.
Taste at first seemed a bit hot. Some minerality, bonfire woody/smokiness, but along with something a bit synthetic too which I don’t particular like along with some leather/rawhide notes. Not really too sweet or fruity as I normally enjoy with an espadin, although there is some slight red apple notes at the very end. Not bad at all, but not my

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

JAEC1122. I liked this one immediately. I was expecting more concentrated sweet and caramelized flavors because of the Capón process, but instead I was surprised with a smoky, earthy, vegetal, woody, and nutty flavor profile. Redwood bark, wet clay, roasted asparagus, campfire, and roasted peanut shells. Interesting, complex, and tasty.

Jonny

Jonny

698 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch JAEC1122. Aromas of pixie sticks, cotton candy, drier sheets, hickory, and cherry. The palate is soft with notes of peanuts, bonfire, wet clay, oatmeal, and grilled asparagus. This is a fantastic Espadin. It’s deep and complex, and it really opens up in the glass.

Jim's Drams

Jim's Drams

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose for me is warm and sweet, with red fruit (plum, berry). The palate is also slightly sweet with flavors similar to the nose, and a hint of vegetal notes and just a wisp of smoke towards the finish, which is warm and lingering. Heat is appropriate for the proof.
A very nice example of the capon process. Batch JAEC1122.

Tyler

Tyler

635 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Aromas of cotton candy and sweet corn. Some interesting flavors of adobe-cooked veggies with a green chili sauce. There is also a Fruit Roll-Ups “grainy fruit” thing going on. Everything from José Alberto has been super interesting. Batch JAEC1122.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top