Powered by 100% agave

Creador Mexicano

Creador Mexicano is produced by maestro palenquero José Alberto Pablo in San Bernardo Mixtepec, Oaxaca.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:Creador Agave Spirits
Mezcalero:José Alberto Pablo
Maguey:Mexicano
Agave:Rhodacantha
Fermentation:Clay
Milling:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Bernardo Mixtepec
ABV: 49.2%
Batch size: 100 liters (batch JAME0422)
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.creadorspirits.com, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Creador Mexicano is produced by maestro palenquero José Alberto Pablo in San Bernardo Mixtepec, Oaxaca. This small-batch  100% agave expression was cooked in an underground river rock-lined stone oven (el horno) for 5 days, milled by hand with wood mallets (mazos) in a hollowed tree trunk (canoa), fermented 3-5 days in half-buried 90-liter clay pots, and twice distilled in 60-liter clay pots. The all-clay fermentation and distillation process makes this mezcal unique from most commercially available mezcals.

“My destilado is made with all the love and dedication it needs for it to be of unmatched quality.” – José Alberto Pablo

The first Creador Mexicano release, distilled in January 2021, used Agave rhodacantha (Maguey Mexicano) sourced from Zimatlán de Alvarez. 200 liters were produced with 100 liters being released under the Creador label. The second release of Creador Mexicano was just 100 liters (of 300 total liters produced).

Creador Agave Spirits

Creador Agave Spirits seeks out independent family producers who have little to no representation outside of their local markets – producers who want to make a transition to full-time production of destilado and need help getting their agave spirits to market.

Creador strives to support palenqueros and their communities by providing autonomy for the producers, as well as fair pricing. The company does not contractually obligate producers, nor negotiate price – what the palenqueros ask, they pay, and the company will advise if they think the spirits are underpriced. Creador profit-shares with the producers, providing transparency into the complex economics of selling spirits into the tiered alcohol-distribution systems prevalent in the US.

Creador translates to “creator” and is an homage to the artisan creators of agave spirits, and a tribute to the creators and makers in us all. De la mano y el corazón – from the hand and the heart.

You can now order Creador directly to your door.

Member rating

4.38 out of 5

12 reviews

JDB

JDB

172 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

49.2% abv

Now this one is a banger. BBQ chips, mesquite, and cellophane on the nose. These are flavors that I could drink all day. Cream, pop rocks, rock candy, perfect black pepper heat. After getting more air, the flavors open up to toffee, rolo (the candy), caramel, and salt water taffy. Also more herbal flavors, mint and bay leaf. Earthy tones as well. Really aromatic. This expression was my favorite of the Creador lline-up. Approachable, drinkable, and complex. AP Mezcal? I say it is for a doctoral defense!

49.2% abv
Now this one is a banger. BBQ chips, mesquite, and cellophane on the nose. These are flavors that I could drink all day. Cream, pop rocks, rock candy, perfect black pepper heat. After getting more air, the flavors open up to toffee, rolo (the candy), caramel, and salt water taffy. Also more herbal flavors, mint and bay leaf. Earthy tones as well. Really aromatic. This expression was my favorite of the Creador lline-up. Approachable, drinkable, and complex. AP Mezcal? I say

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Nose – Brown sugar. Baked apples. Dates.

Palate – Banana cream. Cinnamon candy. Slight grassy note. Nice, slick texture. Booming tropical fruit finish. Premium juice!

Batch: JAME1122 49.4% ABV.

jackstraw

jackstraw

36 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

batch: JAME1122
abv: 49.2%

a fun and funky, exotic expression —
warm, overripe tropical fruits;
sweet baby ray’s BBQ;
vanilla; cough syrup
cocoa and cinnamon

review #25

tallchad

tallchad

111 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

“This one has got everything…”Remember Stefon, Bill Hader’s character on SNL? This Mexicano has so much going on I had to get a large notepad for all my thoughts.
This is amazing!
The aroma is really vibrant, a little funky, floral and some unusual things that I don’t have words for. Great!
The mouthfeel is very differetnt than the other Creador expressions–thick, oily and dark.
The taste is good and so different! It is complex and layered with grassy notes, a farmyard funk, leather, tobacco, dark molasses–but not sweet.
The finish is very nice with the flavors lingering and developing as you breathe.
This is an Advanced Placement mezcal. I could see some people not liking it as much as I do because of its uniqueness.
JAME1122

“This one has got everything…”Remember Stefon, Bill Hader’s character on SNL? This Mexicano has so much going on I had to get a large notepad for all my thoughts.
This is amazing!
The aroma is really vibrant, a little funky, floral and some unusual things that I don’t have words for. Great!
The mouthfeel is very differetnt than the other Creador expressions–thick, oily and dark.
The taste is good and so different! It is complex and layered with grassy notes

Read more
Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

49.2% abv, batch JAME1122

Review #96: Nose is bold. Cream cheese icing, vinegar, bbq sauce, raisin, plum, wine-y, cheddar jalapeno chips, and tart cherry. Palate has spoiled honeydew, vinegar, cooked fruits like cherry, raisin, plum, very wine like, earthy, cinnamon cake, and dark chocolate with a long finish.

I love this one. It reminds me so much of wine. The mix of fruits, the vinegar, the earthy notes, they all are coming together make this extraordinary. There’s such a punch of that tartness up front with a dark base that i really dig. Hands down my favorite of the creador samples that i had the pleasure of trying.

This sample was provided to me free of charge with no strings attached.

49.2% abv, batch JAME1122
Review #96: Nose is bold. Cream cheese icing, vinegar, bbq sauce, raisin, plum, wine-y, cheddar jalapeno chips, and tart cherry. Palate has spoiled honeydew, vinegar, cooked fruits like cherry, raisin, plum, very wine like, earthy, cinnamon cake, and dark chocolate with a long finish.
I love this one. It reminds me so much of wine. The mix of fruits, the vinegar, the earthy notes, they all are coming together make this extraordinary. There’s such a punch of that t

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

120 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch JAME1122

Nose: cream cheese icing, pineapple, tart cherries, subtle minerality underneath, mulch

Palate: cherry, fig jam, malted milk balls, back half is really unique, plenty of earth too, like someone spilled orange cream soda in topsoil, funky plum pudding, tons of clay softness in mouthfeel. Finish is cough syrup, licorice, fig pudding, mineral, baking spices

I really enjoy this. It’s unique complex and interesting. While the lumbre is approachable this is a bit more thought provoking and more of a mood pour for me. Solid.

Sample provided for me. This is my honest review and tasting notes.

Batch JAME1122
Nose: cream cheese icing, pineapple, tart cherries, subtle minerality underneath, mulch
Palate: cherry, fig jam, malted milk balls, back half is really unique, plenty of earth too, like someone spilled orange cream soda in topsoil, funky plum pudding, tons of clay softness in mouthfeel. Finish is cough syrup, licorice, fig pudding, mineral, baking spices
I really enjoy this. It’s unique complex and interesting. While the lumbre is approachable this is a bit more thought provokin

Read more
COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch JAME1122. This has an earthy, clay nose. On the palate, it immediately reminded me of a good tequila. It has flavors of vanilla, oak, and cinnamon. Like all the Creadors I’ve tried, it has a great long, full finish.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

JAME1122. Sweet, tropical, and spicy! Vanilla cupcakes, red hots, pineapple, lychee, mango, and carob. Delicious!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lote: JAME1122
Slightly creamy and candied sweetness on the nose.
Interesting taste….I don’t get a lot of the tanginess I normally associate with the clay distillation, although it’s there in the background. More candied sweetness…sweet-tarts, banana runts. Some chocolate, bitter cacao notes for sure along with a slightly yeasty/bread taste. Very intriguing mexicano!
Review #192

Jim's Drams

Jim's Drams

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Wow. The nose is earthy and herbal. Think of a meadow the morning after a storm. Palate is warm and sweet with cooked tropical fruits and cinnamon. A long finish is warm and complimented by those earthy notes from the bouquet. Batch JAME1122.

Tyler

Tyler

651 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Awesome Mexicano. These days it seems harder to find good Mexicano mezcals with those chocolate notes. Subtle cinnamon. Batch JAME0422. Jan 2021. Bottle 86/133.

Jonny

Jonny

709 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch JAME0422. Jan 2021. Aromas charred tropical fruits, over-chewed bubble gum, strawberry water, cucumber, and honey. The palate is full of honey and sweet breads. Additional notes of oats and fresh flowers. This is very sweet and floral.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top