Powered by 100% agave

Creador Lumbre + Espadin

Creador Lumbre + Espadin is a 50/50 ensamble of these two distinct Agave angustifolia varietals.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Creador Agave Spirits
Mezcalero:José Alberto Pablo
Maguey:Espadin, Lumbre
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Bernardo Mixtepec
ABV: 48.3%
Batch size: Lot JAEN1122: 600 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.creadorspirits.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Creador Lumbre + Espadin is an ensamble of these two Agave angustifolia varietals. Maestro José Alberto pairs these two agaves and uses a 50/50 mix to highlight the characteristics of each one. The agaves are harvested and then cooked together in el horno for 3-5 days. They are milled together by hand, and also fermented and then distilled together, making them a blend from the start of the process until the finish. Both agaves were cultivated in San Bernardo Mixtepec.

Batch JAEN1122 is a 600 liter release that combines two productions from March and May 2022. Each production produced 440 and 420 liters respectively.

Creador Agave Spirits

Creador Agave Spirits seeks out independent family producers who have little to no representation outside of their local markets – producers who want to make a transition to full-time production of destilado and need help getting their agave spirits to market.

Creador strives to support palenqueros and their communities by providing autonomy for the producers, as well as fair pricing. The company does not contractually obligate producers, nor negotiate price – what the palenqueros ask, they pay, and the company will advise if they think the spirits are underpriced. Creador profit-shares with the producers, providing transparency into the complex economics of selling spirits into the tiered alcohol-distribution systems prevalent in the US.

Creador translates to “creator” and is an homage to the artisan creators of agave spirits, and a tribute to the creators and makers in us all. De la mano y el corazón – from the hand and the heart.

You can now order Creador directly to your door.

Member rating

4 out of 5

10 reviews

JDB

JDB

165 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

48.3% abv

Compared to the espadin capon, this expression is much more interesting and tasty. The nose has butter, apple, candlvwax, rich light smoke from a hardwood, and tobacco leaf. The nose was really enjoyable and captivating. The flavors are well-integrated and balanced. A bit tangy with sweet and nutty flavors. Some more of that buttery quality, baked cookies, and preserved lemon. I know that term smooth gets tossed around with spirits a bit too much, but this was smooth in the sense of the first sip to last taste did not have any sharp or harsh notes, just layers of flavor and enjoyment. Big thumbs up. Interesting variation in others’ tasting notes, but some commonalities as well.

48.3% abv
Compared to the espadin capon, this expression is much more interesting and tasty. The nose has butter, apple, candlvwax, rich light smoke from a hardwood, and tobacco leaf. The nose was really enjoyable and captivating. The flavors are well-integrated and balanced. A bit tangy with sweet and nutty flavors. Some more of that buttery quality, baked cookies, and preserved lemon. I know that term smooth gets tossed around with spirits a bit too much, but this was smooth in the sense

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Nose – Baked Granny Smith apple slices. Slightly, pleasantly sour. Clay aroma.

Palate – Milk chocolate mousse. Brown sugar. Subtly sour. Oak ember. Sprite soda. Soft, medium viscosity. Feels like a 43-44% ABV heat wise but clocks in at 48.3%. Full flavor just less heat, very nice!

Batch JAEN1122, Bottle 22/782.

jackstraw

jackstraw

31 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

batch: JAEN1122
bottle: 22/782
abv: 48.3%

dangerously smooth —
floral / tea notes; citrus
milk bar’s crack pie;
leather; clay

review #27

tallchad

tallchad

103 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

This is a wonderful ensamble. I like it far better than the straight espadín, and maybe a scotch less than the straight lumbre. The espadín does give it some more exciting flavors.
Aroma is great with creamy clay, berries and a whiff of baby powder.
The taste is very good and balanced, slight sweetness and good heat–but not as Red Hot spicy as the straight espadín.
Finish is ok/good with some pepper, light smoke and a slight bitterness as the finish cools.
JAEN1122

This is a wonderful ensamble. I like it far better than the straight espadín, and maybe a scotch less than the straight lumbre. The espadín does give it some more exciting flavors.
Aroma is great with creamy clay, berries and a whiff of baby powder.
The taste is very good and balanced, slight sweetness and good heat–but not as Red Hot spicy as the straight espadín.
Finish is ok/good with some pepper, light smoke and a slight bitterness as the finish cools.
JAEN1122

Read more
Jam

Jam

149 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

48.3% abv, JAEN1122

Review #95: nose has pine, forest floor, cotton candle, vanilla, lemon oil, paint, orange oils, lemongrass, and lemon scented sharpie. Palate is more paint, cream, fresh orange, wet clay, raspberry, lemongrass, moss, and black pepper.

There are a lot of similarities that you can notice in this from the lumbre and espadin. I think the lumbre notes are more dominant here, adding to the soft nature of everything. It’s just missing some of my more favorable notes i found in the lumbre and espadin seperately. I found this to lack intensity but it’s flavors are definitely very enjoyable.

This sample was provided to me free of charge with no strings attached.

48.3% abv, JAEN1122
Review #95: nose has pine, forest floor, cotton candle, vanilla, lemon oil, paint, orange oils, lemongrass, and lemon scented sharpie. Palate is more paint, cream, fresh orange, wet clay, raspberry, lemongrass, moss, and black pepper.
There are a lot of similarities that you can notice in this from the lumbre and espadin. I think the lumbre notes are more dominant here, adding to the soft nature of everything. It’s just missing some of my more favorable notes i found in

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

109 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch JAEN112.

Nose: earthy, mineral, soil, some underlying vanilla tones, marshmellow

Palate: buttery notes others mentioned, powdered sugar, vanilla, perfectly ripe honeydew, sweet mango cream, coconut. Finish brings a bit of berry, same citrus bitterness, lemongrass, vegetal elements.

Really nice. For me the Lumbre on its own wins the group but this is a solid and crushable ensamble. Where the others felt driven at times by the clay this one was not. Good stuff.

This sample was provided to me. Notes and review are my honest opinion.

Batch JAEN112.
Nose: earthy, mineral, soil, some underlying vanilla tones, marshmellow
Palate: buttery notes others mentioned, powdered sugar, vanilla, perfectly ripe honeydew, sweet mango cream, coconut. Finish brings a bit of berry, same citrus bitterness, lemongrass, vegetal elements.
Really nice. For me the Lumbre on its own wins the group but this is a solid and crushable ensamble. Where the others felt driven at times by the clay this one was not. Good stuff.
This sample was provided to me

Read more
COak

COak

228 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch JAEN1122
The nose has clay and sugar cane. On the palate it starts out earthy and tobacco then has a finishing punch of sweet espadin and red berries. It’s a nice 50/50 ensemble showing both expressions.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

JAEN1122. This is my favorite of the four Creador expressions that I have tried. It’s very similar to the Lumbre but the Espadin really completes it. So complex! This is one to sip on and contemplate. It’s got all these great leathery and musty and aromatic flavors but at the very end there’s this beautiful deep sweetness, probably from the Espadin. A beautiful work of art.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

209 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lote: JAEN1122
Comparing this with the pure Lumbre expression, which is fun as you can really tell the espadin influence.
Similar notes to the Lumbre, but everything is just more subdued. There’s an added buttery sweetness that has to be from the espadin. Leathery notes with tropical fruit. In someways not as layered or complex, but I think I like it slightly better (a full mouth, warmth feel to it). 4.25 stars.
Review #195

Jim's Drams

Jim's Drams

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

On the nose I get some earthy clay notes, light-colored fruit and a hint of black pepper and spice. The palate is a mix of sweet and sour primarily with notes of red berries. A warm finish finish rounds out a pleasant example of the influence clay can have on Mezcal. Batch JAEN1122.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top