Powered by 100% agave

Dos Hombres Espadin

Dos Hombres Mezcal is a brand founded by Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston of the TV series Breaking Bad, in which they played Jesse Pinkman and Walter White.

Rating: (15 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Dos Hombres Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O637X
Holograms:1573A0002609A
Mezcalero:Gregorio Velasco Luis
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis del Rio
ABV: 42%
Release year: 2019
Website: https://www.doshombres.com/
About this mezcal

Dos Hombres Mezcal is made with agave Espadin in San Luis del Rio, Oaxaca. The agave used in this mezcal are cooked in underground pit ovens, milled by horse-drawn tahona, fermented for 7-10 days with mountain spring water, and double distilled in copper stills. As founders, Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston (from Breaking Bad) put it “We started Dos Hombres to create a Mezcal that we thought was perfect. A unique blend of the finest Espadin agave, hand-selected from the hillsides of a small village in Oaxaca, Mexico.” According to their website, this mezcal has notes of “apples, mango, local fruits, wood, and smooth smoke.”

Dos Hombres Mezcal

Dos Hombres Mezcal was founded by Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston, who starred in the hit TV show Breaking Bad as Jesse Pinkman and Walter White. The brand was officially launched in July of 2019, and it remains unclear if the brand will expand their portfolio or keep the single Joven mezcal as their only offering.

 

Conan Sips Aaron Paul & Bryan Cranston’s Mezcal – CONAN on TBS

15 reviews

2.53 out of 5


Brooklynmezcal

Brooklynmezcal

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 days ago

This is by far the best mezcal I have had recently.

TheMezcalSpectrum

TheMezcalSpectrum

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Excellent Mezcal and I’m glad I was able to pick up a few bottles. The notes on this include mango and a lingering smokiness that isn’t overwhelming or too pungent. This is nice and I highly recommend to new or experienced Mezcal drinkers.

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose is slightly sweet mostly rubbing alcohol, some smoke. Taste is about the same little nutty finish, decent heat for 42%. Hard to find a worse drink for half the price. DH-009 0637x

AdrianM

AdrianM

11 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Petrol smell and a lot of smoke. Some floral and citrus hints. Entry level mezcal. Would only mix with it, but not sip neat. For the price, way better and more complex mezcal options out there.

gcat911

gcat911

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

My favorite mezcal right now – the mango notes are incredible.

Wild Common

Wild Common

10 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Watered down, burnt rubber, flat. Much better options that are more traditional and higher quality for the price.

Jonah Dempcy

Jonah Dempcy

2 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Mezcal has such a wide range of flavors, and this is in the lower middle end. Rubber ducky, sadly not that great.

Tyler

Tyler

437 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

It’s not terrible but it costs ~$60 for a 42% ABV Espadin which is a bit expensive… hopefully the mezcalero and his team are getting a lot of the profits. Celebrity mezcals seem to be overpriced and underwhelming. That said, it is better than Casamigos. I get light smoke, vanilla syrup, lemon cream, and eucalyptus. It could be a decent recommendation for spirit sipping newbies since it is lower proof and not a smoke bomb. Batch DH-001, bottle #5252.

If you like this, check out Legendario Domingo Espadin from Oaxaca (orange label). It is the same mezcalero, Gregorio Valasco, but at 48% and half the cost! It is unfortunate that Dos Hombres doesn’t credit their mezcalero on the label or their website. Dec. 2020 update – they credit Gregorio Velasco on the Tobala page of the official website!

It’s not terrible but it costs ~$60 for a 42% ABV Espadin which is a bit expensive… hopefully the mezcalero and his team are getting a lot of the profits. Celebrity mezcals seem to be overpriced and underwhelming. That said, it is better than Casamigos. I get light smoke, vanilla syrup, lemon cream, and eucalyptus. It could be a decent recommendation for spirit sipping newbies since it is lower proof and not a smoke bomb. Batch DH-001, bottle #5252.
If you like this, check out Legend

Read more
Ltp93

Ltp93

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

This stuff is absolutely phenomenal. Anyone who doesn’t appreciate its incredible smoky yet smooth flavor can leave more for me. It is quickly becoming my favorite mezcal and perhaps my drink of choice overall. Not to mention, it has a different ‘drunkness’ to it, very euphoric. No hangover whatsoever with this stuff. Ever. Clean as a whistle.

tallchad

tallchad

25 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Although I have heard this is “smooth smoke” I am still having trouble getting past the overly strong smoke taste. I keep hoping for the “apples, mango and other fruits” listed in the description but no. It is still good (anything breaking bad is good). But not a lot happening for me.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

81 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

I’ve had this several times, and have had different experiences for each. In general it’s always on the lighter side (definitely tastes a bit light with a low ABV of 42%), but has some sweeter notes with a stronger alcohol finish. I wouldn’t call it watery, but it’s close. I won’t buy another bottle (it carries a high price tag for a lower ABV espadin), but would sip it in a pinch. (Afterthought: Great bottle (one of my favorite actually), and label. Also, I’m a fan of Breaking Bad, and so I tried not to be biased when tasting. It’s also hard not to see a bit of a money grab here . . .ie what Clooney did with CasaMigos. I don’t think B.C. knew what mezcal was before Aaron had the idea 😉

I’ve had this several times, and have had different experiences for each. In general it’s always on the lighter side (definitely tastes a bit light with a low ABV of 42%), but has some sweeter notes with a stronger alcohol finish. I wouldn’t call it watery, but it’s close. I won’t buy another bottle (it carries a high price tag for a lower ABV espadin), but would sip it in a pinch. (Afterthought: Great bottle (one of my favorite actually), and label. Also, I

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

480 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

I realize it’s cooler to hate celebrity mezcals than it is to NOT hate them. But I don’t hate this at all. I’ve had a ton of stuff from the producer, Gregorio Valasco, through Piedre Almas and other brands, and he makes solid mezcal. Yes, this Dos Hombres is a little lighter, with lower ABV than I typically look for in a sipper, but it’s got some character. It’s floral on the nose with hints of lemon and lavendar aromas. The palate, as mentioned, is light, but it’s got hints of vanilla and brown sugar. There’s a celebrity price tag on the shelf for this, which is unfortunate, but I suppose all those great Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston Instagram pics won’t pay for themselves 😉

I realize it’s cooler to hate celebrity mezcals than it is to NOT hate them. But I don’t hate this at all. I’ve had a ton of stuff from the producer, Gregorio Valasco, through Piedre Almas and other brands, and he makes solid mezcal. Yes, this Dos Hombres is a little lighter, with lower ABV than I typically look for in a sipper, but it’s got some character. It’s floral on the nose with hints of lemon and lavendar aromas. The palate, as mentioned, is light, but it

Read more
CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

13 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Tastes very watered down. Not great. Watered down aspect does make it drinkable for beginners.

Batch: DH-005

POMBO

POMBO

5 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Tried this at a mezcal bar in NYC. Very weak, no body, tastes similar to Casamigos – watered down mezcal

squingilly

squingilly

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Thoroughly dissapointed.
expected much more. it has an extremely anticeptic quality to it.
at that price point ,there are much better options

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top