Powered by 100% agave

Dos Hombres Espadin

Dos Hombres Mezcal is a brand founded by Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston of the TV series Breaking Bad, in which they played Jesse Pinkman and Walter White.

About this mezcal

Dos Hombres Mezcal is made with agave Espadin in San Luis del Rio, Oaxaca. The agave used in this mezcal are cooked in underground pit ovens, milled by horse-drawn tahona, fermented for 7-10 days with mountain spring water, and double distilled in copper stills. As founders, Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston (from Breaking Bad) put it “We started Dos Hombres to create a Mezcal that we thought was perfect. A unique blend of the finest Espadin agave, hand-selected from the hillsides of a small village in Oaxaca, Mexico.” According to their website, this mezcal has notes of “apples, mango, local fruits, wood, and smooth smoke.”

Dos Hombres Mezcal

Dos Hombres Mezcal was founded by Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston, who starred in the hit TV show Breaking Bad as Jesse Pinkman and Walter White. The brand was officially launched in July 2019 with an Espadin. In December 2020, a limited-release Tobala was unveiled for over $300 per bottle.

In June 2021, it was announced that Constellation Brands purchased a minority stake in Dos Hombres.

Learn more:

  • Watch Aaron and Brian talk about mezcalero Gregorio and “wanting [his family] to be part owners” in a Total Wine virtual tasting in July 2020.

 

Conan Sips Aaron Paul & Bryan Cranston’s Mezcal – CONAN on TBS

Member rating

2.39 out of 5

28 reviews

Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Wholeheartedly disappointed in this tequila. Tastes like tire rubber, description is wildly inaccurate, and it is priced over its value. I wanted this to be better.

Elmhursttony

Elmhursttony

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

I think this is a decent mezcal. it’s a little somkey buy not overwhelming, Sweet in the beganing with agave and earthy but wet earth. there are leggs and tears and a little peppery finish. for a celeb mezcal i was truly suprised. this is a blend and you can tell they did their homework and worked with the right people to guide them.

ChangoBababooey

ChangoBababooey

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Literally the worst alcoholic beverage I have ever tasted. It was mediciny and offputting. Before reading the reviews here I thought that my bottle (DH-38 14453) had been adulterated. An absolute waste of $50.

Fintan

Fintan

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Tastes like hand sanitizer.

dontblake

dontblake

4 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

DH-27 Bottle #1669

Appearance
Color: water white
Viscosity: thin
Legs: film turns to faint legs and drops

Aroma
Fruity up front, notes of sweet caramelized agave. Light alcohol
Flavor
Agave: med light, roasty agave, light floral notes
Alcohol. Spicy, med light
Smoke: light phenol, smooth
Finish: light agave, spicy alcohol
Balance more to alcohol then agave

Mouthfeel
Body: thin
Alcohol: slight sting on the tongue and back of the palate

Overall
A good mescal, but lacking complexity. would be good in a cocktail
3/5

DH-27 Bottle #1669
Appearance
Color: water white
Viscosity: thin
Legs: film turns to faint legs and drops
Aroma
Fruity up front, notes of sweet caramelized agave. Light alcohol
Flavor
Agave: med light, roasty agave, light floral notes
Alcohol. Spicy, med light
Smoke: light phenol, smooth
Finish: light agave, spicy alcohol
Balance more to alcohol then agave
Mouthfeel
Body: thin
Alcohol: slight sting on the tongue and back of the palate
Overall
A good mescal, but lacking complexity. would

Read more
thomaselliott

thomaselliott

14 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch #OA-14
Bottle #3186

This is enjoyable as a sipper. It has sufficient complexity to keep things interesting if not a bit on the pricey side for a cultivated espadin.

This smells of apples and citrus fruits, mixed in with the scents of cooked and partly burned agave. Slight smells of softwood from the pine vats in which it was fermented.

Tasting this on a hot afternoon, you get that first hit of smoke or of burnt agave and then follows up with apples and a sticky sweetness of mango. The cooking process of roasting the agave in volcanic stone ovens using firewood, makes for for this brunt agave and a smokey flavour that sticks around for a while. There’s a certain viscosity of this espadin that is welcome and the mouth feel is a light oil coating on your cheeks which keeps these flavors around for a few minutes after each sip.

Batch #OA-14
Bottle #3186
This is enjoyable as a sipper. It has sufficient complexity to keep things interesting if not a bit on the pricey side for a cultivated espadin.
This smells of apples and citrus fruits, mixed in with the scents of cooked and partly burned agave. Slight smells of softwood from the pine vats in which it was fermented.
Tasting this on a hot afternoon, you get that first hit of smoke or of burnt agave and then follows up with apples and a sticky sweetness of mango. The

Read more
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I re washed my margaritas glass and mixer thinking the burnt rubber taste was my fault. It’s the tequila…this is awful omg

tecolotesweet

tecolotesweet

14 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Standard espadín. Really smoky in the front that tapers off into a vegetal sweetness in the back. Not a lot of depth here, but the finish is good enough, that I would probably order this over a standard DMV. Far from the worst celebrity mezcal (looking at you Casamigos).

Justin.Anderson3

Justin.Anderson3

14 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

It’s the best celebrity mezcal I’ve had. It’s not terrible but it’s very generic. The typical overly Smokey mezcal but has some sweet notes to it

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch #: DH-15
Nose – Fresh citrusy orange. Slight creaminess to it. Very little smoke.

Palate – Mandarin orange. Icing sugar. Great mouth feel – coats really nice. Tasty smoke and salinity in the finish. For 42% ABV this has a bunch of flavor and a nice warmth to it in the belly.

I got this for $50 in California which is getting closer to where it should be. For a “celebrity mezcal” this is pretty good – this absolutely blows Casamigos Mezcal out of the water.

Batch #: DH-15
Nose – Fresh citrusy orange. Slight creaminess to it. Very little smoke.
Palate – Mandarin orange. Icing sugar. Great mouth feel – coats really nice. Tasty smoke and salinity in the finish. For 42% ABV this has a bunch of flavor and a nice warmth to it in the belly.
I got this for $50 in California which is getting closer to where it should be. For a “celebrity mezcal” this is pretty good – this absolutely blows Casamigos Mezcal out of the wate

Read more
Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Sweet, cotton candy and citrus notes and vanilla. Fine.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

40 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I agree with the other reviews that describe this as underwhelming. It’s not a bad mezcal, and has the expected basics. That said, it tastes diluted at 42% ABV, and for what it costs there is a litany of joven Espadins to go to first. Batch #OH-101. Bottle #4001.

GhostCat92626

GhostCat92626

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This has become one of my favorite mezcal’s. The subtle smoke and hints of mango make it perfect in so many cocktails. Anything from squirt/mezcal to a Oaxaca Old Fashion or even over ice. I’m a huge fan and can’t wait to taste their new varietal, Tobala.

Brooklynmezcal

Brooklynmezcal

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This is by far the best mezcal I have had recently.

TheMezcalSpectrum

TheMezcalSpectrum

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Excellent Mezcal and I’m glad I was able to pick up a few bottles. The notes on this include mango and a lingering smokiness that isn’t overwhelming or too pungent. This is nice and I highly recommend to new or experienced Mezcal drinkers.

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nose is slightly sweet mostly rubbing alcohol, some smoke. Taste is about the same little nutty finish, decent heat for 42%. Hard to find a worse drink for half the price. DH-009 0637x

AdrianM

AdrianM

19 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Petrol smell and a lot of smoke. Some floral and citrus hints. Entry level mezcal. Would only mix with it, but not sip neat. For the price, way better and more complex mezcal options out there.

gcat911

gcat911

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

My favorite mezcal right now – the mango notes are incredible.

Wild Common

Wild Common

10 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Watered down, burnt rubber, flat. Much better options that are more traditional and higher quality for the price.

Jonah Dempcy

Jonah Dempcy

2 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Mezcal has such a wide range of flavors, and this is in the lower middle end. Rubber ducky, sadly not that great.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top