Powered by 100% agave

Farolito Penca Verde

Farolito Penca Verde is made by maestro Valentin Celis, who has been making mezcal for In Situ Mezcaleria in Oaxaca City for many years.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:Farolito Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O366X
Mezcalero:Valentin Celis
Agave / Maguey:Sp
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Zimatlan
ABV: 45.39%
Website: https://www.insitumezcaleria.com/
About this mezcal

Farolito Penca Verde is made with agave Penca Verde; on the bottle it is labeled as ‘Agave Sp’ which means it is an unclassified species. This mezcal is made by maestro mezcalero Valentin Celis in Zimatlan, Oaxaca. Once cooked and crushed, the agave are fermented in clay pots, and then distilled in a small clay pot still. A different batch of this was imported into the US in 2014 under the Wahaka VdM brand. We tasted it as part of our blog Wahaka VdM at The Pastry War (see the Oaxaca – Penca Verde entry). The initial Farolito batch imported into the US was 702 bottles.

Farolito Mezcal

Farolito Mezcal is the exported brand from the renowned In Situ Mezcaleria in Oaxaca City. All of the mezcal in the mezcaleria, as well as the mezcal bottled under the Farolito brand, are curated by mezcal legend Ulises Torrentera. Ulises has spent the last couple decades touring palenques of the different regions of Oaxaca and beyond. He is also the author of Mezcalaria and other emblematic books about Mezcal.

7 reviews

4.36 out of 5


t8ke

t8ke

90 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Phenomenal – one of the best Mezcals I’ve had in some time. This profile was lovely, a perfect blend of sweet, vegetal and tangy fruits.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot PV00-11042017, distilled April 2017. Departing from the unanimous praise from earlier tasters, this was rather a disappointment for me at a blind tasting. I find it a bit insipid, with a perfume-like sweetness dominating the palate.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Nose: almost a little lacking, especially compared to the huge taste on this. Only the slightest hint of woodsmoke on the nose, and then just soft sugar and almost a really distant lavender.

Palate: sooo sweet and juicy. Honey, lavender, big citrus, more honey, and then just a perfectly balanced smoked meat. This is the honey glazed burnt end of mezcal.

Finish: lingering sugar, I’m drooling. Slight drying on the top center of the tongue, but nothing to at all remind you that this is a spirit proofed over 90. This bottle could disappear quick if I didn’t keep it tucked back.

Nose: almost a little lacking, especially compared to the huge taste on this. Only the slightest hint of woodsmoke on the nose, and then just soft sugar and almost a really distant lavender.
Palate: sooo sweet and juicy. Honey, lavender, big citrus, more honey, and then just a perfectly balanced smoked meat. This is the honey glazed burnt end of mezcal.
Finish: lingering sugar, I’m drooling. Slight drying on the top center of the tongue, but nothing to at all remind you that this is a sp

Read more
Jordan

Jordan

8 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Tried this at Mexico in a Bottle in Denver and went back for more twice. It was my favorite of the day of a lot of great stuff. Plenty of earth and must but really easy to drink. Very distinct and long aftertaste that kept me coming back for more.

Tyler

Tyler

395 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Enjoyed this a lot. Distilled and fermented in clay. Have had others from this producer at In Situ and they are delicious. The Penca Verde reminded me of an old leather book along with lemony brine. Need to try more. This batch was the first one imported into the US.

Joseph

Joseph

22 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I’m a huge fan of Valentin Celis’ mezcals. I get aromas/flavors of tobacco, barnyard, clay, earth must, fermented/roasted agave, smoke, & honey. It is remarkably distinct, and the flavor just hangs around on your palate for quite some time.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

193 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very strange… musty smell, like mothballs mixed with mulch. Tastes like an army surplus smells. Perfect finish that lingers like sweet woodsmoke in a bbq joint. Enjoyable

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top