Powered by 100% agave

Flor del Desierto Sierra

Flor del Desierto Sierra sotol is made by Jose Armando Fernandez Flores is made from Dasylirion Wheeleri grown and distilled in the Madera region of Chihuahua.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Sotol
Brand:Flor del Desierto Sotol
Sotolero:Jose Armando Fernandez Flores
Dasylirion:Wheeleri
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Chihuahua
Town:Madera
ABV: 47.5%
Age of plant: 18-25 years
Website: https://www.instagram.com/sotolflordeldesierto/
About this sotol

Flor del Desierto Sierra is made by Jose Armando Fernandez Flores is made from Dasylirion Wheeleri grown and distilled in the Madera region of Chihuahua. The plants are cooked in shallow pits fueled by oak firewood, shredded by axe, knife and finally cow stomping before being open-air fermented in wood tanks and distilled in clay.

See what our friends at Three Minute Tasting had to say about this one: S1:E19 Flor Del Desierto Sierra Sotol Review

Flor del Desierto Sotol

Flor del Desierto began in 2011 by a small group of friends after one of them, Flor, won a baking competition using sotol as the special ingredient. All sotol plants, also known as the desert spoon or sereque, are wild-harvested in the Coyame Desert and mountains of Madera. Each one of Flor del Desierto's Sotols are distinguished by the region they’re produced in, the stills where they are distilled and the hands of each sotol maker, whose own techniques and years of experience give their spirits a unique character.

 

Three Minute Tasting by Show de Vie

9 reviews

4.28 out of 5


pallzley

pallzley

14 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose and finish is living butter lettuce. Really green and vegetal throughout. Palate is darker meaty greens like delicious perfectly cooked asparagus, and white pepper. Finish of bright green agave-like peppers, clove, and a touch of cilantro. Heat is low for being 45% abv even nicer than some gentle 40% stuff. Aftertaste is long but subtle and can only be tasted if exhaled mouth closed through my nose. The butter lettuce finish is what keeps me sipping it, quirky but pleasant. Not exactly my flavor profile, but am still impressed and happy I went with it.

Nose and finish is living butter lettuce. Really green and vegetal throughout. Palate is darker meaty greens like delicious perfectly cooked asparagus, and white pepper. Finish of bright green agave-like peppers, clove, and a touch of cilantro. Heat is low for being 45% abv even nicer than some gentle 40% stuff. Aftertaste is long but subtle and can only be tasted if exhaled mouth closed through my nose. The butter lettuce finish is what keeps me sipping it, quirky but pleasant. Not exactly my f

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

198 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

AA006. Overpowering clay, like drinking out of a raw clay mug that hadn’t been fired yet. Very dry. Strong sandalwood flavor, mint, menthol, cinnamon, clove, allspice.

Patrick

Patrick

31 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot : AA006/633
ABV : 45%
Nose : one word “GREEN”. Like sticking your head in Garden. Lettuce, rosemary, basil and spearmint dominant.
Taste : Very elegant, brings everything on the nose in focus. The clay distillation perfectly rounds out it’s rough edges.
Finish : sits on your palette forever..
Magical..

Jordan

Jordan

9 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

First bottle I had was 47.5% (lot 5) but I picked up a second bottle at Astor in NYC and it’s 45%. Very enveloping and rich, river rocks and clay. Not the most complex thing but the few notes it hits are fantastic.

kozinnski

kozinnski

14 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

note: chalk, limestone, sandalwood, white pepper, eucalyptus, dry earth

palate: full, rich mouthfeel. a green sweetness or a sweet greenness? licorice, more white pepper, a touch of bitterness. lots of subtle flavors, nothing too huge, but in a pleasant way.

long, lingering finish. really like this.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

211 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of best sotols ive has. Spoiler alert: ive only had 9-10. Very little bite, earth and rubber tire on the nose, herb garden on the palate… very smooth and short finish. Nice

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Minerally and woody, advantage over the rest of their lineup.

Tyler

Tyler

415 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Fruity pepper with notes of thai chili and galangal. Agree with the other review that this might be my new favorite sotol. Didn’t catch the batch info unfortunately but will be hunting down a bottle for myself soon.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

101 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch AA01, bottle 456. 45%ABV.

Appearance: Quicker legs, thinner. Slowly more beads form and drop.
Nose: More vegetal green nose for a sotol. Definitely hits with some sage, basil, aniseed, fennel, genepi, tangerine, chlorophyll, orgeat. Some vague walnut, spearmint, Zirbenz, white pepper. Nice sweetness on the tongue, wow. Great mouthfeel and control of ABV. Greenness and sweetness are there. “Hot rain on cement” minerality I get in most sotols is present but subdued. Smoke is generally low and dry, adding tickles of pepperyness. Finish is long and satisfying, showing off the anise side of the profile.

Might be my new favorite sotol – wow. Great stuff! Can’t wait to follow more from this producer. Fans of Mezcalero Joel Barriga’s Espadin would probably love this.

Batch AA01, bottle 456. 45%ABV.
Appearance: Quicker legs, thinner. Slowly more beads form and drop.
Nose: More vegetal green nose for a sotol. Definitely hits with some sage, basil, aniseed, fennel, genepi, tangerine, chlorophyll, orgeat. Some vague walnut, spearmint, Zirbenz, white pepper. Nice sweetness on the tongue, wow. Great mouthfeel and control of ABV. Greenness and sweetness are there. “Hot rain on cement” minerality I get in most sotols is present but subdued. Smoke is generally lo

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top