Powered by 100% agave

Ilegal Joven

Ilegal Joven is ideal for cocktails and perfect to be sipped on its own. It has deep agave aromas, and hints of green apple, citrus and white pepper.

Rating: (15 reviews)
Brand:Ilegal Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O01X, NOM-O305X, NOM-O423X
Mezcalero:Alvaro Hernandez, Armando Hernandez, Eric Hernandez
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper, Steel
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Tlacolula
ABV: 40%
Website: http://www.ilegalmezcal.com/
About this mezcal

Ilegal Joven is unaged, which sets it apart from Ilegal reposado and Ilegal anejo which are aged. It has deep agave aromas, and hints of green apple, citrus and white pepper. There is a lingering heat and sweet agave feel. This Mezcal is ideal for cocktails and perfect to be sipped on its own.

Ilegal Mezcal

Ilegal Mezcal was founded by John Rexer, who began smuggling this product to his Bar, Cafe No Se, in Antigua, Guatemala. Ilegal Mezcal launched in 2005, and the brand has grown substantially in recent years. It had a very successful marketing campaign around the phrase "Donald eres un Pendejo" in 2016 for the US election, and Bacardi purchased an undisclosed amount of minority shares in the company in February of 2017. Ilegal Mezcal is 100% handcrafted using Agave Espadin that is roasted / baked using mesquite and eucalyptus wood. The cooked Agave is then finely crushed and fermented in oak vats. It is then double distilled in small copper stills. Though Eric Hernandez was originally involved in the distillation, all Ilegal Mezcal is now made by Alvaro and Armando Hernandez.

Review: Ilegal Mezcal on Drinkhacker

15 reviews

3.1 of out 5 stars


AgaveNerd101

AgaveNerd101

7 reviews
2 weeks ago

My favorite part of tasting any mezcal is first smelling it and I get little to nothing on the nose here. I would have liked to have gotten an over cooked agave bouquet. Although, the flavor holds up in cocktails if you are looking for a muted amount of smoke. This to me is a good product in the “entry level” category.

Dracarys

Dracarys

3 reviews
1 month ago

It’s true what they say, don’t judge a book by the cover. Nothing special about this product. The packaging is nice, the price is high, and I’m sure people new to the mezcal world will be tricked into thinking this is a high-end mezcal. It’s my least favorite to date, but I wouldn’t turn it down if offered; it’s still mezcal!

Yocos

Yocos

6 reviews
6 months ago

Clean, lightly Smokey, very pure agave flavors.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

101 reviews
7 months ago

Meh.

Mateospirit

Mateospirit

8 reviews
9 months ago

This Mezcal is an exquisite spirit. If I could give half stars I would have rated this 4.5 if possible. Rough and refined at the same time. This is rock and roll to me smoke, energy, sweet vanilla creaminess. This one is great drinking neat at a bonfire with friends and fAmily under the stars and is also equally as good in a mixed drink. This one has a persona. Lite leather lite warming woods. CleAn with just a ghost of earthiness. 🤘

LosMuertos

LosMuertos

32 reviews
10 months ago

Not bad but nothing I would buy again. Nose is very perfumed/floral. Plus agave and mild smoke.

Scent: 2/5
Mouthfeel: 2/5

rsidrys

rsidrys

16 reviews
1 year ago

This is the second mezcal I ever tried. There’s citrus, mild smoke, and eucalyptus on the nose. Taste has those qualities with the addition of vanilla, almost as though it was barrel aged. The finish fades rather quickly.

I really liked it when I first had it and would have probably given it a 4 at the time, but after experiencing more complex mezcal that lingers on the palate, this one is a bit too “shallow” and short for me. It’s a good option for those who are smoke-averse.

This is the second mezcal I ever tried. There’s citrus, mild smoke, and eucalyptus on the nose. Taste has those qualities with the addition of vanilla, almost as though it was barrel aged. The finish fades rather quickly.
I really liked it when I first had it and would have probably given it a 4 at the time, but after experiencing more complex mezcal that lingers on the palate, this one is a bit too “shallow” and short for me. It’s a good option for those who are smoke-a

Read more
JRB

JRB

11 reviews
1 year ago

Ilegal Joven Mezcal / 80 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Rather light agave in the front of the palate, then in the back of my throat I get heat and smoke aftertaste – strange finish that I have not noticed with any other mezcal. Not bad, but I really couldn’t get into it. (Lot 36, bottle 2126/7000)

namespayne

namespayne

4 reviews
1 year ago

Floral, dry fruit, light on smoke, fairly complex and long on the finish. Doesn’t smack you like a 45%-50% abv juice does, but it’s a gem for the price.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
2 years ago

i agree with another review.the repo and anejo are great.this one is good.perfect for an evening opener.its best to have a fresh pallete to enjoy the subtle notes.the nose is mild with agave and baked sugar.the taste is vanilla,agave and mild green pepper.no smoke or deep flavor but is justified by price.nice flavor but is short.good quality and have no problem sipping.can be overshadowed by more complex (and expensive) mezcals.

2 years ago

Kind of boring. I bought a bottle of this because of good reviews. If smoky mezcals are your thing look elsewhere. This one is is light and at least initially a hair astringent. Also, quite floral but not especially sweet. If light and floral appeal to you it might be a good fit but at least my batch had an astringent quality that no one would desire.

Tyler

Tyler

283 reviews
2 years ago

This soft mezcal goes down easy at 40% ABV. Slightly floral on the nose. There are notes of vanilla and pepper. This is a good mezcal to give people new to the spirit who are also not used to drinking liquor neat. It tastes a bit watered down for my taste. Other mezcals do this but manage to retain more complex flavors. This is a decent mezcal to start the night with; if you drink a robust high-ABV mezcal and then return to this you will be disappointed.

Jonny

Jonny

301 reviews
2 years ago

Citrus and smoky on the nose. Tasting notes of apple and dates. There’s a good amount of fruit in this, but it doesn’t overpower the rich taste of cooked Agave. This mezcal would get three stars as a sipper, as I prefer to sip their Reposado and Anejo. But it gets four stars as a mixer.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
2 years ago

Very neutral with a smooth finish. 4 stars on value

Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
3 years ago

It burns so good. This full body mezcal definitely lingers in the best way possible.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews