Powered by 100% agave

Ixcateco Papalome

Ixcateco Papalome is produced using rawhide fermentation in the community of Santa Maria Ixcatlan, Oaxaca.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$
Brand:Ixcateco
Mezcalero:Amando Alvarez
Maguey:Papalome
Agave:Cupreata
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa María Ixcatlán
ABV: 46.1%
Batch size: Batch AMA-01: 266 bottles
Website: https://www.ixcateco.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Ixcateco Papalome is produced by Amando Alvarado Alvarez and others in the small community of Santa Maria Ixcatlan, Oaxaca. The cooked agaves are milled by hand with wooden mallets, fermented in old cow rawhides that are strung over wooden posts to create a hanging rawhide sack, and double distilled in small clay pot stills. This mezcal is as rustic and traditional as it gets.

Ixcateco

Ixcateco represents the local traditions, customs and ancestral techniques that have been preserved for centuries as part of the production of mezcal. Ixcateco seeks to become a medium for the development of social and cultural projects, to promote environmental responsibility for producers and consumers, and to dignify one of the most important economic activities in the village of Santa María Ixcatlán.

Read about our visit to Santa Maria Ixcatlan in our blog post Santa María Ixcatlán: Rawhide Fermentation with Amando Alvarez

Member rating

4.19 out of 5

8 reviews

Arlo

Arlo

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Funky, cheesy, earthy. Fermented in cow hide, can definitely smell and taste it. A little white pepper. Delicious and slightly sweet.

Rorschach

Rorschach

43 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

I bought two bottles of this mezcalero in a mercado in Oaxaca. The other bottle was my favorite, a Ticunchi that was more balanced. Both are very nice and “cuero de res” is just about my favorite so far. I let this one sit in the glass for a bit and it is delicious. Comes off stingy and harsh at first, but it is super thick and rich.
Fecha de destilacion: Mayo 2022
Cortes: Corazon
Litros producidos: 75
46%

GMAD

GMAD

72 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

BATCH: AMA-01, 41.1%, BOTTLE 217/266

Nose – Sweet, grassy butterscotch and some earthy funk – clay, terra cotta, cream cheese.

Palate – Subtle sweetness with a funky tinge – ginger, sugar cane, grapefruit, cucumber.

Finish – Bitter nuts; walnuts, chestnuts.

Good, it’s subtle. Lacks ‘pop’ but still plenty of depth to explore; mellow.

JDB

JDB

165 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Batch: AMA-02 Bottle: 144/240 (180 liter batch) 45.5% abv

Power of suggestion carries a lot of weight, and when you get your first whiff, you think you smell leather and cow hide….when you can put that out of your mind, there is some fruit sweetness and basil notes. The flavors on the palate remind me of Kirsch, a cherry liquor. There is also a strong taste in the palate that evokes beef jerky or cured sausage notes (along the lines of Spanish chorizo). There is some background herbal quality as well, not sure if it is the mint or licorice others mention or something closer to oregano and rosemary. Enjoyable and worth the price at around $110 a bottle, which is what I paid at El Cerrito Liquor for this bottle. Check out Zack Klamm’s video on YouTube about his trip to the Santa María Ixcatlán: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aX7VFtprDb4

Batch: AMA-02 Bottle: 144/240 (180 liter batch) 45.5% abv
Power of suggestion carries a lot of weight, and when you get your first whiff, you think you smell leather and cow hide….when you can put that out of your mind, there is some fruit sweetness and basil notes. The flavors on the palate remind me of Kirsch, a cherry liquor. There is also a strong taste in the palate that evokes beef jerky or cured sausage notes (along the lines of Spanish chorizo). There is some background herbal

Read more
bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

(AMA-02) UPDATE:
Finally got the bottle so now I get to add more notes:
Nose: All the ingredients for a ham and cheese sandwich: whole wheat pita, cheese, white pepper, yeast, bologna. Slight vanilla bean sweetness but mostly floral with the faintest hint of wet leather.

Palate: Butter, salt, soil, loads of grain (wheat, rye), caramel; profoundly soft body, semi long finish.

Ronco Sips

Ronco Sips

10 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is my third bottle of Mezcal and this one is a winner. This is from Batch AMA -04 Bottle 31/293. Mezcalero – Amando Alvarado Alvarez.

NOSE: Light, almost no smoke, clean, a light good vegetable agave aroma

PALATE: Citrus, Fruit, Honey, Peach, a hint of a light licorice after taste. Second glass a light taste freshly cut grass. A few days later I’m as I’m writing this I’m having a glass all of the previous plus a very pleasant earthy taste, really awesome.

MOUTHFEEL: Very smooth, well rounded, light, goes down super easy.

FINISH: light licorice after taste, earth taste (sweet agave?)

This was a hit for me, the best Mezcal I’ve had so far, totally enjoyable. Perfect to sit down with at the in the evening to sip and relax with. I’m going with 4.5, my wife gives this one 5 starts. I made a video of opening this bottle and a review at https://youtu.be/KEC7C6EYd1g If you watch it then say hello in the comments. cheers, Ronco

This is my third bottle of Mezcal and this one is a winner. This is from Batch AMA -04 Bottle 31/293. Mezcalero – Amando Alvarado Alvarez.
NOSE: Light, almost no smoke, clean, a light good vegetable agave aroma
PALATE: Citrus, Fruit, Honey, Peach, a hint of a light licorice after taste. Second glass a light taste freshly cut grass. A few days later I’m as I’m writing this I’m having a glass all of the previous plus a very pleasant earthy taste, really awesome.
MOUTH

Read more
James Christian

James Christian

45 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch AMA-02 – Compared to Jonny’s review of AMA-01…..
Nose: Chocolate coffee and funk. Not getting too much spearmint for me.
Palate: Palome funk (which for me is a combo of BBQ and Jalapeño and Cheese ) – so agree there!

Sintedos comparison: Yeah… kinda for this one? #02 is pretty beefy and viscous and does remind me of his Sintedos… but it kind of has “more to say” now. If that makes sense. Its delicious stuff.

Jonny

Jonny

705 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch AMA-01. Bottle 46/266. Classic Amando rawhide spirit, and great to see his own brand finally in the US. Slightly minty on the nose. Aromas of spearmint, chocolate, coffee, and menthol. The palate is viscous but not too sticky or heavy. It’s balanced, more so than some other mezcals I’ve had from him. The palate has notes of barbequed brisket, vanilla bean, and jalapeno cream. Very enjoyable and a bit lighter than his mezcals that I’ve had when bottled under 5Sentidos in the past.

Batch AMA-01. Bottle 46/266. Classic Amando rawhide spirit, and great to see his own brand finally in the US. Slightly minty on the nose. Aromas of spearmint, chocolate, coffee, and menthol. The palate is viscous but not too sticky or heavy. It’s balanced, more so than some other mezcals I’ve had from him. The palate has notes of barbequed brisket, vanilla bean, and jalapeno cream. Very enjoyable and a bit lighter than his mezcals that I’ve had when bottled under 5Sentidos in t

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top