Powered by 100% agave

Leyenda Ancho (Guerrero)

Leyenda Guerrero is made with agave Cupreata that grows wild in a grove of oak trees for 7 to 10 years before reaching maturity.

Rating: (21 reviews)
Brand:Leyendas Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O117X
Mezcalero:Don Oscar Obregon, Rodolfo Obregón
Maguey:Ancho
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Guerrero
Town:Mazatlán, Xochipala
ABV: 45% and 46%
Age of plant: 10 years
Website: https://www.mezcalesdeleyenda.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Leyenda Guerrero is made with agave Cupreata that grows wild in a grove of oak trees for 7 to 10 years before reaching maturity. It is made by Don Oscar Obregón, who is the 4th generation in his lineage to be distilling mezcal. His attention for detail in his special fábrica, gives this complex agave a level of quality rarely seen in any mezcal. All of his agave Cupreata is sustainably harvested. This mezcal has notes of tropical fruits, papaya, and gentle smoke.

Leyendas Mezcal

Mezcal de Leyendas (previously labeled as Mezcales de Leyenda) believes they can improve some of the most marginalized communities in Mexico. They implement the best fair trade practices where they work, and they have many efforts in agave sustainability. Their mezcals come from the different mezcal-producing states. They also have some special edition, small-batch mezcals. The brand also releases the Pelotón de la Muerte line of mezcals.

In 2021, the brand (under Artisanal Distillates, LLC) raised money via the StartEngine platform at a $32.7 million pre-money valuation.

21 reviews

3.81 out of 5


Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Funky cheese nose with a tinge of orange peel and herbs.
Nice sweetness on the palate, massively dominated by fruit – citrus, peach, melon, papaya. Creamy texture, touch of salinity. Perhaps lacks something to balance the fruit but this one surprised me. The best from the Leyenda samples I tried.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Thin mouth feel, no heat. Salty, briny, earthy. Rubber and ammonia, super funky. Tomato, citrus, leather. Faintly meaty. Lightly smoky.

Very satisfied.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This mezcal has a unique flavor profile that isn’t reminiscent of any other that i’ve tried.

The nose is very woody, with a bleu cheese funk and orange peel bite.

The pallet is sweet and velvety and retains an earthy funk. Difficult to pin down.

All in all this is a good, if not unspectacular mezcal. One of the better offerings from the Leyenda lineup.

MTL_reviewer

MTL_reviewer

4 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Cupreata’s are rare and unique. Don’t get scared by the goat cheese and herbal nose. First sip you’ll get very strong citrus zest : lime, lemon, orange. Finish is peppery. Call me crazy but I like to use this one in cocktails because of the high abv and strong citrus notes that can get through the other ingredients. A nice one to have.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This one is all about fruit. The dominant taste is of orange marmalade but I also taste peaches, pears and melon. It’s a very pleasant drink, but I think it’s lacking something to offset all the mild fruit flavours.

Eagleeye

Eagleeye

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Subtle differences between this and the durango. This one is slightly more complex. Soft butter. Soft bite. Def a winner.

Patrick

Patrick

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose : Very fruity, old leather, bbq smoke, orange Peel, caramel and barnyard thrown in.
Taste : sweet and concentrated with a medium body, salty, oily, a little cooked agave.
Finish : dry, salty, quick, barely any smoke with lots of fruit.
Complex yet easy drinking..

meighmey

meighmey

18 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot Unknown … Sweet fruit and herbaceous aromas; tropical fruit flavors of mango and agave with a medium roast (smoke). Crisp, clean finish. Enjoyed in a “wild & rare” flight, selection 1 of 4.

Cwschaal

Cwschaal

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very consistent from batch to batch. papaya, mango, burnt leather, yogurt, caramelized sugarcane. Complex spectrum of evolving flavors from sip to sip. Slightly acidic, some barnyard funk, long finish, Superior to most of the other Cupreatas available.

Kris

Kris

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Savor the nose when you first open the bottle, it reeks of cheese! In a very delicious way.

Super smooth, i get a bit of funk when drinking this. This could have some pretty cool pairings with a good cheese platter. First i had from the agave and the state, and will definitely be trying more – very nice!

Tyler

Tyler

481 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lots of fruit! Plums. Tart lavender. Unique nose, slightly cheesy as others have noted. I dig this one.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Favorite from the Leyenda Sampler.

Wild Cupreata. Flavor profile of tropical fruit, roasted agave, brine, payapa.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Didn’t get too much. Super fresh and zingy lime like flavour on the initial. Almost a medicinal cranberry flavour. Some minerality and savoury notes. Not a favourite unfortunately, I do very much prefer there Durango.

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The smell of butterscotch flan, nectarines and cracked Szechuan peppercorns filled the room when I removed the cork! Funky mango peach lassi topped with bee pollen and ghee on the palate ..solid 2 minute finish .. wow that’s was fun !

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

161 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Generally a fan of cupreata… amazing slick overripe kiwi body with a touch of papaya, nice peppery notes along soft citrus, low smoke helps show off the agave sweetness. Sweet entry, mid-palate is complex, finish has a sugarcane quality. Quaffable, quite different from other cupreatas I’ve had in an interesting direction.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote GPRL2417, 45% ABV. Kind of a chameleon. Sometimes I like it and other times I find it disappointing. When tasting along with other mezcals it doesn’t usually hold up favorably to comparison. However, on its own merits, it can be interesting. The only other Cupreata I’ve had is La Luna, and this is completely different. Nose has some barnyard aromas. Taste is sharp, like green bell pepper, and bitter herbs, along with some smoke, and lots of ethanol. You can feel every bit of the 45% ABV on the tongue. If you like a more challenging mezcal, maybe this is just the thing for you.

Lote GPRL2417, 45% ABV. Kind of a chameleon. Sometimes I like it and other times I find it disappointing. When tasting along with other mezcals it doesn’t usually hold up favorably to comparison. However, on its own merits, it can be interesting. The only other Cupreata I’ve had is La Luna, and this is completely different. Nose has some barnyard aromas. Taste is sharp, like green bell pepper, and bitter herbs, along with some smoke, and lots of ethanol. You can feel every bit of the 45% ABV

Read more
LosMuertos

LosMuertos

33 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This one stinks of cheese (but in a good way), also black currants, melon, tutti frutti candy, white chocolate, orange peel and compost. Lots of complexity.

rsidrys

rsidrys

49 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This one turned me on to Cupreatas. I found the nose to be the most intriguing aspect of this mezcal. It seemed herbal…I have a hard time putting my finger on it, but I got cheese, green peppers, Elmers’s glue (in a good way), and sweetness. Mouth is more standard with minerals, smoke, cooked agave, molasses candy, and peppercorn. Finish is very much like the palate with addition of peppermint, and a touch of ash.
Overall, whenever I drank it, I couldn’t help but think of bright green herbs – almost like I was consuming a live plant that was soaked in fresh rain. Not to the point of a Tepeztate, but heading in that direction.

This one turned me on to Cupreatas. I found the nose to be the most intriguing aspect of this mezcal. It seemed herbal…I have a hard time putting my finger on it, but I got cheese, green peppers, Elmers’s glue (in a good way), and sweetness. Mouth is more standard with minerals, smoke, cooked agave, molasses candy, and peppercorn. Finish is very much like the palate with addition of peppermint, and a touch of ash.
Overall, whenever I drank it, I couldn’t help but think of brigh

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

this is the only leyenda i have tried and it is very enjoyable.i love cupreata and they usually have a bright and sweet taste.this fits that profile.the nose is not strong but has subtle notes of fruit and agave.entry has sweet and citrus and slight saline.mid way is more agave and pear with a hint of sugar.the finish is short but kitchen clean with a hint of smoke.mellow and fruity from start to finish.did i mention that i love cupreata?

Jonny

Jonny

523 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Aromas of orange and sour apples. Moderately viscous, light, and fruity. Notes of orange peel, peaches, sweet cream, caramel, and raisins. This reminds of the Goetze candy that I used to eat as a kid. Slight salinity as well.

JJR

JJR

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

90 proof and buttery smooth from start to finish, a plethora of fruit and citrus notes when drinking it neat; depending upon your food pairing, more notes start dancing upon the taste buds while wafting thru the olfactory. Very good stuff indeed.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top