Powered by 100% agave

Leyendas Ancho (Guerrero)

Leyendas Guerrero is made with agave Cupreata that grows wild in a grove of oak trees for 7 to 10 years before reaching maturity.

Rating: (24 reviews)
Brand:Leyendas Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O117X
Mezcalero:Oscar Obregon, Rodolfo Obregón
Maguey:Ancho
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Guerrero
Town:Mazatlán, Xochipala
ABV: 45% and 46%
Age of plant: 10 years
Website: https://www.mezcalesdeleyenda.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Leyendas Guerrero is made with agave Cupreata that grows wild in a grove of oak trees for 7 to 10 years before reaching maturity. It is made by Don Oscar Obregón, who is the 4th generation in his lineage to be distilling mezcal. His attention for detail in his special fábrica, gives this complex agave a level of quality rarely seen in any mezcal. All of his agave Cupreata is sustainably harvested. This mezcal has notes of tropical fruits, papaya, and gentle smoke.

Leyendas Mezcal

Mezcal de Leyendas (previously labeled as Mezcales de Leyenda) believes they can improve some of the most marginalized communities in Mexico. They implement the best fair trade practices where they work, and they have many efforts in agave sustainability. Their mezcals come from the different mezcal-producing states. They also have some special edition, small-batch mezcals. The brand also releases the Pelotón de la Muerte line of mezcals.

In 2021, the brand (under Artisanal Distillates, LLC) raised money via the StartEngine platform at a $32.7 million pre-money valuation.

Member rating

3.69 out of 5

24 reviews

Yechiel

Yechiel

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Sweet and not as smokey
Lote: L3/22

Canal Ponds(Jeff)

Canal Ponds(Jeff)

5 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

943/1080 Lote No. L1/19

Rich in agave and tons of black pepper. Abv is pleasant without any sort of burn. The sample received has been open for quite some time and none of the flavors are missing. If I had a bottle of this at home, I would definitely drink it, but it’s not a “go to” bottle for me. Nose and palate were straight forward and I’m finishing this sample without having to think about what I’m tasting.

mhermalyn

mhermalyn

2 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Was not a fan, still learning about this stuff so not sure how to speak to it yet.

I don’t like most tequilas, but I love some mezcals. Not sure where the line is for me, but this one’s funk turned me off and reminded me too much of the things I don’t like about tequila.

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Funky cheese nose with a tinge of orange peel and herbs.
Nice sweetness on the palate, massively dominated by fruit – citrus, peach, melon, papaya. Creamy texture, touch of salinity. Perhaps lacks something to balance the fruit but this one surprised me. The best from the Leyenda samples I tried.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Thin mouth feel, no heat. Salty, briny, earthy. Rubber and ammonia, super funky. Tomato, citrus, leather. Faintly meaty. Lightly smoky.

Very satisfied.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This mezcal has a unique flavor profile that isn’t reminiscent of any other that i’ve tried.

The nose is very woody, with a bleu cheese funk and orange peel bite.

The pallet is sweet and velvety and retains an earthy funk. Difficult to pin down.

All in all this is a good, if not unspectacular mezcal. One of the better offerings from the Leyenda lineup.

MTL_reviewer

MTL_reviewer

5 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Cupreata’s are rare and unique. Don’t get scared by the goat cheese and herbal nose. First sip you’ll get very strong citrus zest : lime, lemon, orange. Finish is peppery. Call me crazy but I like to use this one in cocktails because of the high abv and strong citrus notes that can get through the other ingredients. A nice one to have.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This one is all about fruit. The dominant taste is of orange marmalade but I also taste peaches, pears and melon. It’s a very pleasant drink, but I think it’s lacking something to offset all the mild fruit flavours.

Eagleeye

Eagleeye

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Subtle differences between this and the durango. This one is slightly more complex. Soft butter. Soft bite. Def a winner.

Patrick

Patrick

54 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nose : Very fruity, old leather, bbq smoke, orange Peel, caramel and barnyard thrown in.
Taste : sweet and concentrated with a medium body, salty, oily, a little cooked agave.
Finish : dry, salty, quick, barely any smoke with lots of fruit.
Complex yet easy drinking..

meighmey

meighmey

18 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot Unknown … Sweet fruit and herbaceous aromas; tropical fruit flavors of mango and agave with a medium roast (smoke). Crisp, clean finish. Enjoyed in a “wild & rare” flight, selection 1 of 4.

Cwschaal

Cwschaal

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Very consistent from batch to batch. papaya, mango, burnt leather, yogurt, caramelized sugarcane. Complex spectrum of evolving flavors from sip to sip. Slightly acidic, some barnyard funk, long finish, Superior to most of the other Cupreatas available.

Kris

Kris

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Savor the nose when you first open the bottle, it reeks of cheese! In a very delicious way.

Super smooth, i get a bit of funk when drinking this. This could have some pretty cool pairings with a good cheese platter. First i had from the agave and the state, and will definitely be trying more – very nice!

Tyler

Tyler

635 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lots of fruit! Plums. Tart lavender. Unique nose, slightly cheesy as others have noted. I dig this one.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Favorite from the Leyenda Sampler.

Wild Cupreata. Flavor profile of tropical fruit, roasted agave, brine, payapa.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Didn’t get too much. Super fresh and zingy lime like flavour on the initial. Almost a medicinal cranberry flavour. Some minerality and savoury notes. Not a favourite unfortunately, I do very much prefer there Durango.

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

The smell of butterscotch flan, nectarines and cracked Szechuan peppercorns filled the room when I removed the cork! Funky mango peach lassi topped with bee pollen and ghee on the palate ..solid 2 minute finish .. wow that’s was fun !

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Generally a fan of cupreata… amazing slick overripe kiwi body with a touch of papaya, nice peppery notes along soft citrus, low smoke helps show off the agave sweetness. Sweet entry, mid-palate is complex, finish has a sugarcane quality. Quaffable, quite different from other cupreatas I’ve had in an interesting direction.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Lote GPRL2417, 45% ABV. Kind of a chameleon. Sometimes I like it and other times I find it disappointing. When tasting along with other mezcals it doesn’t usually hold up favorably to comparison. However, on its own merits, it can be interesting. The only other Cupreata I’ve had is La Luna, and this is completely different. Nose has some barnyard aromas. Taste is sharp, like green bell pepper, and bitter herbs, along with some smoke, and lots of ethanol. You can feel every bit of the 45% ABV on the tongue. If you like a more challenging mezcal, maybe this is just the thing for you.

Lote GPRL2417, 45% ABV. Kind of a chameleon. Sometimes I like it and other times I find it disappointing. When tasting along with other mezcals it doesn’t usually hold up favorably to comparison. However, on its own merits, it can be interesting. The only other Cupreata I’ve had is La Luna, and this is completely different. Nose has some barnyard aromas. Taste is sharp, like green bell pepper, and bitter herbs, along with some smoke, and lots of ethanol. You can feel every bit of the 45% ABV

Read more
LosMuertos

LosMuertos

33 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

This one stinks of cheese (but in a good way), also black currants, melon, tutti frutti candy, white chocolate, orange peel and compost. Lots of complexity.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top