Powered by 100% agave

Leyenda Guerrero

Leyenda Guerrero is made with agave Cupreata that grows wild in a grove of oak trees for 7 to 10 years before reaching maturity.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:Leyenda Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O117X
Mezcalero:Don Oscar Obregon, Rodolfo Obregón
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Guerrero
Town:Mazatlán, Xochipala
ABV: 45%
Age of plant: 10 years
Website: www.mezcalesdeleyenda.com
About this mezcal

Leyenda Guerrero is made with agave Cupreata that grows wild in a grove of oak trees for 7 to 10 years before reaching maturity. It is made by Don Oscar Obregón, who is the 4th generation in his lineage to be distilling mezcal. His attention for detail in his special fábrica, gives this complex agave a level of quality rarely seen in any mezcal. All of his agave Cupreata is sustainably harvested. This mezcal has notes of tropical fruits, papaya, and gentle smoke.

Leyenda Mezcal

Mezcales de Leyenda believes they can improve some of the most marginalized communities in Mexico. They implement the best fair trade practices where they work, and they have many efforts in agave sustainability. Their mezcals come from the different mezcal-producing states. They also have some special edition, small-batch mezcals.

12 reviews

3.9 of out 5 stars


Kris

Kris

1 review
1 week ago

Savor the nose when you first open the bottle, it reeks of cheese! In a very delicious way.

Super smooth, i get a bit of funk when drinking this. This could have some pretty cool pairings with a good cheese platter. First i had from the agave and the state, and will definitely be trying more – very nice!

Tyler

Tyler

301 reviews
3 months ago

Lots of fruit! Plums. Tart lavender. Unique nose, slightly cheesy as others have noted. I dig this one.

7 months ago

Favorite from the Leyenda Sampler.

Wild Cupreata. Flavor profile of tropical fruit, roasted agave, brine, payapa.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
8 months ago

Didn’t get too much. Super fresh and zingy lime like flavour on the initial. Almost a medicinal cranberry flavour. Some minerality and savoury notes. Not a favourite unfortunately, I do very much prefer there Durango.

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
9 months ago

The smell of butterscotch flan, nectarines and cracked Szechuan peppercorns filled the room when I removed the cork! Funky mango peach lassi topped with bee pollen and ghee on the palate ..solid 2 minute finish .. wow that’s was fun !

PDutton

PDutton

52 reviews
10 months ago

Generally a fan of cupreata… amazing slick overripe kiwi body with a touch of papaya, nice peppery notes along soft citrus, low smoke helps show off the agave sweetness. Sweet entry, mid-palate is complex, finish has a sugarcane quality. Quaffable, quite different from other cupreatas I’ve had in an interesting direction.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

16 reviews
11 months ago

Lote GPRL2417, 45% ABV. Kind of a chameleon. Sometimes I like it and other times I find it disappointing. When tasting along with other mezcals it doesn’t usually hold up favorably to comparison. However, on its own merits, it can be interesting. The only other Cupreata I’ve had is La Luna, and this is completely different. Nose has some barnyard aromas. Taste is sharp, like green bell pepper, and bitter herbs, along with some smoke, and lots of ethanol. You can feel every bit of the 45% ABV on the tongue. If you like a more challenging mezcal, maybe this is just the thing for you.

Lote GPRL2417, 45% ABV. Kind of a chameleon. Sometimes I like it and other times I find it disappointing. When tasting along with other mezcals it doesn’t usually hold up favorably to comparison. However, on its own merits, it can be interesting. The only other Cupreata I’ve had is La Luna, and this is completely different. Nose has some barnyard aromas. Taste is sharp, like green bell pepper, and bitter herbs, along with some smoke, and lots of ethanol. You can feel every bit of the 45% ABV

Read more
LosMuertos

LosMuertos

32 reviews
1 year ago

This one stinks of cheese (but in a good way), also black currants, melon, tutti frutti candy, white chocolate, orange peel and compost. Lots of complexity.

rsidrys

rsidrys

36 reviews
1 year ago

This one turned me on to Cupreatas. I found the nose to be the most intriguing aspect of this mezcal. It seemed herbal…I have a hard time putting my finger on it, but I got cheese, green peppers, Elmers’s glue (in a good way), and sweetness. Mouth is more standard with minerals, smoke, cooked agave, molasses candy, and peppercorn. Finish is very much like the palate with addition of peppermint, and a touch of ash.
Overall, whenever I drank it, I couldn’t help but think of bright green herbs – almost like I was consuming a live plant that was soaked in fresh rain. Not to the point of a Tepeztate, but heading in that direction.

This one turned me on to Cupreatas. I found the nose to be the most intriguing aspect of this mezcal. It seemed herbal…I have a hard time putting my finger on it, but I got cheese, green peppers, Elmers’s glue (in a good way), and sweetness. Mouth is more standard with minerals, smoke, cooked agave, molasses candy, and peppercorn. Finish is very much like the palate with addition of peppermint, and a touch of ash.
Overall, whenever I drank it, I couldn’t help but think of brigh

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
1 year ago

this is the only leyenda i have tried and it is very enjoyable.i love cupreata and they usually have a bright and sweet taste.this fits that profile.the nose is not strong but has subtle notes of fruit and agave.entry has sweet and citrus and slight saline.mid way is more agave and pear with a hint of sugar.the finish is short but kitchen clean with a hint of smoke.mellow and fruity from start to finish.did i mention that i love cupreata?

Jonny

Jonny

323 reviews
1 year ago

Aromas of orange and sour apples. Moderately viscous, light, and fruity. Notes of orange peel, peaches, sweet cream, caramel, and raisins. This reminds of the Goetze candy that I used to eat as a kid. Slight salinity as well.

JJR

JJR

1 review
1 year ago

90 proof and buttery smooth from start to finish, a plethora of fruit and citrus notes when drinking it neat; depending upon your food pairing, more notes start dancing upon the taste buds while wafting thru the olfactory. Very good stuff indeed.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top