Powered by 100% agave

Mal Bien Madrecuixe / Bicuixe / Tepextate

Mal Bien Madrecuixe / Bicuixe / Tepextate is made by the father-son duo Victor and Emanuel Ramos, who have been producing for brands like Mezcaloteca (Mezcalosfera) for many years.

About this destilado de agave

Mal Bien Madrecuixe / Bicuixe / Tepextate is made by Victor and his son Emanuel. They are the 3rd and 4th generations of the Ramos family to produce mezcal in the Miahuatlán District of Oaxaca, an area famous for its abundance and diversity of A. karwinskii sub-species (madrecuixe, tobaxiche, etc.). The community of Mengoli de Morelos where they live and work has a population of just under 200 people. They are related to the neighboring Cortes family via Victor’s wife (Emanuel’s mother), Cleotilde, whose sister Cesilia is married to Felipe.

The agave used in this mezcal are cooked for 6 days in an underground pit oven with Encino, Yegareche, Mesquite, and Palo de Aguila. Once cooked, the agave rest 6-7 days before being mashed by ox drawn tahona. They’re fermented with open air yeasts for 4-8 days before being double distilled in a copper refrescadera still.

Mal Bien Mezcal

Since 2016, the Mal Bien team has been traveling Mexico, driving off the map and into mountains filled with treacherous roads, police officers of questionable moral character, feral dogs, indigenous languages, narcos, ancient relics, machete wielding protestors, insect based meals, mudslides, blockades, corrupt politicians, and many of the world's kindest, funniest, most brilliant people. In addition to some hard to believe stories, they've connected with a wide variety of traditional producers, whose mezcal is now bottled and exported under the Mal Bien name.

9 reviews

3.67 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

290 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Nose – Warm roasted ballpark peanuts, shells and all.

Palate – The nuttiness continues – caramel, candied peanuts. Apple juice. Overcooked poblano pepper. Smoke flavor is a bit rough – a slight chemical/industrial tinge (that I’d pick up in a cocktail espadin mezcal) that suprised me for the three maguey involved. Picking up on the dryer sheet aspect many noted but not in a positive way, I think this adds more to the slight chemical component that I wasn’t a fan of.

Nose – Warm roasted ballpark peanuts, shells and all.
Palate – The nuttiness continues – caramel, candied peanuts. Apple juice. Overcooked poblano pepper. Smoke flavor is a bit rough – a slight chemical/industrial tinge (that I’d pick up in a cocktail espadin mezcal) that suprised me for the three maguey involved. Picking up on the dryer sheet aspect many noted but not in a positive way, I think this adds more to the slight chemical component that I wasn’t a

Read more
Azi

Azi

24 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

I agree with many of the notes here around “clean”…dryer sheets (amazing call), laundry, fabric softener, etc. but its leaning a bit too clean vibed for me. Good, but not something I’ll reach for again.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

124 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lote: 0419ER
Love the green, earthy smell I’ve come to recognize and love from the Ramos’. Get the key lime that others have mentioned. Mellower beginning – sweet, tropical fruits. The cuixes seems to dominate, and wish I could find more of the tepeztate. Red hot candy finish and probably a bit too hot. 4.25
Review #92

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

i have had this botlle for about 4 months and hesitated to give a review until now.this was my second sample and i think its very good and high quality. its what i expect from the ramos name and its well made but not my favorite from these guys.dont get me wrong.very enjoyable.the nose is faint . the karwinskis dominate with slight acidity and mineral.sharp,clean with a slight grassy almost tart note.seems like i get this flavor from bicuixie mezcals i have sampled before.i have to search for the tep notes.finish is clean,short and with a reserved agave sweetness.vegetal.this one may grow on me in time.if someone passed a pour of this to me,i would not complain.

i have had this botlle for about 4 months and hesitated to give a review until now.this was my second sample and i think its very good and high quality. its what i expect from the ramos name and its well made but not my favorite from these guys.dont get me wrong.very enjoyable.the nose is faint . the karwinskis dominate with slight acidity and mineral.sharp,clean with a slight grassy almost tart note.seems like i get this flavor from bicuixie mezcals i have sampled before.i have to search for th

Read more
SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

The nose is defined by mango yoghurt–there’s a pronounced lactic influence, paired with really rich and powerful tropical fruit aromas. Lemon curds/key lime, almost incense-like with the spice profile. Quite an addicting nose, and easy to get lost in its depths. Nice mineral bite to it, too. Once you finally finish nosing it and get around to tasting it, it detonates in your mouth, shooting all sorts of flavors in all sorts of directions. I get flat orange fanta, persimmon, and ripe mangoes on the fruit front. Black pepper, lavendar, and even a cornmeal-esque acidity round out the rest of the palate. Really powerful and ever-evolving finish. Sour fruits, sharp acidity, grassy greenness. Oh my!

This is yet another killer mezcal–it’s just so brash and flavorful! Not to mention how exciting and dynamic the flavors themselves are. Supremely fun to drink.

The nose is defined by mango yoghurt–there’s a pronounced lactic influence, paired with really rich and powerful tropical fruit aromas. Lemon curds/key lime, almost incense-like with the spice profile. Quite an addicting nose, and easy to get lost in its depths. Nice mineral bite to it, too. Once you finally finish nosing it and get around to tasting it, it detonates in your mouth, shooting all sorts of flavors in all sorts of directions. I get flat orange fanta, persimmon, and ripe

Read more
donpedro

donpedro

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch: 0319ER; 46.2% ABV

Nose of caramel, ripe papaya and pineapple, key lime, and tennis balls. Bright spearmint, cinnamon, bay leaves, and lavender. Some heat on the backend. Overall, some killer juice from the Ramos family as always.

COak

COak

136 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I’m always excited to try something new from the Ramos family, big fan of the Miahuatlán flavors. On this I get key lime, fresh rain and lavender. It would be nice to know the different agave % in this bottle.

Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Mal Bien can be hit-or-miss for me but this one is really nice. It has that distinct Miahuatlan minerality and dry woody notes from the Agave Karwinskii. The Tepextate provides a nice balance. Jonny is right on with the dryer sheets – it’s not a bad thing! Overall just great flavor and what you want from a quality mezcal.

Jonny

Jonny

533 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Total mineral and vegetal bomb on the nose! Smells incredible. Rich aromas of dark tropical fruits like papaya and overripe mango. The palate is also fruity with some added elements of drier sheets, fabric softener, fresh flowers, and lavendar. Highly enjoyable.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top