Powered by 100% agave

Mal Bien Papalote – Sonido

Mal Bien Papalote is made by Don Antonio Sonido and his son Don Lorenzo Sonido using Papalote (Agave cupreata) grown on the family's lands in the community of Pantitlán.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Mal Bien
Mezcalero:Antonio Sonido
Maguey:Papalote
Agave:Cupreata
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
State:Guerrero
Town:Chilapa de Álvarez
ABV: 48.3%
Batch size: 402 bottles (Batch 0521AS)
Website: https://www.mezcalmalbien.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Mal Bien Papalote is made by Don Antonio Sonido and his son Don Lorenzo Sonido using Papalote (Agave cupreata) grown on the family’s lands in the community of Pantitlán. The two are best known for the large supply of Maguey Espadin grown on their property and originating the recipe for “Borrego” pechuga mezcal.

A batch distilled in May 2021 yielded 402 bottles released under the Mal Bien label.

Mal Bien

Since 2016, the Mal Bien team has been traveling Mexico, driving off the map and into mountains filled with treacherous roads, police officers of questionable moral character, feral dogs, indigenous languages, narcos, ancient relics, machete wielding protestors, insect based meals, mudslides, blockades, corrupt politicians, and many of the world’s kindest, funniest, most brilliant people. In addition to some hard to believe stories, they’ve connected with a wide variety of traditional producers, whose mezcal is now bottled and exported under the Mal Bien name.

Member rating

4.29 out of 5

7 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

110 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

48.3% ABV

Nose: light tropical fruit. Tart Mango, coconut, kiwi, green peppers, some tangy citrus

Palate: starts out with creamy mango, papaya, soft fruits, coconut flakes. Moves toward more earthy, cumin, and leathery. Some slate and spice. Then on the finish I get a bit of chocolate and more leather. Herbal peppermint and cinnamon lingers for a bit.

Good stuff. Not mind blowing but complex enough and a great example of Papalote.

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

* Lot: 0527AS
* ABV: 48.3%

I had this at Las Almas Rotas as part of a Mal Bien 3-pack flight. Very floral nose; smells like funeral (Lilly?) flowers. Interesting…

Vegetal, toasted sesame seeds and onion followed by some type of melon were the flavors I detected.

A creamy “sweet heat” bbq chip finish that I really enjoyed was the finale but I would buy the Verde or the (rested in glass) Arroqueno over this particular expression.

JDB

JDB

165 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

48.3% abv Lot # 0521AS

The number of high quality destilados from Guerrero is pretty shocking. I have become a full convert to cupreata. I was able to track down this bottle at El Cerrito Liquor in Corona, CA. This release has a similar nose and vibe to others that I have tried. Green on the nose, hints of onion and herbal qualities, lemongrass, freshly poured concrete, dried mango with chili. The flavors on the palate range from herbal mint tea, toasted coriander seeds, dry earth, green onions, and a faint sweetness. The heat hits in the back of the throat and the chest. The other reviews mention chocolate, which could be the earthy note (roasted cacao), I don’t really get the cinnamon or ginger notes. The sweetness could hit between the maple syrup, caramel, and vanilla that others mentioned. Regardless, high quality stuff and well worth the price (under $100 in most places). 4.25 stars out of 5.

48.3% abv Lot # 0521AS
The number of high quality destilados from Guerrero is pretty shocking. I have become a full convert to cupreata. I was able to track down this bottle at El Cerrito Liquor in Corona, CA. This release has a similar nose and vibe to others that I have tried. Green on the nose, hints of onion and herbal qualities, lemongrass, freshly poured concrete, dried mango with chili. The flavors on the palate range from herbal mint tea, toasted coriander seeds, dry earth,

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

78 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote 0521AS 48.3% Aromas out of the bottle were spicy candies light fruit and smooth alcohol. Flavors include candied fruit cinnamon smooth caramel and a nice clean finish. Just delicious. No smoke flavors or Aroma’s very clean.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 0521AS. Antonio Sonido is an incredible Mezcalero. Every single spirit I’ve tried from him I’ve loved and this is no exception. Chocolate milk, almond butter, cinnamon, ground ginger, ginger ale, and maple syrup candy. This is absolutely bursting with flavor!!!

JoeVandal

JoeVandal

10 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose has a little mineral and earth

Taste has some funk, slight creaminess, and some sweetness on the back end.

COak

COak

228 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Loving everything I’ve tried from the Sonido family so far. This is my favorite of the papalotes from Mal Bien that haven’t been rested in glass. This is chocolaty, creamy and a bit nutty. Pretty good value too. Don’t feel like I can get sick of this.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top