Powered by 100% agave

Montelobos Tobala

This 100% cultivated agave Tobala mezcal has aromas of lemon, green pepper and pear. On the palate, there are notes of citrus, basil, roasted fig, macadamia, and truffle.

About this mezcal

This mezcal is produced in Puebla using cultivated maguey Tobala. Montelobos Mezcal founder, Iván Saldaña, met the Alva family in Puebla who has been growing maguey Tobala for over 15 years. Maguey Tobala has been exploited since the mezcal boom began and from the very beginning, Montelobos committed to only use sustainable agave that is 100% cultivated without exploiting wild maguey. Additionally, Montelobos does not utilize pesticides or herbicides when farming agaves. This mezcal has aromas of lemon, green pepper and pear. On the palate, there are notes of citrus, basil, roasted fig, macadamia, and truffle.

See what our friends at Three Minute Tasting had to say about this one: S1:E8 Montelobos Tobala Mezcal Review

Montelobos Mezcal

Montelobos has business ties to William Grant & Sons, the makers of scotch whisky. Iván Saldaña, who has a background in molecular plant biology, founded Montelobos Mezcal. Saldaña worked with two mezcal-producing families in Oaxaca and Puebla. The mezcal is popular inside Mexico and is also exported. Montelobos Mezcal is committed to sustainability and has pledged to never use wild agaves in their mezcal production.

In October 2019, Campari Group (Davide Campari-Milano SpA) purchased a controlling stake in Montelobos. The $35.7 million USD investment also included a majority stake in Ancho Reyes chili liqueur.

Member rating

3.55 out of 5

11 reviews

Will

Will

13 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

First experience trying a Tobala but compared to everything I’ve tried, this is incredibly unique. On the nose I get pear, vegetal and maybe lemon. Subtle smoke on the palate. Noticeable burn but very short finish.

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars12 months ago

(RQ1109)
Nose: Lime, peppers, river rocks

Palate: slight cheese, hella vegetal, mineral, thick blanket of smoke. Medium body, short finish. After the vapors dissipate it leaves a really nice spring water taste.
Honestly not bad. Liking it more than I thought I would actually. Having it next to the pechuga and it’s definitely my preferred of the two.

Threesunspots

Threesunspots

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote RC3033
Pear soda pop at nose and taste. Elegant, fruity with less smoke!

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

RI6751. Lavender, fresh ripe pears, vanilla, and cold butter. It’s pretty hot though with some rubbing alcohol notes that I’m not crazy about.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

My first attempt at a Mezcal from cultivated tobalá (at least that I know of). Some copper and toffee notes makes you think it is an espadin. Fruit is less pear, lime and or quince that I usually get from tobalás. Solid bottle, but the Montelobos ensamble, made of cultivated papalote/cupreata, espadin and tobalá is way more rewarding in flavours, and at a lower price.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

excellent mezcal – you’re gonna love this one, I will always buy and/or order it. Motelobos make great mezcals (though I do avoid black label)

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Fresh cut grass, lemon, bubblegum (get that in a lot of Tobalas) and some sawdust. Short finish, well rounded. Nothing off putting at all, but also not really noteworthy in the tobala realm. Average

Wild Common

Wild Common

10 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Rich, buttery, and the Tobala comes through in the mid palate. Clean warm finish. ??

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

21 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Strong and sweet vanilla on the nose. Some alcohol smell underneath the sweetness. Hard to describe taste but it is somewhat smooth and enjoyable. Not overly complex. Very strong and lasting burn. Really good.

Batch: RD4540

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A mezcal with some interesting flavors especially for $9 a pour. Although I’ve seen some retail bottles prices that were quite high. Notes of mango juice and dried fruit. Lots of green freshness along with tart grape juice. Didn’t catch the batch number.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot RD2761. I was pleasantly surprised by this, super smooth, little bit of fruit and hardly any bite. Was on a quest to try some new arroquenos and got persuaded into this one.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top