Powered by 100% agave

Montelobos Espadin

Montelobos Espadin is an artisanal mezcal crafted by mezcalero Don Abel Lopez in Santiago Matatlán.

Rating: (21 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Montelobos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O156X
Mezcalero:Don Abel Lopez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 43%
Website: https://montelobos.com/
About this mezcal

Montelobos Joven is an artisanal Mezcal made in Santiago Matatlán produced with 100% organically certified agave Espadín. This Mezcal is crafted by biologist and distiller Iván Saldaña and mezcalero Don Abel Lopez. It is made according to Saldaña’s vision and passion for agave and artisanal mezcal with respect for traditional production methods, sustainability, and the quality of life in the communities and families who have produced mezcal for generations.

Montelobos Mezcal

Montelobos has business ties to William Grant & Sons, the makers of scotch whisky. Iván Saldaña, who has a background in molecular plant biology, founded Montelobos Mezcal. Saldaña worked with two mezcal-producing families in Oaxaca and Puebla. The mezcal is popular inside Mexico and is also exported. Montelobos Mezcal is committed to sustainability and has pledged to never use wild agaves in their mezcal production.

In October 2019, Montelobos was acquired by Campari (Davide Campari-Milano SpA). The acquisition also included Ancho Reyes chili liqueur, for a combined total of $35.7 million USD.

 

The Montelobos Mezcal Project on Tequila Aficionado

Review: Montelobos Mezcal Joven on Drinkhacker

 

21 reviews

3.45 out of 5


ToastyMick

ToastyMick

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 days ago

A little thin. Although it is smoky it feels thin to me. Great for the price however. A nice balanced flavor with the usual notes

Safetyline29

Safetyline29

8 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Montelobos Espadin is very smokey on the nose. It opens up nicely yet has a petrol finish. It is very citrusy with strong hints of ash and charred mesquite. Enjoyable and affordable.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

25 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 months ago

nope, not a fan of the espadin – the tobala and ensemble are sooo good though, it makes up for the espadin

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

33 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I had this blind, so keep that in mind when reading these notes

Nose: Earthy, Minerality, lemon zest, brine, light smoked meat, cream cheese,

Palate: Light mouthfeel, light cream cheese, slight earthy minerality, light campfire smoke.

Finish: Short, brine, minerals, black pepper, light cream funk, light campfire smoke.

Rating: 5/10

This isn’t bad, it has some good flavors going on it, but it feels really muted and could benefit from a bit more proof perhaps. Its inoffensive. The nose writes a check the palate and finish could not cash.

This has good stuff going on under it all, and the nose was interesting. However, it is knocked down for just falling into the inoffensive side of the flavor spectrum for me. For a budget option though, you could do much worse and this would be a good bottle to introduce someone to Mezcal, and good budget option.

I had this blind, so keep that in mind when reading these notes
Nose: Earthy, Minerality, lemon zest, brine, light smoked meat, cream cheese,
Palate: Light mouthfeel, light cream cheese, slight earthy minerality, light campfire smoke.
Finish: Short, brine, minerals, black pepper, light cream funk, light campfire smoke.
Rating: 5/10
This isn’t bad, it has some good flavors going on it, but it feels really muted and could benefit from a bit more proof perhaps. Its inoffensive. The nose writes a

Read more
MezPal20

MezPal20

1 review
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

A nose of roasted green peppers, burnt mild white cheese, a touch of mineral, and a hint of sugar water. The taste is sweet and vegetal at the same time, with notes of fresh agave, charred wood, and white pepper. Thin, yet viscous mouthfeel. The finish begins with a hint of salt and green citrus, like lime or pomelo, more spicy pepper, and then fades to a nice semidry smokiness.
This is the first artesanal mezcal I’ve ever tried, and only the second mezcal ever if you count Monte Albán, so I don’t have a lot of experience to draw from. However, I’ve tried over 100 scotches in my time and I tend to lean towards the Islays. As a lover of smoky libations I can tell you, you can’t go wrong with this!

A nose of roasted green peppers, burnt mild white cheese, a touch of mineral, and a hint of sugar water. The taste is sweet and vegetal at the same time, with notes of fresh agave, charred wood, and white pepper. Thin, yet viscous mouthfeel. The finish begins with a hint of salt and green citrus, like lime or pomelo, more spicy pepper, and then fades to a nice semidry smokiness.
This is the first artesanal mezcal I’ve ever tried, and only the second mezcal ever if you count Monte Albán, so I

Read more
maysville

maysville

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Definitely a go to bottle for introducing my friends to Mezcal. Easy drinking. Well balanced smoky flavor. Not overly intense.

MssMadrid

MssMadrid

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Smoky and well balanced. Organic Mezcal. Good value for money

t8ke

t8ke

90 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Honey, pineapple, citrus, clay, creamy. A nice blend of sweet and earthy, without a lot of ethanol or pungent character.

Not a massive flavorful beast but very nice and a solid array of flavors. Nothing mindblowing, but nothing bad, either. A good budget option.

JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Good quality stuff if a bit unexciting. A well made matatlan espadin. Does what it says on the tin.

kevjo

kevjo

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Found this Mezcal incredibly easy to drink with a very smooth mouthfeel. I found it to be more of a smooth smokey tequila than a complex mezcal blossoming with nuanced flavour. I would purchase it as an entry from tequila to mezcal or for an easy tequilasque sipper. Would buy if reasonably priced.

bertie

bertie

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of my favorites – nice smoky flavor and relatively inexpensive for a mezcal. Great bang for the buck.

Aevillalobos

Aevillalobos

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is by far the best Mezcal, real smoky, charcoal, wood, pepper. I highly recommend it

AndreAbiRamia

AndreAbiRamia

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Alcohol, leather, sugar on the nose. Herbal? Syrupy, sweet, fruity on the mouth. Oily. Light smokiness far away. Mineral, peppery finish. Expected more.
Lote número: VB4619

rsidrys

rsidrys

42 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smokey, pungent, and sweet. Lots of smoke all arround, but it’s offset by other characteristics like citrus. While it had a vegetal green agave pungency, it also had sweet cooked agave, especially on the palate. A strong black pepper and mineral finish with oily mouthfeel. I’m not necessarily saying this is a bad thing, but that pungent note makes this taste more like a “smokey Tequila” than a mezcal.

Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This was the first mezcal I ever tried down in México. This is a very beginner mezcal. It tasted very clean, very sugary, very light.

I had not found this back in the states until I had tried several dozen other mezcal. I agree with others. There is nothing wrong with this mezcal, it just does not have the depth that I have grown to love in other mezcal.

Use this one to introduce your friends or to mix. You cant go wrong with those uses.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I just didn’t find anything special about this one. Typical Espadin that is good for mixing, but nothing that spoke out to me in this one.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

211 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

One of my favorite espadins. Has all the classic notes, and a clean sharp smell that doesnt overpower you. Slight oil on the finish, fantastic, especially for the price/availability

Icypu

Icypu

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Amazing smell that’s well developed and smooth. Smells like wood bark. Earthy flavor with smooth smokiness, my favorite joven so far. Bottle iw2769.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose: Tree bark, twigs, antiseptic cream, wet leaves, roasted cashews, green bell peppers, baked potatoes, damp earth, ground coffee, unripe conference pears, excellent nose!

Taste: Sweet, I get cooked apples and pears, brown sugar, sweet potato fries, celery, fennel, a real meaty smoke, bacon and kippers.

Comments: Smells amazing, tastes good. An all round winner, 4 and a half stars.

codysorgenfrey1

codysorgenfrey1

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Love the care for the craft Iván and the team at Montelobos put into each bottle. Very smooth, I highly recommend this brand and can’t wait for their other bottles to make it to the US!

Tyler

Tyler

415 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

At first glance, Montelobos seems to straddle the line between artisanal and industrial mezcal. They only have one offering in a fancy bottle: a joven espadin. I heard the company bought the roof of a well-utilized small town palenque so their mezcal could capture the same natural fermentation notes that had baked into the original roof from previous decades – much like a well-used BBQ pit continues to impart richer flavors as time passes. If true, that’s very intriguing.

At any rate, this is good stuff.. especially for mixing. The ABV is 43% so the mezcal flavors will remain prominent in cocktails like an old fashioned or paloma. Drinking neat, Montelobos has a subtle smoke, nice vanilla notes, and some nice vegetal flavors for a well-priced espadin. Some of the standard espadin mezcals taste watered down but this is a nice full-flavored espadin. My rating would be 3.5 stars; will be keeping a bottle of this on the shelf for all occasions.

At first glance, Montelobos seems to straddle the line between artisanal and industrial mezcal. They only have one offering in a fancy bottle: a joven espadin. I heard the company bought the roof of a well-utilized small town palenque so their mezcal could capture the same natural fermentation notes that had baked into the original roof from previous decades – much like a well-used BBQ pit continues to impart richer flavors as time passes. If true, that’s very intriguing.
At any rate

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top