Powered by 100% agave

Montelobos Espadin

Montelobos Espadin is an artisanal mezcal crafted by mezcalero Don Abel Lopez in Santiago Matatlán.

Rating: (32 reviews)
Cost:$
Brand:Montelobos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O156X
Mezcalero:Don Abel Lopez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 43%
Website: https://montelobos.com/, opens in new window
Ownership:Campari Group

About this mezcal

Montelobos Joven is an artisanal Mezcal made in Santiago Matatlán produced with 100% organically certified agave Espadín. This Mezcal is crafted by biologist and distiller Iván Saldaña and mezcalero Don Abel Lopez. It is made according to Saldaña’s vision and passion for agave and artisanal mezcal with respect for traditional production methods, sustainability, and the quality of life in the communities and families who have produced mezcal for generations.

Montelobos Mezcal

Montelobos has business ties to William Grant & Sons, the makers of scotch whisky. Iván Saldaña, who has a background in molecular plant biology, founded Montelobos Mezcal. Saldaña worked with two mezcal-producing families in Oaxaca and Puebla. The mezcal is popular inside Mexico and is also exported. Montelobos Mezcal is committed to sustainability and has pledged to never use wild agaves in their mezcal production.

In October 2019, Montelobos was acquired by Campari (Davide Campari-Milano SpA). The acquisition also included Ancho Reyes chili liqueur, for a combined total of $35.7 million USD.

 

The Montelobos Mezcal Project on Tequila Aficionado

Review: Montelobos Mezcal Joven on Drinkhacker

 

32 reviews

3.56 out of 5

aarild

aarild

72 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Earthy and complex workhorse of an espadin. One star extra for the price. Some vanilla and woody smoke on the nose, but balanced. Baked apple and subdued agave fruit, cloves and mild smoke.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

14 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lote: IU0405. 43.2%
Balance of some smoke/ash and heat. Aroma is earthy, baked apple, honey. Flavor carries over the baked apple with sweet potato and dark bbq sauce. Actually not bad. Good flavor, but not much depth to it. Good starter mezcal, not overwhelmingly smokey and not much heat. Sip or mix. Good price point

Tmwilliams

Tmwilliams

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Montelobos Joven is an artisanal mezcal with a little sweetness and is citrusy in taste and scent which is nice with some light pepper notes. There’s a smokiness to this mezcal that’s subtle enough to taste and it works well allowing you to taste the citrus and rounds out this mezcal. Overall a nice mezcal to sip or mix. 

nklein

nklein

3 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars7 months ago

I was disappointed by Montelobos Espadin, the nose is intriguing, but for me the palate was just too flat. In my opinion, Union Uno (for sipping/mixing) and Fidencio Clasico (for mixing) are better options at this price point.

Jkleinschrodt

Jkleinschrodt

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

I’ve tried a few mezcal previously but this is first bottle of mezcal I’ve purchased! Slightly sweet, herbaceous, and light smoke. I like it!

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

A very well-made Espadin. Clean and crisp, with delightful smoke on the nose and palate. Oily on the tongue, with notes of lemon peel and dried fruits that hold through the finish. This mezcal gets and extra star for being a win-win-win: It is a quality sipper, a solid mixer in high-end cocktails, and sells at a bargain price. LOTE/Btl: IL4760.

TomT

TomT

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Bought this at Costco so wasn’t expecting much. When I got home and tasted it, wow…it was love at first sip. A really good joven espadin. Found the smoke to be subtle. It is smooth but also has more flavor complexity then your average mezcal. So, I’d say it is a spirit more for the experienced mezcal palate than the novice. A well priced mezcal as well.

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

22 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Jack-fruit sweetness mixed with an understated but distinctly iodine smoke on the nose – and just a touch of vanilla. Taste is unexpectedly non-sweet by comparison, earthy and peppery, with an almost antiseptic smoke note and a nice spicy warmth on the finish. There are definitely some sweeter vanilla and vaguely fruity notes in the mix but they are mostly hiding in the background. They might become more prominent on subsequent tastings, but for now this is only another mid-level mezcal to me.

Jack-fruit sweetness mixed with an understated but distinctly iodine smoke on the nose – and just a touch of vanilla. Taste is unexpectedly non-sweet by comparison, earthy and peppery, with an almost antiseptic smoke note and a nice spicy warmth on the finish. There are definitely some sweeter vanilla and vaguely fruity notes in the mix but they are mostly hiding in the background. They might become more prominent on subsequent tastings, but for now this is only another mid-level mezcal to

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

372 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Bottle No. KH8415
Nose: Grassy. Citrus. Medium smoke.

Palate: Light viscous feel – somewhat slick though. Sweetness is interesting – if it exists – a fruit punch creamsicle. Tobacco and white pepper in the middle. Warm, wet stone aftertaste and some brine. As it fades away there is a slight numbing effect (Sichaun pepper but not nearly as spicy).

This seemed mediocre at first but vastly improved after a few sips. Good value as well.

kurten33

kurten33

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

The first time I got this mezcal is because I loved the looks of the bottle. The mezcal is the best mezcal for the price. The smooth, very lightly smoky flavor makes it easy to drink for people new to mezcal and surprisingly enjoyable for those experienced mezcal connoisseurs. When it goes down, it hardly leaves a burn and it leaves an enjoyable after taste. Most of my guest that tried it have been delighted with the smoothness of its flavor. Definitely worth trying it. For the price it is the best value that will leave you completely satisfied. Bottle JX6087

The first time I got this mezcal is because I loved the looks of the bottle. The mezcal is the best mezcal for the price. The smooth, very lightly smoky flavor makes it easy to drink for people new to mezcal and surprisingly enjoyable for those experienced mezcal connoisseurs. When it goes down, it hardly leaves a burn and it leaves an enjoyable after taste. Most of my guest that tried it have been delighted with the smoothness of its flavor. Definitely worth trying it. For the price it is the

Read more
Bety85

Bety85

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

This is my favorite mezcal thus far. I have tried other more expensive bottles and they do not compare to this one. This one is great value for the price. Great smoky flavor and very smooth. Perfect for sipping. Even my mom who does not drink much alcohol asks for a shot for sipping every time she comes over.

ToastyMick

ToastyMick

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A little thin. Although it is smoky it feels thin to me. Great for the price however. A nice balanced flavor with the usual notes

Safetyline29

Safetyline29

8 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Montelobos Espadin is very smokey on the nose. It opens up nicely yet has a petrol finish. It is very citrusy with strong hints of ash and charred mesquite. Enjoyable and affordable.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

37 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

nope, not a fan of the espadin – the tobala and ensemble are sooo good though, it makes up for the espadin

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

38 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I had this blind, so keep that in mind when reading these notes

Nose: Earthy, Minerality, lemon zest, brine, light smoked meat, cream cheese,

Palate: Light mouthfeel, light cream cheese, slight earthy minerality, light campfire smoke.

Finish: Short, brine, minerals, black pepper, light cream funk, light campfire smoke.

Rating: 5/10

This isn’t bad, it has some good flavors going on it, but it feels really muted and could benefit from a bit more proof perhaps. Its inoffensive. The nose writes a check the palate and finish could not cash.

This has good stuff going on under it all, and the nose was interesting. However, it is knocked down for just falling into the inoffensive side of the flavor spectrum for me. For a budget option though, you could do much worse and this would be a good bottle to introduce someone to Mezcal, and good budget option.

I had this blind, so keep that in mind when reading these notes
Nose: Earthy, Minerality, lemon zest, brine, light smoked meat, cream cheese,
Palate: Light mouthfeel, light cream cheese, slight earthy minerality, light campfire smoke.
Finish: Short, brine, minerals, black pepper, light cream funk, light campfire smoke.
Rating: 5/10
This isn’t bad, it has some good flavors going on it, but it feels really muted and could benefit from a bit more proof perhaps. Its inoffensive. The nose writes a

Read more
MezPal20

MezPal20

5 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A nose of roasted green peppers, burnt mild white cheese, a touch of mineral, and a hint of sugar water. The taste is sweet and vegetal at the same time, with notes of fresh agave, charred wood, and white pepper. Thin, yet viscous mouthfeel. The finish begins with a hint of salt and green citrus, like lime or pomelo, more spicy pepper, and then fades to a nice semidry smokiness.
This is the first artesanal mezcal I’ve ever tried, and only the second mezcal ever if you count Monte Albán, so I don’t have a lot of experience to draw from. However, I’ve tried over 100 scotches in my time and I tend to lean towards the Islays. As a lover of smoky libations I can tell you, you can’t go wrong with this!

A nose of roasted green peppers, burnt mild white cheese, a touch of mineral, and a hint of sugar water. The taste is sweet and vegetal at the same time, with notes of fresh agave, charred wood, and white pepper. Thin, yet viscous mouthfeel. The finish begins with a hint of salt and green citrus, like lime or pomelo, more spicy pepper, and then fades to a nice semidry smokiness.
This is the first artesanal mezcal I’ve ever tried, and only the second mezcal ever if you count Monte Albán, so I

Read more
maysville

maysville

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Definitely a go to bottle for introducing my friends to Mezcal. Easy drinking. Well balanced smoky flavor. Not overly intense.

MssMadrid

MssMadrid

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smoky and well balanced. Organic Mezcal. Good value for money

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Honey, pineapple, citrus, clay, creamy. A nice blend of sweet and earthy, without a lot of ethanol or pungent character.

Not a massive flavorful beast but very nice and a solid array of flavors. Nothing mindblowing, but nothing bad, either. A good budget option.

JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Good quality stuff if a bit unexciting. A well made matatlan espadin. Does what it says on the tin.

kevjo

kevjo

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Found this Mezcal incredibly easy to drink with a very smooth mouthfeel. I found it to be more of a smooth smokey tequila than a complex mezcal blossoming with nuanced flavour. I would purchase it as an entry from tequila to mezcal or for an easy tequilasque sipper. Would buy if reasonably priced.

bertie

bertie

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

One of my favorites – nice smoky flavor and relatively inexpensive for a mezcal. Great bang for the buck.

Aevillalobos

Aevillalobos

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is by far the best Mezcal, real smoky, charcoal, wood, pepper. I highly recommend it

AndreAbiRamia

AndreAbiRamia

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Alcohol, leather, sugar on the nose. Herbal? Syrupy, sweet, fruity on the mouth. Oily. Light smokiness far away. Mineral, peppery finish. Expected more.
Lote número: VB4619

rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smokey, pungent, and sweet. Lots of smoke all arround, but it’s offset by other characteristics like citrus. While it had a vegetal green agave pungency, it also had sweet cooked agave, especially on the palate. A strong black pepper and mineral finish with oily mouthfeel. I’m not necessarily saying this is a bad thing, but that pungent note makes this taste more like a “smokey Tequila” than a mezcal.

Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This was the first mezcal I ever tried down in México. This is a very beginner mezcal. It tasted very clean, very sugary, very light.

I had not found this back in the states until I had tried several dozen other mezcal. I agree with others. There is nothing wrong with this mezcal, it just does not have the depth that I have grown to love in other mezcal.

Use this one to introduce your friends or to mix. You cant go wrong with those uses.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I just didn’t find anything special about this one. Typical Espadin that is good for mixing, but nothing that spoke out to me in this one.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

324 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

One of my favorite espadins. Has all the classic notes, and a clean sharp smell that doesnt overpower you. Slight oil on the finish, fantastic, especially for the price/availability

Icypu

Icypu

8 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Amazing smell that’s well developed and smooth. Smells like wood bark. Earthy flavor with smooth smokiness, my favorite joven so far. Bottle iw2769.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose: Tree bark, twigs, antiseptic cream, wet leaves, roasted cashews, green bell peppers, baked potatoes, damp earth, ground coffee, unripe conference pears, excellent nose!

Taste: Sweet, I get cooked apples and pears, brown sugar, sweet potato fries, celery, fennel, a real meaty smoke, bacon and kippers.

Comments: Smells amazing, tastes good. An all round winner, 4 and a half stars.

codysorgenfrey1

codysorgenfrey1

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Love the care for the craft Iván and the team at Montelobos put into each bottle. Very smooth, I highly recommend this brand and can’t wait for their other bottles to make it to the US!

Tyler

Tyler

532 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

At first glance, Montelobos seems to straddle the line between artisanal and industrial mezcal. They only have one offering in a fancy bottle: a joven espadin. I heard the company bought the roof of a well-utilized small town palenque so their mezcal could capture the same natural fermentation notes that had baked into the original roof from previous decades – much like a well-used BBQ pit continues to impart richer flavors as time passes. If true, that’s very intriguing.

At any rate, this is good stuff.. especially for mixing. The ABV is 43% so the mezcal flavors will remain prominent in cocktails like an old fashioned or paloma. Drinking neat, Montelobos has a subtle smoke, nice vanilla notes, and some nice vegetal flavors for a well-priced espadin. Some of the standard espadin mezcals taste watered down but this is a nice full-flavored espadin. My rating would be 3.5 stars; will be keeping a bottle of this on the shelf for all occasions.

At first glance, Montelobos seems to straddle the line between artisanal and industrial mezcal. They only have one offering in a fancy bottle: a joven espadin. I heard the company bought the roof of a well-utilized small town palenque so their mezcal could capture the same natural fermentation notes that had baked into the original roof from previous decades – much like a well-used BBQ pit continues to impart richer flavors as time passes. If true, that’s very intriguing.
At any rate

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top