Powered by 100% agave

Montelobos Espadin

Montelobos Espadin is an artisanal mezcal crafted by mezcalero Don Abel Lopez in Santiago Matatlán.

About this mezcal

Montelobos Joven is an artisanal Mezcal made in Santiago Matatlán produced with 100% organically certified agave Espadín. This Mezcal is crafted by biologist and distiller Iván Saldaña and mezcalero Don Abel Lopez. It is made according to Saldaña’s vision and passion for agave and artisanal mezcal with respect for traditional production methods, sustainability, and the quality of life in the communities and families who have produced mezcal for generations.

Montelobos Mezcal

Montelobos has business ties to William Grant & Sons, the makers of scotch whisky. Iván Saldaña, who has a background in molecular plant biology, founded Montelobos Mezcal. Saldaña worked with two mezcal-producing families in Oaxaca and Puebla. The mezcal is popular inside Mexico and is also exported. Montelobos Mezcal is committed to sustainability and has pledged to never use wild agaves in their mezcal production.

In October 2019, Campari Group (Davide Campari-Milano SpA) purchased a controlling stake in Montelobos. The $35.7 million USD investment also included a majority stake in Ancho Reyes chili liqueur.

 

The Montelobos Mezcal Project on Tequila Aficionado

Review: Montelobos Mezcal Joven on Drinkhacker

 

Member rating

3.52 out of 5

46 reviews

betweentwotobalas

betweentwotobalas

25 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Bottles VK1219, VK6070. Cuauhtémoc Lopez. 43.2%

Not quite “exquisito” as their label suggests but solid enough. I have two bottles from either end of lot VK. Both share the same notes of roasted agave, lemon, vanilla, acetone, cocoa, green stems and smoke. I generally have a positive view of Montelobos, but I find I spend more time contemplating their branding and positioning than what’s inside their bottle. Otherwise, a good value espadin.

La-vaca-lechera

La-vaca-lechera

8 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Vegetal, jalapeño pepper, chipotle burn. Not unpleasant, especially for the price point. But for 5-10 dollars more, there are better options out there. It’s 2/5 for sipping neat, 3/5 for mixes, and 4/5 for bang for your buck/accessibility. Milder than the Vida Clasico, but still catching some acetone burn on the finish that might leave some beginners reeling

Bootlegger

Bootlegger

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Easy to drink, good for someone who doesn’t like mezcal but finds themselves nonetheless in a position of needing to drink mezcal. Also good for those of us with more sensitive or youthful taste buds.

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Really enjoyable. Reoccurring bottle for me.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Lot: OI1208, 43.2% abv

Review #51: lime, smoke and wood dominate the nose. More of that comes to the palate with dry earth, bitter grass, dry peppers and some cinnamon covered apples. The finish is smokey and vegetal.

It’s a fine entry level mezcal but I would recommend many others to start with. I think it is a little hot for the abv. Also i find it brash and astringent on the mid palate and finish. The flavors are not bad but they certainly aren’t very good.

Imperium

Imperium

105 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of the first mezcals I bought, and this is my go-to for cocktails. It’s not bad to sip, either. There are much better espadins out there, but for the price this hits a good sweet spot.

Thankin_Hank

Thankin_Hank

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

At the Fiesta Americana Hotel 5/4/2023. I had this once before at a Casino in Oklahoma and was impressed. I’m still impressed. Love the heat in this and the smokey flavor is good.

Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

45 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Airport bar, couldn’t see bottle. Decent espadin.

Howzer

Howzer

3 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very pleasant Espadin, perfect for intrducing someone new to Mezcal.
A gentle smokiness, notes of herbs, chocolate and leather on the nose. Very slight alcohol bite, easy to sip and enjoy.

Mezcajeff

Mezcajeff

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Délicieux, agréable seul ou en cocktail. Rapport qualité prix imbattable.

Will

Will

13 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: MQ8195
Has a very earthy aroma with hints of vegetables and cut grass. Not too smokey but definitely there. Two major flavors I get are pepper and citrus. Its not overly complex but for the price its a great introductory mezcal.

Threesunspots

Threesunspots

6 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Liked the smokey and complex taste a lot and should gave it 4 stars if it hadn´t give me as big bad hangover. Gave the rest of bottle to my neighbor and same with him, the worst hangover in decades. Most be some manufacturing problems as no other mentions it? Have tried Montelobos Tobala and Pechuga with no problem at all.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Closer to a 3.25/5
but really enjoy this one for a ‘commercial’ widely available Mezcal. Second time buying the bottle.
Smoke! Campfire / roasted fruit
Chocolate, forest, forest fire, stone fruit, orchard fruit.
A little boozy for ~43% but the price redeemed that.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

20-001
Really good, solid smell. Citrus. Some heat. Great value, peppery taste. Maybe a bit too hot but for the money this is both a great cocktail mezcal and one that can be sipped in a pinch.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Earthy and complex workhorse of an espadin. One star extra for the price. Some vanilla and woody smoke on the nose, but balanced. Baked apple and subdued agave fruit, cloves and mild smoke.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

43 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: IU0405. 43.2%
Balance of some smoke/ash and heat. Aroma is earthy, baked apple, honey. Flavor carries over the baked apple with sweet potato and dark bbq sauce. Actually not bad. Good flavor, but not much depth to it. Good starter mezcal, not overwhelmingly smokey and not much heat. Sip or mix. Good price point

Tmwilliams

Tmwilliams

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Montelobos Joven is an artisanal mezcal with a little sweetness and is citrusy in taste and scent which is nice with some light pepper notes. There’s a smokiness to this mezcal that’s subtle enough to taste and it works well allowing you to taste the citrus and rounds out this mezcal. Overall a nice mezcal to sip or mix. 

nklein

nklein

3 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I was disappointed by Montelobos Espadin, the nose is intriguing, but for me the palate was just too flat. In my opinion, Union Uno (for sipping/mixing) and Fidencio Clasico (for mixing) are better options at this price point.

Jkleinschrodt

Jkleinschrodt

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I’ve tried a few mezcal previously but this is first bottle of mezcal I’ve purchased! Slightly sweet, herbaceous, and light smoke. I like it!

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A very well-made Espadin. Clean and crisp, with delightful smoke on the nose and palate. Oily on the tongue, with notes of lemon peel and dried fruits that hold through the finish. This mezcal gets and extra star for being a win-win-win: It is a quality sipper, a solid mixer in high-end cocktails, and sells at a bargain price. LOTE/Btl: IL4760.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top