Powered by 100% agave

Real Minero Cuishe

Real Minero Cuishe is actually made with agave Rhodacantha, not Karwinskii. The use of the name Cuishe varies based on location.

About this mezcal

Real Minero Cuishe is made with Agave Rhodacantha, which is what most other brands would consider maguey Mexicano. Most other brands use the name Cuishe for an agave Karwinskii. That’s not the case for Mezcal Real Minero in Santa Catarina Minas. This mezcal is made with semi-wild agave that begin life in the vast Real Minero nursery.  Once the agave reach the appropriate age and size, they are transported and planted in semi-wild locations. All mezcal Real Minero is traditionally produced in small batches that are distilled in clay pots.

Real Minero Mezcal

Real Minero is considered by many to be one of the world's finest Mezcal producers. The family has been making mezcal for several generations in Santa Catarina Minas, and they're known both in Mexico and abroad for creating some of the best bottles available. All of their mezcal is made in small clay pot stills, and almost all of it is rested in glass for several months before bottling, giving the mezcal a much softer character. Outside of creating great spirits, they also have one of the largest and most diverse sustainable agave reforestation programs. With the help of the community, they've been able to rescue several agave varieties that were previously thought to be extinct. The ABV of each batch may vary slightly, so check your bottle for details.

Read more about our visit to the Real Minero Agave Nursery and Palenque Tour.

Listen to Graciela Angeles Carreño talk about her family's production on the Show De Vie Podcast: Ep 291 – Graciela Angeles Carreño – The Real Thing.

9 reviews

4.17 out of 5

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Lot RMC-01 2015

I’m a fan, nothing more to say that hasn’t already been said. Real Minero does everything very well.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

371 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Batch: DARMC-01 Bottle: 66/126 (ABV: 53.1%)
Nose – Delicious clay. Plain cheesecake.

Palate – Buttery chocolate chip cookie. A slight asiago cheese note. Ocean cobblestone salinity. Extremely long sweet, clay finish. Lordy, this is desert island realm mezcal.

LittleArm

LittleArm

26 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

RMC-01 tasting about 30 seconds after popping the bottle for the first time so it is still a little hot but not unpleasantly so. Pretty mellow on the nose, vaguely sweet with a little smoke. Sweet, earthy, banana heavy (not like runts but actual bananas,) little caramel and super silky. Dark chocolate style bitterness/sweetness on the quick finish. If this gets any better with age it might sneak into 4.5-5 star territory

meserole

meserole

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Warm but not too hot. A bit of viscosity, with a nice smooth tongue feel. Buttery and bright, like carmelized bananas and the taste of sun-baked clay comes through too. Delicious dessert mezcal.

Lot DRMC-06 (2019) Bottle 110/158. Purchased at the Real Minero palenque.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot RMC-01, distilled 2015. Dark-roasted coffee and dark chocolate dominate the flavour profile. And, yes, as has already been said by an earlier reviewer, there are certainly bananas in there. Quite dry, and a little bitter on the aftertaste.

JDB

JDB

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

RMC-01, 2015, 242 liters, bottle 226/282, Mezcalero Lorenzo. Super sweet, caramel, sweet potato, hints of cinnamon, not as complex as their Barril, but very good nonetheless. Glad to have nursed this bottle for three years. Keeps on improving. Not sure it would last another three though.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

127 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

this was a bottle i had opened last year.i was hoping that time would mellow this mezcal but not much had changed.it is a quality mezcal but a slight let down compared to the other mezcals from this label.it is labeled as cuihe but this refers to a mexicano or close relative.the nose doesnt offer much but slight smell of agave.the entry is harsh.i like mezcals that have a bite (like the vago) and some heat but you can have that quality without being harsh.that is the only complaint i have about this bottle.once the heat fades there are dark chocolate notes with black pepper and a delicious mineral finish.if it had a little more smoothness, it would be an easy 4 star.UPDATE 4/24/19.i decided to revisit this mezcal.i took the top off and let it sit for a few hours.wow! this bottle really mellowed out.more sweet layers emerged.one reviewer mentioned bananas and that sweet quality came out.silky texture and finish!4 and half stars.delightful!

this was a bottle i had opened last year.i was hoping that time would mellow this mezcal but not much had changed.it is a quality mezcal but a slight let down compared to the other mezcals from this label.it is labeled as cuihe but this refers to a mexicano or close relative.the nose doesnt offer much but slight smell of agave.the entry is harsh.i like mezcals that have a bite (like the vago) and some heat but you can have that quality without being harsh.that is the only complaint i have about

Read more
rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

190/282 RMC-01 2015. Sampled at a tasting put on by William Scanlan. I’ll be honest, there was one aspect about this one that hit me so hard, I barely recall anything else: BANANAS!

I feel bad, because as soon my buddies and I started sipping on this one, I just blurted it out and they complained they couldn’t think of anything else other than bananas – the ripe and sweet kind. I did like it and would consider adding a bottle to my collection.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot RMT-01. Bottle 102/120 from 2015. This has some classic Mexicano tastes of dark rich chocolate mixed with wet leaves in the fall. It kind of smells and tastes like autumn in New Hampshire. This is hard to find and totally worth the search.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top