Powered by 100% agave

Real Minero Largo

Real Minero Largo is made with maguey Largo, which is similar or synonymous with Tobaziche, depending on the community and local nomenclature.

Rating: (57 reviews)
Cost:$$$
Brand:Real Minero
NOM:NOM-O37X
Mezcalero:Edgar Angeles, Lorenzo Angeles
Maguey:Largo
Agave:Karwinskii
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 48%
Age of plant: 14 years
Website: https://realminero.com.mx/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Real Minero Largo is made with maguey Largo, which is a member of the Agave karwinskii family. Real Minero Largo can be peppery with notes of peanuts and coconut. It’s known by many as one of the finer mezcals on the market and it is reportedly the favorite of Graciela, who runs Real Minero operations.

Real Minero

Real Minero (previously Mezcal Real Minero) is considered by many to be one of the world’s finest mezcal producers. The Angeles family has been making mezcal for several generations in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca. Their mezcal is made in small clay pot stills, and almost all of it is rested in glass for several months before bottling, giving the mezcal a much softer character. Outside of creating great spirits, they also have one of the largest and most diverse sustainable agave reforestation programs. With the help of the community, they’ve been able to rescue several agave varieties that were previously thought to be extinct. The ABV of each batch may vary slightly, so check your bottle for details.

In 2020, the brand began dropping the word “mezcal” from their labels. The term “traditional” replaces the CRM “ancestral” designation. Shortly thereafter, the brand officially parted ways with the certification process; all future releases will be labeled as “agave spirits” or something similar. Despite the label changes, nothing significant about their production process has changed over years.

Learn more:

Real Minero Largo mezcal

Member rating

4.39 out of 5

57 reviews

Bryen

Bryen

55 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

I really love anything I’ve tried from Real Minero and the Largo is somewhat of a staple from them. Bought this at Rosewood in Mayakoba while we were on vacation and paid way too much for it but downed it in 4 days lol really solid Karwinskii, green, bright, vegetal, but also a bit sweet too. Clay pot adds a beautiful texture and its so easy to sip, hence downing it so quick. Tastes like Minas.

Ben P

Ben P

117 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch DRML-14 Harvest 2019 ABV: 49.06%

Nose: earthy, dark cherry, sawdust, peanut butter

Palate: I really like this, honey grilled peppers, bright cinnamon, a bit of cherry limeade infused with mint and cilantro, lavender. Finish is bitter minerality, cocoa nibs, leather, tart kiwi

Solid from Real Minero and a fun clay karwinskii. Funny the earthy nose didn’t translate to the palate as much for me.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

49.?% abv, lot DRML-14

Review #70: nose has carmelized banana, earth, chocolate, leather, and barbecue chips. Palate is full of chocolate covered bananas, some mix of fresh green vegetals, and as the finish comes there’s clay, leather, and cinnamon with decent minerality.

I’m a sucker for chocolate with banana so this just hits the spot for me. It has some decent supporting flavors but those two notes dominate the nose and palate. There’s arguably not a ton of complexity on this, but I enjoy it enough that I don’t really care. It does what it does well and I love that about it.

49.?% abv, lot DRML-14
Review #70: nose has carmelized banana, earth, chocolate, leather, and barbecue chips. Palate is full of chocolate covered bananas, some mix of fresh green vegetals, and as the finish comes there’s clay, leather, and cinnamon with decent minerality.
I’m a sucker for chocolate with banana so this just hits the spot for me. It has some decent supporting flavors but those two notes dominate the nose and palate. There’s arguably not a ton of complexity on th

Read more
Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

* Bottle: 63/133
* Batch: DRML-25
* Harvest: 2022
* ABV: 49.50% (Still Strength)

I found this to be an excellent Karwinskii.

Nose had a medium blue cheese funk that is balanced perfectly with some earthy clay tones, they all really presented themselves well together.

Rich soil, blueberries and a brief hint of mint were all present and give an excellent overall taste. The (again very pleasant) flavors quickly fade though and left behind a long lasting sweet yet slightly too much alcohol burn…

This is an excellent overall juice IMO that I would happily partake in again at any given time even with its’ larger price point. Great; not earth shattering but great.

* Bottle: 63/133
* Batch: DRML-25
* Harvest: 2022
* ABV: 49.50% (Still Strength)
I found this to be an excellent Karwinskii.
Nose had a medium blue cheese funk that is balanced perfectly with some earthy clay tones, they all really presented themselves well together.
Rich soil, blueberries and a brief hint of mint were all present and give an excellent overall taste. The (again very pleasant) flavors quickly fade though and left behind a long lasting sweet yet slightly too much alcohol burn̷

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

105 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch No. DRML-21 123/261

Bright pepper nose, some green trunk smell from the karwinskii, mineral notes. It smells better and better as you go.

Tastes like a smoky cuishe, with an after burn that continues that flavor profile. It’s intense. Meatiness is subsequent sips, peanut flavors and some clay in there. Stays a little too hot for my taste.

geralf75

geralf75

11 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

The flavor is light, but complex, it starts biting on the tongue

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Have tried a few different batches of this over the years. My notes say:

RML 05 Don Lorenzo (ended up going through two bottles of this batch, notes are compilation of both):
Extremely boozy upon first opening. After sitting for a month, exceptional. Soft, supple that opens up into a world of dry pine and sage. It tastes the way a steppe/high plain smells just after a rain. The finish goes on for minutes and minutes slowly transitioning into something sweeter. It tastes almost like a juicier, more balanced madrecuishe.
5 stars, one of the best bottles I have had

RML 08 Edgar
Very different batch, this one has a peanut and mossy rock smell upon first opening up the bottle. Taste is on the sweeter end of the spectrum with flavors juicier and wetter. The finish also goes on forever, though flavor wise less balanced.
4 stars

RML 11 Edgar
More oily/richer on the palette – a bit bolder in flavor too. Somewhere between the two aforementioned batches in flavor. Lots of vegetation on the palette mixed with a sweetness. Incredibly balanced, though the finish doesn’t last along as either of the other bottles.
4.5 stars

Have tried a few different batches of this over the years. My notes say:
RML 05 Don Lorenzo (ended up going through two bottles of this batch, notes are compilation of both):
Extremely boozy upon first opening. After sitting for a month, exceptional. Soft, supple that opens up into a world of dry pine and sage. It tastes the way a steppe/high plain smells just after a rain. The finish goes on for minutes and minutes slowly transitioning into something sweeter. It tastes almost like a juicier, mo

Read more
JDB

JDB

170 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Bottle 226/248 Lot: DTRML-03 2019 ABV: 49.9%

Sampled several pours of this Largo at Deckman’s in Baja in January 2023. At about twelve dollars a pour, you do have to have several pours. Second time with a largo from Real Minero since 2017. Not as great the barrill and not as luscious as the cuish we purchased from real minero in 2017, but this is a great karwinskii nonetheless. Not the nose of other karwinskiis, not the grassy or herbal aromas. A bit of thyme though and light sweetness. The flavors are quite delicious. Spiciness, caramel, and that same light herbal essence. The clay is not as pronounced as the barrill but so well balanced.

Bottle 226/248 Lot: DTRML-03 2019 ABV: 49.9%
Sampled several pours of this Largo at Deckman’s in Baja in January 2023. At about twelve dollars a pour, you do have to have several pours. Second time with a largo from Real Minero since 2017. Not as great the barrill and not as luscious as the cuish we purchased from real minero in 2017, but this is a great karwinskii nonetheless. Not the nose of other karwinskiis, not the grassy or herbal aromas. A bit of thyme though and

Read more
Metl_heads

Metl_heads

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Green, mineral, tropical fruit, clay, floral, anise
Roast: 7/10

logar

logar

20 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Soft, fruity, very fresh and with slightly smoky, friendly aroma. The flavor is light, but complex, it starts biting on the tongue and spreads through the throat. The taste remains for a while and it gradually disappears. Great flavor, very friendly.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smells of pine needle, dried mango and red wine gums. An alcohol burn strikes on the palate at first, but is quickly followed by coconut and peanut with the brown skin on, mace, dates, carambola and papaya. Lingers nicely, clay influence is just a base note
throughout. A bit disappointed over the alcohol bite, but it was soon forgotten. Not quite as viscous mouthfeel as I would expect from all the reviews, but still very smooth. No batch I’m afraid.

Billy

Billy

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch RML-07, Bottle 327/766 (48.9% abv). wild agave.

Nose of pine and cement.

Taste of root beer, clay, and some tropical fruit, maybe some minerality. The mouthfeel is smooth and lasts for over a minute. Great sipping mezcal.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch DRML-14 / Harvest 2019 / Btl No (USA) 88/193

I love this incredible Karwinskii expression from Edgar just as much as his father’s expressions of this agave. This liquid stands out to me with great minerality, stone fruit, white pepper and a lightly pleasant funk, it is so intriguing. Real Minero Largo is a standard for SCM in my opinion.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Jungle soil. Jasmine flower.

Palate – Earthy and floral. This was a 2 oz. bar pour in a copita and I thought it was just OK for the price (somewhat flat actually). I didn’t get a batch number. I’ll definitely try a different batch in the future because I love the brand and so many people really enjoy this expression.

Pablito

Pablito

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote RML- 12 June 2019 – 175 Liters. Edgar Carreno.
I had great expectations and it didn’t disappoint. Excellent mezcal.
Pretty spectacular nose: oregano, thyme, sage, calamint, lemon zest, cotton candy. Great mouthfeel, creamy, warm, smooth, spicy, incredibly smooth, hard to believe it’s 52.4 %.
Without a doubt, one of the best expressions of mezcales. Love it.

MezcAleman

MezcAleman

28 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

LOTE: RML-17 – Bottle 11/264
Clay, smoke and vegetables nicely balanced on the nose
Smooth and silky on the palate, very pleasant. I tastes greens and minerals with hints of tropical fruit. Very enjoyable! Is going to be one of my favorites.

Leif

Leif

8 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

greatly balanced, vegetal mezcal. very soft nose, almost menthol. creamy complex palate, taste of nuts and dried dates. exactly as you would expect from the karwinskii cultivar. finishes slightly bitter which dries the palate for the next pull. pleasurable through and through

efoster13

efoster13

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

RML-11 2019, Edgar Angeles Carreño, 54.1%. Just gorgeous. I often tear up a bit when drinking this mezcal because it’s just.so.damn.beautiful. There are high notes of sticky fruit on the nose as well as funky notes of leather and musk. Also meaty/smoky notes. The flavor is all of that and then some. It goes down dangerously easily at 54%, rounded, muscular but supple, it’s just a perfect example of what Minas mezcal can be. Can’t wait to try other batches….

RML-11 2019, Edgar Angeles Carreño, 54.1%. Just gorgeous. I often tear up a bit when drinking this mezcal because it’s just.so.damn.beautiful. There are high notes of sticky fruit on the nose as well as funky notes of leather and musk. Also meaty/smoky notes. The flavor is all of that and then some. It goes down dangerously easily at 54%, rounded, muscular but supple, it’s just a perfect example of what Minas mezcal can be. Can’t wait to try other batches….

Read more
meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smells like spa-water – maybe a strawberry cucumber infusion? No heat at all, in fact, almost cooling to the tongue, like mint, cilantro, green herbs. Vegetal and smooth. I think you could use this as a breath freshener.

Lot RML-17 (2020), bottle 109/246. Purchased at the Real Minero palenque in 2021.

Wine65

Wine65

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nice balance not too sweet. Has a prominent cocoa-earthy note that appears midway and remains thru the finish. Very enjoyable.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top