Powered by 100% agave

Real Minero Marteño

Real Minero Marteño is produced by maestro mezcalero Edgar Angeles in the beautiful community of Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Real Minero
NOM:NOM-O37X
Mezcalero:Edgar Angeles
Maguey:Marteño
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 51.09%
Age of plant: 13 years
Batch size: ARMM-01: 123 litres
Website: https://realminero.com.mx/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Real Minero Marteño is made using maguey Marteño (agave Karwinskii) in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca. This Marteño is another great example of the agave-wealth found in the Real Minero nursery. The family has been collecting and cultivating these endangered sub-varietals for generations. In many cases, they are the only producers with living communities of these magueyes, carefully allowing the appropriate amount of each species to go to seed to ensure future generations of these heirloom agave spirits.

Real Minero

Real Minero (previously Mezcal Real Minero) is considered by many to be one of the world’s finest mezcal producers. The Angeles family has been making mezcal for several generations in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca. Their mezcal is made in small clay pot stills, and almost all of it is rested in glass for several months before bottling, giving the mezcal a much softer character. Outside of creating great spirits, they also have one of the largest and most diverse sustainable agave reforestation programs. With the help of the community, they’ve been able to rescue several agave varieties that were previously thought to be extinct. The ABV of each batch may vary slightly, so check your bottle for details.

In 2020, the brand began dropping the word “mezcal” from their labels. The term “traditional” replaces the CRM “ancestral” designation. Shortly thereafter, the brand officially parted ways with the certification process; all future releases will be labeled as “agave spirits” or something similar. Despite the label changes, nothing significant about their production process has changed over years.

Learn more:

7 reviews

4.5 out of 5

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Tried this at their palenque. Earth and stone notes. Thyme. Granny Smith apple. Sea salt in the finish. This expression was the first of many. I love Real Minero!!! 🤩

COak

COak

195 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Bottle 5/60. Batch AEMM-01. This is awesome. Fresh rain Water! Salt water taffy. Lucious. One of my favorite recent offerings from RM.

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch ARMM-01
Bottle 38/60 from 2019.
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of earthy clay, wet stone, chalk, wet soil and pine, honeysuckle, mandarin, wax, floral, green peppers, aloe vera, lemon, green apple skin.
Powerful aroma intensity, complex production.
Average length and fine character.
?- Coating effect; smooth sufficiently generous alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour taste with sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of lemon & lime zest, ginger, peppers, aloe vera, tart apple, honey, earthy clay, and ripe roasted vegetal note.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slight complex character, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Excellent overall impression.

*Elegantly balanced & rounded. Not overly complex, but not underwhelming, very nice display of terroir and typicity.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Batch ARMM-01
Bottle 38/60 from 2019.
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of earthy clay, wet stone, chalk, wet soil and pine, honeysuckle, mandarin, wax, floral, green peppers, aloe vera, lemon, green apple skin.
Powerful aroma intensity, complex production.
Average length and fine character.
?- Coating effect; smooth sufficiently generous alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour taste with sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of lemon & lime zest, ginger, peppers, aloe

Read more
Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose has hints of wet stone, earth, sage and clay.
On the palate, a mint and eucalyptus sensation is preceded by a nuance of earthiness, nut, fruit, wet leaves, mineral and clay. Rich and delicious. A finish reminiscent of the Lalo SM. Really good stuff!

Tyler

Tyler

583 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

First tasted this amongst a bunch of other amazing mezcals and it didn’t stand out. Later tasted it alone and was blown away so I grabbed a full bottle. I’m not the biggest fan of the nutty notes in Edgar’s mezcals but this Marteño has much more. Wrigley’s Doublemint comes to mind. Backdrop of hominy and rain water. Glad I scooped up this one. Lot: ARMM-01. Bottle 08/60 USA.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edit: broke down and bought a bottle. 2nd time was much much better. Classic earthiness meets savorty huitlacoche-type notes. Some kiwi thrown in there as well. Wowsers. Unlike any mezcal ive had before

Part of a self made flight at Suerte, in Austin. Had two chacolos, the RM San Martinero and this one. This was my least favorite of the 4. I like my mezcals more light, grassy, ans fruit forward tbh… and I think this one is just not my bag. Got a lot of funky metal and some musty plastic… almost like an old tarp. It was oily and the heft was perfect in my mouth, but I just didnt love this one. Glad I didnt buy a bottle.

Edit: broke down and bought a bottle. 2nd time was much much better. Classic earthiness meets savorty huitlacoche-type notes. Some kiwi thrown in there as well. Wowsers. Unlike any mezcal ive had before
Part of a self made flight at Suerte, in Austin. Had two chacolos, the RM San Martinero and this one. This was my least favorite of the 4. I like my mezcals more light, grassy, ans fruit forward tbh… and I think this one is just not my bag. Got a lot of funky metal and some musty plastic

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: ARMM-01. Bottle 48/60 USA. An instant favorite. This is a top 3 of 2020 for me. Absolutely stellar in every aspect of the juice. It has that classic peanuts-and-wet-leaves that I get on a lot of Edgar’s mezcals, but then it really soars from there. Aromas of peanuts, wet leaves, fresh mint, cilantro, spring breeze, pollen in the morning, and dried basil. The palate is equally as rich. Notes of peanuts, new mud, celery salt, fresh moringa, spearmint bubble gum, aftershave with aloe, and overripe peaches. Coats the palate.

Lot: ARMM-01. Bottle 48/60 USA. An instant favorite. This is a top 3 of 2020 for me. Absolutely stellar in every aspect of the juice. It has that classic peanuts-and-wet-leaves that I get on a lot of Edgar’s mezcals, but then it really soars from there. Aromas of peanuts, wet leaves, fresh mint, cilantro, spring breeze, pollen in the morning, and dried basil. The palate is equally as rich. Notes of peanuts, new mud, celery salt, fresh moringa, spearmint bubble gum, aftershave with aloe, an

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top