Powered by 100% agave

Tio Pesca Coyote

Tio Pesca Coyote is an ancestral mezcal made by hand with the wild maguey Coyote in the town of Sola de Vega, Oaxaca, Mexico.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Tio Pesca Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O258X
Mezcalero:Fernando Mitra
Maguey:Coyote
Agave:Americana
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Sola de Vega
ABV: 47%
Website: https://tiopesca.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Tio Pesca Coyote is made with wild maguey Coyote in the remote town of Sola de Vega, Oaxaca. The town of Sola de Vega is known for its clay pot distillation, and this clay-pot distilled mezcal is made by maestro mezcalero Fernando Mitra. The agave are cooked in an underground pit oven, crushed by hand with mallets, fermented in Sabina wood vats, and double distilled in clay.

Tio Pesca Mezcal

Tío Pesca is a Santa Sabia Distillery project that brings an exclusive collection of ancestral palenques to the international market. They seek to preserve traditions and processing techniques that their ancestors have transmitted from generation to generation. Santa Sabia Distillery is also involved in Pescador de Suenos Mezcal, Aprendiz Mezcal, and Vecindad Tequila.

9 reviews

3.56 out of 5

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

168 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose: Subdued, watery, less herbaceous than expected but still with some basil and green peppercorn back there. Still smells of SdV, massive clay and agave. Americana from SdV is just really unique to me. There’s some similar fruit but less brightness and lactic notes, a little more floral (good white pepper, coconut) compared to the dryer sheets of above.

Palate: Balance, control, good texture. Nearly simplistic, hot, creamy. Oh shit, did I already say that? Some cream cheese on the finish, less acrid, but more clay dominated with some sour / acidic tones like lime juice helping with the nearly salty minerality. A touch hot and floral.

Nose: Subdued, watery, less herbaceous than expected but still with some basil and green peppercorn back there. Still smells of SdV, massive clay and agave. Americana from SdV is just really unique to me. There’s some similar fruit but less brightness and lactic notes, a little more floral (good white pepper, coconut) compared to the dryer sheets of above.
Palate: Balance, control, good texture. Nearly simplistic, hot, creamy. Oh shit, did I already say that? Some cream cheese on the finish, l

Read more
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tio pesca you’ve out done yourself Hands down best Mezcal out there.
The whole Tio Pesca line up is amazing. But Coyote hits different.
Perfect on the nose and amazing on your palate.
A must have to your home bar or at your local bar!
Cheers!

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch: TPCO 01 (Bottle: 169/353)
Nose: Suede. Peppered, teriyaki turkey jerky.

Palate: Spicy (white pepper) lychee (sweetness). Very hot finish – more white pepper, brine, some clay and a drop of sugar water.

Good 100 mL sample – glad I tried it.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose is a little sharp, lemonade and menthol. Green peppers, little to no clay presence.

HighWine

HighWine

63 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Aroma of toasted wood just before it begins to char, unripe tropical fruit, and minerality. Alcohol bite is first in the mouth but gives way to crusty French bread and smoke with the flesh of underripe stone fruit. Medium-full mouthfeel.

jklitzke

jklitzke

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smoke, white pepper, and some minerality on the medium strength nose. Some pleasant youthful spiritiness there too. Smoke leads on the palate, followed by a Sauvignon Blanc-like minerality and sourness accompanied by a hint of juniper leaf (not berry, more herbal). Finish is moderately long and pleasant but light, with the white wine note dominating. It’s good, nothing at all unpleasant about it to me, but not my favorite (I prefer to have big fat base notes, but this is fairly light overall).

Smoke, white pepper, and some minerality on the medium strength nose. Some pleasant youthful spiritiness there too. Smoke leads on the palate, followed by a Sauvignon Blanc-like minerality and sourness accompanied by a hint of juniper leaf (not berry, more herbal). Finish is moderately long and pleasant but light, with the white wine note dominating. It’s good, nothing at all unpleasant about it to me, but not my favorite (I prefer to have big fat base notes, but this is fairly light overa

Read more
bennyb12000

bennyb12000

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This Mezcal is delicious. I can’t wait to introduce this as an alternative to my friends who usually enjoy single match scotch whisky with that Highland region style and/or Armagnac’s or Cognac’s and rarely venture out. It’s medium viscous weight, long smooth finish, and flavors of apricot/peach, fruit compote, and roasted agave make this an all around crowd-pleaser Mezcal. I’m looking forward to ordering my next bottle.

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch TPCO. Bottle 307/353. Very light nose. Aromas of smoke and salinity and minerals. The palate has a touch of shellfish, smoke, and a bit of sour green fruit. Seems light and a bit watery. Not my jam.

Tyler

Tyler

580 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not a lot of clay. Finish was sour and unpleasant for me. The flavors mid-palate are just fine. Tasted next to Cuentacuentos Coyote and Siete Misterios Coyote and this was the least favorite. 2017. TPCO 01. Bottle 307/353. 2.5 stars.

FEB 2021 UPDATE – Tried the 2018 TPCO-01 batch and enjoyed it more. Some dense clay funk and sour fruit. Not very complex but much better than the previous batch. This was a 100ml mini bottle. 3.5 stars.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top