Powered by 100% agave

Tio Pesca Mexicano

Tio Pesca Mexicano is an ancestral mezcal made by hand with the wild maguey Mexicano in the town of Sola de Vega, Oaxaca, Mexico.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Tio Pesca Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O258X
Mezcalero:Fernando Mitra
Maguey:Mexicano
Agave:Rhodacantha
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Sola de Vega
ABV: 47%
Website: http://tiopesca.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Tio Pesca Mexicano is made with wild maguey Mexicano in the remote town of Sola de Vega, Oaxaca. The town of Sola de Vega is known for its clay pot distillation, and this clay-pot distilled mezcal is made by maestro mezcalero Fernando Mitra. The agave are cooked in an underground pit oven, crushed by hand with mallets, fermented in Sabina wood vats, and double distilled in clay.

Tio Pesca Mezcal

Tío Pesca is a Santa Sabia Distillery project that brings an exclusive collection of ancestral palenques to the international market. They seek to preserve traditions and processing techniques that their ancestors have transmitted from generation to generation. Santa Sabia Distillery is also involved in Pescador de Suenos Mezcal, Aprendiz Mezcal, and Vecindad Tequila.

9 reviews

3.78 out of 5

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch TPMX-01 from 2018: Aromas of old beat-in leather and a dusty shelf. You can smell the age on this, but it’s very faint. The palate has some vegetal notes of raw root vegetables, celery, and cabbage. More notes of ash, hot plastic, and a hint of chocolate on the finish. Overall it’s a bit thin and kind of watery. At 47%, I wouldn’t expect that.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

168 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose: Clean, clay and agave and fruit are matched nicely here in a clean package. Some leafy herbs, ink, and dryer sheets back that up – these [wider mouth than Glencairns] glasses really highlight “Mexicano” agave. Mild lactic tones, soft papaya. Maybe like a soft yogurt + fruit cup image comes to mind.

Palate: Balance, control, good texture. Nearly simplistic, hot, creamy. Transition to the finish starts ashy, but some fruit and herbs pull through to leave things less acrid. Chocolate tones, red velvet and such are becoming apparent to me later in this review, which isn’t always shocking for Mexicano.

Nose: Clean, clay and agave and fruit are matched nicely here in a clean package. Some leafy herbs, ink, and dryer sheets back that up – these [wider mouth than Glencairns] glasses really highlight “Mexicano” agave. Mild lactic tones, soft papaya. Maybe like a soft yogurt + fruit cup image comes to mind.
Palate: Balance, control, good texture. Nearly simplistic, hot, creamy. Transition to the finish starts ashy, but some fruit and herbs pull through to leave things less acrid. Chocolate to

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

580 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Clay heavy and spicy. Not bad but a little pungent on the finish. Not very complex. Seems watered down unfortunately. I like it a bit more than some of the other Tio Pescas that I’ve tried because of the zesty flavor of the Maguey Mexicano. I tend to lean towards mezcals from brands like Vago and Cuentacuentos when it comes to Sola de Vega. 2018, mini bottle 35/21(?)0, batch TPMX-01.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch: TPMX-01 (Bottle: 38/200, 2018)
Nose: Vegetal sweetness. Light cheese.

Palate: Tobacco. Salted butter. Medium viscosity on the mouth feel. Dark chocolate sweetness in the background. Good heat. Solid mineral finish but aftertaste is a bit too salty.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

A sweet nose of floral notes, dryer sheets and fruit snacks, Molasses, cooked agave on the nose, clean finish, Again, hard to tell its clay pot distilled.

HighWine

HighWine

63 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose of salt water, aged cheese, and clay. Taste falls a little flat for me. Mesquite wood, a touch of sweetness, and alcohol bite. Thin in the mouth. Sips ok but lacking.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Sola de Vega is one of my favorite producing regions and this offering is on the par with some of my favorite mezcal. All the characteristics of clay pot distillation – cream, butter, soft, smooth mouth feel with a delicious honey/nectar/nuttiness. Price per bottle is high but this Mexicano is worth it!

jklitzke

jklitzke

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I have to agree with juanquillo, this is one of the best mezcals, actually the very best mezcal I have ever had. What sets it apart for me is the deep richness of flavor and the full mouthfeel. My tasting notes (combined with my wife’s): Dominant super smooth caramel wave (specifically cajeta) supported by a bit of honey as the base note. Pine sap and juniper play the middle of the chord. At the top there’s grapefruit and a lovely acacia-like perfume (something like how desert floral drier sheets would smell if they made such a thing) wafting over all. Top notch stuff!

I have to agree with juanquillo, this is one of the best mezcals, actually the very best mezcal I have ever had. What sets it apart for me is the deep richness of flavor and the full mouthfeel. My tasting notes (combined with my wife’s): Dominant super smooth caramel wave (specifically cajeta) supported by a bit of honey as the base note. Pine sap and juniper play the middle of the chord. At the top there’s grapefruit and a lovely acacia-like perfume (something like how desert floral

Read more
juanquillo

juanquillo

8 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

one of the best mezcals I ever tried, taste really fresh for clay distilled.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top