Powered by 100% agave

Vago Elote – Hijos de Aquilino Garcia

Vago Elote from Hijos de Aquilino Garcia is produced by Temo and Mateo Garcia, the sons of the late Aquilino Garcia Lopez.

About this mezcal

Vago Elote from Hijos de Aquilino Garcia carries on the tradition of maestro mezcalero Aquilino Garcia Lopez. His sons, Temo and Mateo, have spent their lives working alongside Aquilino, learning the methods and knowledge that has been passed down through generations.

Like the Elote from Aquilino, before he passed away, this has a nose full of smoky toasted corn and dry river stones. The body is sweet with wood tones and layers of honeycomb, green tropical fruit, and smoke. This is a triple distilled Mezcal. Between the second and third distillations, the maestro adds roasted corn from the farm. The roasted corn taste shines through to the finish. This Mezcal still has hints of the Vago Espadin’s tough exterior, but its softer finish rounds the edges of the Espadin.

Read more about Mezcal Vago Elote on Mas Mezcal.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah’s longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand plants 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

In 2021, Mezcal Vago went through its first major brand redesign since their launch in 2013.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

Vago Elote Hijos de Aquilino

14 reviews

3.75 out of 5

Forpowder

Forpowder

18 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Lot A-23-EL-21 50.1% aroma’s out of the bottle are powerful acetone with sweet corn liquor likes Aromas. Taste is hot with mouth-coating creaminess. I do love this style.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

LOT: A_36_EL_21
49% ABV

Prickle on initial nasal impact.
First aroma impression is sweet. The aroma opens with campfire popped corn with melted butter warming next to it. Citrus cuts in, like freshly squeezed ruby red grapefruit. Just sliced jalapeno peppers (with ribs and seeds) on steroids compliment and balance the sweet corn and tart grapefruit citrus. Earthy, cinnamon, herbal, honeysuckle aromas develop as this mezcal opens up. Is there a touch of mint in the outfield here?
Buttery with generous heat on initial mouthfeel. The viscosity is evident on the glass.
Flavor matches the aroma but even more pronounced. Sweetness from the corn, brightness from the freshly cut grapefruit, butter and jalapeno dominate and entertain. The retro nasal here is insane …….. the outside of a fire pit toasted marshmallow provides the “smoke”.
You fight the finish – do I take another sip or do I let the finish evolve? (Let it evolve, it is forever building). This continues to develop long after your initial sip. Solid 4 stars. 5 stars for the bargain price (under 50). The sons have made their Dad proud. A must have

LOT: A_36_EL_21
49% ABV
Prickle on initial nasal impact.
First aroma impression is sweet. The aroma opens with campfire popped corn with melted butter warming next to it. Citrus cuts in, like freshly squeezed ruby red grapefruit. Just sliced jalapeno peppers (with ribs and seeds) on steroids compliment and balance the sweet corn and tart grapefruit citrus. Earthy, cinnamon, herbal, honeysuckle aromas develop as this mezcal opens up. Is there a touch of mint in the outfield here?
Buttery with gen

Read more
Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

A-11-EL-21

I was tasting this earlier and then I am now tasting it again for this review. The elote is definitely there, like a taste of summer on a cold winter evening in the north country. Or it might be a little much but can fit nicely into a progression. Might not replace this bottle but will definitely keep it until it’s gone.

Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

My photo of the bottle, which we sipped in January 2022 indicates it’s the “hijos,” that it’s 49.7% and there were 822 liters made. As one who gets his mezcal straight from the palenques, I don’t get to try the bigger brands much, but I’d been seeing this one online for awhile–and I’ll admit it sounded good to me.

After taking some time with it, all I can really say is that it tastes like a decent Espadín. I want to say I could detect those corn notes, but didn’t find them fully obvious to my palate. I’m sticking with “decent Espadín.”

My photo of the bottle, which we sipped in January 2022 indicates it’s the “hijos,” that it’s 49.7% and there were 822 liters made. As one who gets his mezcal straight from the palenques, I don’t get to try the bigger brands much, but I’d been seeing this one online for awhile–and I’ll admit it sounded good to me.
After taking some time with it, all I can really say is that it tastes like a decent Espadín. I want to say I could detect those corn n

Read more
Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

17 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Very hot, a tad sweet. Not a lot of smoke, a bit unbalanced. Essentially this tasted more like a vodka. I don’t know the lot, so I maybe need to give another bottle a go and give an update.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

21 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Am I crazy for finding this to be a kinda cheap party trick? VERY heavy on the toasted corn on the nose. Comes across as buttered popcorn jelly bean. Taste is like a pretty meh mezcal without a ton to write home about. Drinkable for sure but not something I’d rush back to.

danimal_xoxo

danimal_xoxo

9 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

LOT A2-13-EL-20 from November 2020.
1027 liters.

Aroma: lightly roasted corn on the cob, unsalted butter, acetone, cilantro, mineral, citrus

Flavor: green peppercorn, lime, sweet but packs a punch. high minerality but I get a touch of floral flavors.

I feel similarly to aarild about maybe needs to rest a bit. Extended taste. A bit oily on the tongue. The corn helps balance out this roasted espadin and gives it an umami quality to it

thomaselliott

thomaselliott

14 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Mezcal Vago – Elote
49.9% – February 2021
Lot A-10-EL-21
I misunderstood the label initially and thought that this was a mixto of corn in the fermentation and found out much later that it is more like a pechuga with roasted corn used as a flavoring element in the still during the 2nd distillation. This is what makes the difference between corn having a sweetening effect to the roasted corn having umami flavours filling out savory grilled buttered corn flavours. The smoke of the roasting of the Espadin lingers in the background. The nose is delightful with full savory roasting smells in addition to agave cooked over a wood fire. The higher ABV of 49.9% of this batch makes for a lovely mouth feel and the long tail of the taste includes those roasted corn notes throughout.

Mezcal Vago – Elote
49.9% – February 2021
Lot A-10-EL-21
I misunderstood the label initially and thought that this was a mixto of corn in the fermentation and found out much later that it is more like a pechuga with roasted corn used as a flavoring element in the still during the 2nd distillation. This is what makes the difference between corn having a sweetening effect to the roasted corn having umami flavours filling out savory grilled buttered corn flavours. The smoke of the roa

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

508 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

LOT A2-12-EL-20
Nose – Frozen corn (slight aroma but not much). Raw grapefruit juice.

Palate – Much sweeter than Padre’s elote. The heat at relatively the same ABV is optimized by the Hijos (i.e. less intense). More texture and viscosity from what I recall (although a side-by-side seems to be in order). Tasting some clay. Grilled, salted and buttered sweet corn on the finish. A tinge of grapefruit and some grassiness in the aftertaste. Smoke throughout is balanced nicely.

For the Mexicano comparison, I thought Aquilino’s was better. With this Elote, the Hijos take it hands down (and I quite liked the Aquilino’s). Great work lads! Seeing as though this bottle is about a $50 sipper – exceptional value here. I’d rate this 4.5 stars on its own but it’s getting a bang-for-your-buck bump here to 5 stars

LOT A2-12-EL-20
Nose – Frozen corn (slight aroma but not much). Raw grapefruit juice.
Palate – Much sweeter than Padre’s elote. The heat at relatively the same ABV is optimized by the Hijos (i.e. less intense). More texture and viscosity from what I recall (although a side-by-side seems to be in order). Tasting some clay. Grilled, salted and buttered sweet corn on the finish. A tinge of grapefruit and some grassiness in the aftertaste. Smoke throughout is balanced nicely.
For

Read more
aarild

aarild

129 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

On opening the bottle it smells very typical “espadin”, reminding me about Del Maguey’s Chichicapa. A bit alcohol whiff in the glass, allspice and cloves, leather and fresh agave, cornbread. Nice robes.
Some alcohol bite at first, seemingly due to lack of proper resting, so leave a pour from a newly opened bottle for a while in the glass, and/or use a copita. More cloves, and a hint of cardamom, baked agave, corn flour is absolutely there on the finish but less than I expected. However, the aftertaste keeps lingering, so it is hard to miss.

I think the bottle needs more rest to reveal all nuances, but still very fresh, spicy and interesting for an espadin, really good, excellent aperitif.

Lot A2-10-EL-20 October 2020

On opening the bottle it smells very typical “espadin”, reminding me about Del Maguey’s Chichicapa. A bit alcohol whiff in the glass, allspice and cloves, leather and fresh agave, cornbread. Nice robes.
Some alcohol bite at first, seemingly due to lack of proper resting, so leave a pour from a newly opened bottle for a while in the glass, and/or use a copita. More cloves, and a hint of cardamom, baked agave, corn flour is absolutely there on the finish but less than I expected. However, th

Read more
Tequesta

Tequesta

15 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot A2-08-EL-20 from September 2020. crystal clear appearance. Toasted corn fragrance, light and fresh taste. Surprisingly smooth for such high alcohol (50.3%).

ElAgave

ElAgave

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This mezcal just feels so fresh. It puts me back to going to fiesta in Houston and getting that Mexican street corn whiff as I walk into the fruit section of the supermarket.

Nose: smoked citrus, underripe corn on the cob, creamed corn

Palate: sweet corn, medicinal, mango, tropical fruit, dark chocolate, oily mouthfeel, creamy

Finish: burnt veggies, wet clay, wet wood, bbq

Tyler

Tyler

593 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Haven’t sipped Elote in a while and this brings me right back to Aquilino’s famous Elote. It has been a unique mezcal on the market for many years. This version, produced by Temo and Mateo, is the same juice essentially. I’m sipping the end of a bottle but was told it was quite hot initially. This 50.3% batch has some nice warmth but no burn. Aromas of acetone and roasted corn. On the palate, there are some starchy notes along with agave mint gum. Lots of complexity through the finish. Lot A2-07-EL-20 from September 2020.

Haven’t sipped Elote in a while and this brings me right back to Aquilino’s famous Elote. It has been a unique mezcal on the market for many years. This version, produced by Temo and Mateo, is the same juice essentially. I’m sipping the end of a bottle but was told it was quite hot initially. This 50.3% batch has some nice warmth but no burn. Aromas of acetone and roasted corn. On the palate, there are some starchy notes along with agave mint gum. Lots of complexity through the

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

615 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot A2-07-EL-20 from September 2020. This bottle had that classic Aquilino heat that faded after a few pours and after sitting it on the shelf for a week. Almost identical to the famed Elote from Aquilino. High minerality, sea salt, fresh flowers, and confectionary sugar on the nose. The palate has a floral masculinity. It’s rugged yet refined. Notes of roasted corn, sweet potato, creamy jalapeno, and marshmallow. This is really nice and it’s great to see the Elote tradition live on.

Lot A2-07-EL-20 from September 2020. This bottle had that classic Aquilino heat that faded after a few pours and after sitting it on the shelf for a week. Almost identical to the famed Elote from Aquilino. High minerality, sea salt, fresh flowers, and confectionary sugar on the nose. The palate has a floral masculinity. It’s rugged yet refined. Notes of roasted corn, sweet potato, creamy jalapeno, and marshmallow. This is really nice and it’s great to see the Elote tradition live on.

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top