Powered by 100% agave

Vago Elote

Aquilino Garcia Lopez adds roasted corn from his farm to the Vago Elote. The roasted corn taste shines through to the finish.

Rating: (20 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez
Agave / Maguey:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV:50%
Website:https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Vago Elote has a nose full of smoky toasted corn and dry river stones. The body is sweet with wood tones and layers of honeycomb, green tropical fruit, and smoke. It has a prolonged finish loaded with mint and papaya.  This is a triple distilled Mezcal. Between the second and third distillations,  Aquilino Garcia Lopez adds roasted corn from his farm. The roasted corn taste shines through to the finish. This Mezcal still has hints of the Vago Espadin’s tough exterior, but its revealing with a softer aftertaste that smooths the edges off the Espadin.

Read more about Mezcal Vago Elote on Mas Mezcal.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand claims to plant 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

 

Astor Wines & Spirits tasting video

20 reviews

3.68 out of 5


tallchad

tallchad

11 reviews
2 weeks ago

Tasted this while watching Agave: Spirit of a Nation-which features Don Aquilino. I really tried to smell and taste the corn…but couldn’t. I guess I must try it again 😉
Aroma was strong with agave and pepper. Taste was even stronger with more pepper and hay. Mouthfeel was viscous and nice and the initial heat mellowed to pleasing warmth. Finish was the best part: warm, long with some minerals in the background. Conclusion: I need to try this again.

Derekac7

Derekac7

13 reviews
4 weeks ago

I drank this at my first dine in post coronavirus lockdown, and the restaurant’s hand sanitizer was especially fragrant that day, so I wasn’t able to get a good read on the nose. That said, cowboys aren’t sniffing their drinks to profile and this mezcal is straight out of a western. Bold and packing heat, with a toasted corn finish for good measure. Giddy up!

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

12 reviews
1 month ago

Nose is really sweet; ethanol, mineral spirits, nail-polish remover. Tastes of overripe cantaloupe, sweet corn, and bubble gum mingle nicely with minerality and roasty notes. Finish is ethanol hot but not as peppery as some lower ABV mezcals. Overall, the high ABV is not particularly apparent to me with this one. It’s overpriced for what it is, and I’ve definitely had brands I’ve liked as much or more for 20$ less. But that’s all the complaint I can muster. It’s quite nice.

Nose is really sweet; ethanol, mineral spirits, nail-polish remover. Tastes of overripe cantaloupe, sweet corn, and bubble gum mingle nicely with minerality and roasty notes. Finish is ethanol hot but not as peppery as some lower ABV mezcals. Overall, the high ABV is not particularly apparent to me with this one. It’s overpriced for what it is, and I’ve definitely had brands I’ve liked as much or more for 20$ less. But that’s all the complaint I can muster. It’s qui

Read more
Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
2 months ago

Lot A-36-DV-EL-14, distilled August 2014. This is a very round and mellow and pleasant mezcal. The roasted corn flavours are evident and there is a honey sweetness.

Eagleeye

Eagleeye

5 reviews
3 months ago

At this price point I expect better. Wanted to revisit this after having the espadin a few years back. Was disappointed at first but its growing on me. Big burn on the back. Bite lingers. However, the more the bottle and glass open up the better. The alcohol is big so sip slow and steady! Lot A-12-EL-19

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

20 reviews
5 months ago

January 2019 distillation
51%

Nose and palate are somewhat closed but some depth and complexity seem to be there. Light smoke, cooked agave and earth are the first impression but I get hints of corn tortillas and caramelized sugar occasionally.

Really round and full mouthfeel. Easy to drink and enjoyable, might bump up my review if this opens up more with some air.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

27 reviews
6 months ago

Mezcal Vago Elote

This is an Offering from Vago, produced by Aquilino García López. This is made from Aave Espadin that has been infused with toasted corn similar to the Pechuga fasion.

ABV: 51.1%

Nose: Earthy, clay, peppery, spicy, slight corn.

Palate: Medium oily mouthfeel, warm, Musty Corn, Earthy, Clay, Pepper, Heat

Finish: Medium Length, Corn, Earth, Pepper, Spice, Must, Baking Spices.

Overall this is a good offering, the corn notes are subtle enough not to be overpowering, but add an interesting flavor that I have not had in any of the Mezcal I have tried so far. Given this is one of the more affordable bottles around me in terms of Mezcal, this is an easy future pickup.

Mezcal Vago Elote
This is an Offering from Vago, produced by Aquilino García López. This is made from Aave Espadin that has been infused with toasted corn similar to the Pechuga fasion.
ABV: 51.1%
Nose: Earthy, clay, peppery, spicy, slight corn.
Palate: Medium oily mouthfeel, warm, Musty Corn, Earthy, Clay, Pepper, Heat
Finish: Medium Length, Corn, Earth, Pepper, Spice, Must, Baking Spices.
Overall this is a good offering, the corn notes are subtle enough not to be overpowering, but add an i

Read more
BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
11 months ago

Lot A-09-EL-18 (March 2018), 50.5%

Nose: A plate of freshly made tortillas with grilled sweet vegetables, plus touches of vanilla sugar glaze, mango, raspberry lemonade, leafy greens and light ash. Lots of alcohol too.

Palate: Grapefruit, citrus pith, cornbread, apricot, roasted pepper, light ashy smoke. Medium-full body.

Finish: A hit of alcohol heat, then more savory with grilled corn salsa, lime, roasted peppers, and wood smoke. Medium-short length.

Not much in the way of complexity, but the corn is a nice counterpoint to the sweet espadin, and at over 50% it has that Aquilino kick and thick body.

Lot A-09-EL-18 (March 2018), 50.5%
Nose: A plate of freshly made tortillas with grilled sweet vegetables, plus touches of vanilla sugar glaze, mango, raspberry lemonade, leafy greens and light ash. Lots of alcohol too.
Palate: Grapefruit, citrus pith, cornbread, apricot, roasted pepper, light ashy smoke. Medium-full body.
Finish: A hit of alcohol heat, then more savory with grilled corn salsa, lime, roasted peppers, and wood smoke. Medium-short length.
Not much in the way of complexity, but t

Read more
Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

38 reviews
12 months ago

The nose if full of sweet corn, citrus and hints of agave. Toasted corn comes through in the flavor with cooked agave and pepper. The heat is there but it fits.
Lot A-16-EL-18 50.4%

Rorschach

Rorschach

23 reviews
1 year ago

Very nice. I held off getting this one because I only wanted to learn agave only. No ensemble, pechuga, etc, for now. It is a good step up from getting a cheaper 40% espadin. Very nice balance, with that corn core keeping it all together. You don’t feel the 51.1% abv.
LOT A-24/02-EL-18

Dave

Dave

12 reviews
1 year ago

Elote is right! This smells and tastes like the sugary smell that corn puts off as it caramelizes from heat.

This was a great bottle, with a great value ratio. It offered a flavor that I have not experienced with other mezcal. Very unique.

Eazy

Eazy

2 reviews
1 year ago

Smells a lot like you’re typical Espadin, but with added notes of sweet corn. Packs quite the bite at over 50% ABV. The corn theme continues to the mouth as the corn does a good job of rounding out the taste of the Espadin

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

18 reviews
2 years ago

Lot A-01-EL-18, 50.6% ABV. I don’t know what to make of this stuff. I’ve tried it several times with mixed feelings. More than anything I have the impression that it’s super hot tasting with a somewhat oily texture and not much interesting going on flavor-wise. I keep coming back to it because people whose opinions I respect seem to like it, but I find it sort of brutal. I’ve only tried samples from this one lot though, so perhaps I should seek out a different lot. I’ll try again periodically and if it’s warranted I’ll revise my review.

Lot A-01-EL-18, 50.6% ABV. I don’t know what to make of this stuff. I’ve tried it several times with mixed feelings. More than anything I have the impression that it’s super hot tasting with a somewhat oily texture and not much interesting going on flavor-wise. I keep coming back to it because people whose opinions I respect seem to like it, but I find it sort of brutal. I’ve only tried samples from this one lot though, so perhaps I should seek out a different lot. I’ll try again perio

Read more
rsidrys

rsidrys

38 reviews
2 years ago

One of the first mezcals I purchased, and whenever I go back to this bottle, I’m reminded of how much I like it. My least favorite aspect is the alcohol on the nose, but that quickly gets set aside as I also pick up a combo of smoke and sweetness. It has a creamy mouthfeel and makes my gums and tongue tingle. Tropical fruit and caramelized agave on the palate, followed by the best part – the finish!

I love the finish on this. Not only does it linger, but it has such a pleasant minerality (like sucking on a sun-dried river rock) coupled with a candy-like bubblegum sweetness. Yum!

One of the first mezcals I purchased, and whenever I go back to this bottle, I’m reminded of how much I like it. My least favorite aspect is the alcohol on the nose, but that quickly gets set aside as I also pick up a combo of smoke and sweetness. It has a creamy mouthfeel and makes my gums and tongue tingle. Tropical fruit and caramelized agave on the palate, followed by the best part – the finish!
I love the finish on this. Not only does it linger, but it has such a pleasant minera

Read more
Joseph

Joseph

22 reviews
3 years ago

Nose: Lots of roasted/cooked agave sweetness. Some vanilla notes. A bit of fruitiness and a slight minerality. Palate: Nice viscosity, thick and silky. All of the elements from the nose are confirmed in the taste with a bit of alcohol punch. After the bottle is opened awhile, the alcohol punch mellows out a bit and you get more of the flavor. Quite good – excellent choice for bottles in the $50-ish range.

Tyler

Tyler

379 reviews
4 years ago

Distilled in March 2016 by Aquilino Garcia Lopez. Slightly vegetal on the nose. This corn “pechuga” Vago Espadin has a slightly oily mouthfeel. The Elote has a punch with smoke and sweet corn flavors shining through. There are notes of grape juice and cinnamon along with a bit of spearmint. This Vago is very unique and worth adding to your collection. Over time I’ve been more drawn to the straight espadins from Vago but this is a fun to enjoy with friends.

Jonny

Jonny

408 reviews
4 years ago

Lot A-07-EL-16. The Elote is incredible. It’s very hot and definitely not for the faint of heart. Every bit of the +50% ABV is front and center throughout the taste but the subtleties of the infused corn make this a totally unique experience. The taste has strong notes of roasted corn, hazelnut, and caramelized cane sugar.

Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
4 years ago

Love this! I love the roasted flavors that the corn brings.

Avatar

Larry

4 years ago

Not for the faint of heart! If you want something with a little kick then Vago Elote is a good choice. After you get over the initial punch you can begin to appreciate the complex flavors.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
4 years ago

Its namesake corn infusion creates a thicker mouthfeel but the toasty-ness of the corn is much more subtle but very nice

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top