Powered by 100% agave

Vago Elote

Aquilino Garcia Lopez adds roasted corn from his farm to the Vago Elote. The roasted corn taste shines through to the finish.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Vago Elote has a nose full of smoky toasted corn and dry river stones. The body is sweet with wood tones and layers of honeycomb, green tropical fruit, and smoke. It has a prolonged finish loaded with mint and papaya.  This is a triple distilled Mezcal. Between the second and third distillations,  Aquilino Garcia Lopez adds roasted corn from his farm. The roasted corn taste shines through to the finish. This Mezcal still has hints of the Vago Espadin’s tough exterior, but its revealing with a softer aftertaste that smooths the edges off the Espadin.

Read more about Mezcal Vago Elote on Mas Mezcal.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico and ended up falling in love with the nurse who treated him. This nurse had a father named Aquilino who made mezcal in the rural village of Candeleria Yegole. The two of them, along with Judah longtime friend Dylan Sloan, worked together to create the brand. The labels of Mezcal Vago bottles are very detailed and informative. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of their art, and also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. Beginning in the late spring of 2017, Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga distill in copper. Tio Rey distills in clay pots. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey, a spirits company dedicated to partnering with independent craft brands.

Listen to an interview with Mezcal Vago co-founder Judah Kuper on Show de Vie Podcast w/Mike G. Read more about Mezcal Vago on their blog Mas Mezcal.

 

Astor Wines & Spirits tasting video

10 reviews

3.8 of out 5 stars


Dave on Feb 17, 2019

9 reviews

  • Overall:

Elote is right! This smells and tastes like the sugary smell that corn puts off as it caramelizes from heat.

This was a great bottle, with a great value ratio. It offered a flavor that I have not experienced with other mezcal. Very unique.

Eazy on Jan 30, 2019

2 reviews

  • Overall:

Smells a lot like you’re typical Espadin, but with added notes of sweet corn. Packs quite the bite at over 50% ABV. The corn theme continues to the mouth as the corn does a good job of rounding out the taste of the Espadin

Hörky Båmf on Sep 30, 2018

16 reviews

  • Overall:

Lot A-01-EL-18, 50.6% ABV. I don’t know what to make of this stuff. I’ve tried it several times with mixed feelings. More than anything I have the impression that it’s super hot tasting with a somewhat oily texture and not much interesting going on flavor-wise. I keep coming back to it because people whose opinions I respect seem to like it, but I find it sort of brutal. I’ve only tried samples from this one lot though, so perhaps I should seek out a different lot. I’ll try again periodically and if it’s warranted I’ll revise my review. For now I’m giving it 3 stars and I feel like that’s being generous.

Lot A-01-EL-18, 50.6% ABV. I don’t know what to make of this stuff. I’ve tried it several times with mixed feelings. More than anything I have the impression that it’s super hot tasting with a somewhat oily texture and not much interesting going on flavor-wise. I keep coming back to it because people whose opinions I respect seem to like it, but I find it sort of brutal. I’ve only tried samples from this one lot though, so perhaps I should seek out a different lot. I’ll try again perio

Read more

rsidrys on Jun 27, 2018

16 reviews

  • Overall:

One of the first mezcals I purchased, and whenever I go back to this bottle, I’m reminded of how much I like it. My least favorite aspect is the alcohol on the nose, but that quickly gets set aside as I also pick up a combo of smoke and sweetness. It has a creamy mouthfeel and makes my gums and tongue tingle. Tropical fruit and caramelized agave on the palate, followed by the best part – the finish!

I love the finish on this. Not only does it linger, but it has such a pleasant minerality (like sucking on a sun-dried river rock) coupled with a candy-like bubblegum sweetness. Yum!

One of the first mezcals I purchased, and whenever I go back to this bottle, I’m reminded of how much I like it. My least favorite aspect is the alcohol on the nose, but that quickly gets set aside as I also pick up a combo of smoke and sweetness. It has a creamy mouthfeel and makes my gums and tongue tingle. Tropical fruit and caramelized agave on the palate, followed by the best part – the finish!
I love the finish on this. Not only does it linger, but it has such a pleasant minera

Read more

Joseph on Jun 17, 2017

18 reviews

  • Overall:

Nose: Lots of roasted/cooked agave sweetness. Some vanilla notes. A bit of fruitiness and a slight minerality. Palate: Nice viscosity, thick and silky. All of the elements from the nose are confirmed in the taste with a bit of alcohol punch. After the bottle is opened awhile, the alcohol punch mellows out a bit and you get more of the flavor. Quite good – excellent choice for bottles in the $50-ish range.

Tyler on Dec 1, 2016

256 reviews

  • Overall:

Distilled in March 2016 by Aquilino Garcia Lopez. Slightly vegetal on the nose. This corn “pechuga” Vago Espadin has a slightly oily mouthfeel. The Elote has a punch with smoke and sweet corn flavors shining through. There are notes of grape juice and cinnamon along with a bit of spearmint. This Vago is very unique and worth adding to your collection. Over time I’ve been more drawn to the straight espadins from Vago but this is a fun to enjoy with friends.

Jonny on Dec 1, 2016

283 reviews

  • Overall:

Lot A-07-EL-16. The Elote is incredible. It’s very hot and definitely not for the faint of heart. Every bit of the +50% ABV is front and center throughout the taste but the subtleties of the infused corn make this a totally unique experience. The taste has strong notes of roasted corn, hazelnut, and caramelized cane sugar.

Sandy on Sep 19, 2016

11 reviews

  • Overall:

Love this! I love the roasted flavors that the corn brings.

Larry on Sep 17, 2016

  • Overall:

Not for the faint of heart! If you want something with a little kick then Vago Elote is a good choice. After you get over the initial punch you can begin to appreciate the complex flavors.

3chainz on Sep 17, 2016

19 reviews

  • Overall:

Its namesake corn infusion creates a thicker mouthfeel but the toasty-ness of the corn is much more subtle but very nice

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews