Powered by 100% agave

Vago Espadin – Emigdio Jarquin Ramirez

Vago Espadin from Emigdio Jarquin Ramirez is made using a refrescadera still, which is somewhat common in the Ejutla/Miahuatlan region of Oaxaca.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Cost:$$$
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Emigdio Jarquín Ramirez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlan
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Vago Espadin from maestro mezcalero Emigdio Jarquin Ramirez is produced in Miahuatlan, Oaxaca. The maguey Espadin (agave Angustifolia) used in this mezcal is crushed by tahona and distilled in a copper refrescadera still. Emigdio is known throughout the region for his distilling expertise and all of his mezcal holds a high standard for the rest of the Miahuatlan region. Each batch may vary slight. Check your batch for details.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand plants 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

14 reviews

3.86 out of 5


GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

36 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot E07 E20

Nose is a bit shy but full of minerality and maybe some roasted pepper. Mouth feel is really nice, plenty of body but still light enough to dance. A little sweetness to balance the minerals, vanilla, maybe some caramel, some fruit of in the distance. Finish is nicely balanced and fades gracefully but not super long. Well balanced, easy to drink, but nothing really stands out for better or worse.

AndrewT

AndrewT

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot E-16-E-20.
Banana candy, graham crackers, baking spices. Nice oily mouthfeel with long pleasant finish. Light smoke. Not incredibly complex but very drinkable/enjoyable and unbeatable value.

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Great performer from Vago. I love this company. This espadin starts with some sweetness but mellows out with vanilla and smoke.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

203 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

June 2021
LOT: E-22-E-20
I really wanted to give this another try and bought this bottle. I sipped the other one earlier in the year over a few weeks so I figured the 2.5 star rating was probably low. OK, I was wrong before. This is a killer espadin especially when it’s less than $40 online some places in California. I’ll probably finish this bottle in a few weeks once again and pony up for another.

December 2020
LOT: E-08-E-20
Nose: Hint of caramel. Mostly peppery vapor.

Palate: Much more mineral than sweet. Punches hard midway through with every bit of the 50% ABV. Finish is beaucoup vapor, same minerality and a tad salty.

This is pretty harsh for the price point.

June 2021
LOT: E-22-E-20
I really wanted to give this another try and bought this bottle. I sipped the other one earlier in the year over a few weeks so I figured the 2.5 star rating was probably low. OK, I was wrong before. This is a killer espadin especially when it’s less than $40 online some places in California. I’ll probably finish this bottle in a few weeks once again and pony up for another.
December 2020
LOT: E-08-E-20
Nose: Hint of caramel. Mostly peppery vapor.
Palate: Mu

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lot E-07-E-20. Emigdio has always been my favorite of the Vago producers. Tastes like Miahuatlán, is it the water?!?! Graham crackers, pound cake, pears in syrup, tahini, and white pepper. Kick ass Espadin!

donpedro

donpedro

37 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lote: E-19-E-19

Nope. Not the espadín I’m looking for. Really unenjoyable experience alongside the fruitier, brighter batch from Joel Barriga. This has increasing notes of burnt rubber, plastic, wet rag, and chemical funk. Really not my cup of tea. Harsh and unappealing.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch:July 2019

Lot: E-19-E-19

ABV: 49.9%

Nose: Minerals, light earthiness, peppercorn, salt, roasted bell peppers,

Palate: Thick oily mouthfeel. Warm and dry. An explosion of lemon zest, peppercorns, light vanilla sweetness, slight blueberry and strawberry sweetness, mango sneaks in.

Finish: Medium length, tangy. Lemon zest, peppercorns, blueberry and strawberry, earth and minerals.

Simply delicious. This is up there with some of my favorite Espadins. Lots of fruits, good savory spices and some earthiness round it all together. The palate is just an explosion of flavors that make it a joy to sit and sip on.

Batch:July 2019
Lot: E-19-E-19
ABV: 49.9%
Nose: Minerals, light earthiness, peppercorn, salt, roasted bell peppers,
Palate: Thick oily mouthfeel. Warm and dry. An explosion of lemon zest, peppercorns, light vanilla sweetness, slight blueberry and strawberry sweetness, mango sneaks in.
Finish: Medium length, tangy. Lemon zest, peppercorns, blueberry and strawberry, earth and minerals.
Simply delicious. This is up there with some of my favorite Espadins. Lots of fruits, good savory spices and some

Read more
Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot: E-14-E-18
Was expecting a little more from my first venture into the Vago brand (yes I get this is not the highest rated bottle but first impressions last).
Still, it’s not a bad espadin. Acetone and Light caramel on the nose, slightly sweet with hints of fruit on the palate. Has a kick though, which I don’t mind. Decent and can be a sipper but think I’ll be using this more as a mixer (mainly because I need room in the Mezcal cupboard for varieties I just need to try!)

Lot: E-14-E-18
Was expecting a little more from my first venture into the Vago brand (yes I get this is not the highest rated bottle but first impressions last).
Still, it’s not a bad espadin. Acetone and Light caramel on the nose, slightly sweet with hints of fruit on the palate. Has a kick though, which I don’t mind. Decent and can be a sipper but think I’ll be using this more as a mixer (mainly because I need room in the Mezcal cupboard for varieties I just need to try!)

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

273 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Every sip I get something different, but maybe not in a good way. Also, this dram is prickly as all get out, and harsh on both the palate and the swallow. Glad I didnt buy a bottle. Not my bag.

Jonny

Jonny

523 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Emigdio from June 2018. 982 litres. 50.6% ABV. Sweet aromas of caramel, candied pecans, and sugary lemon cookies. The palate is really well balanced. It’s light for the ABV, with alcohol or acetone hardly noticeable. There are more flavor notes of sweet baked goods and lemon icing.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Jarquin. 50.3% shows through in the nose with a very alcoholic smell. Thicker texture with a subtle sweetness on the palate. Not a super noticeable smoke but has a really nice and lingering burn. Overall is surprisingly enjoyable given the nose.

Batch: E-22-E-19

JDB

JDB

24 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

We tasted the Emigdio Jarquin July 2019 batch, Lot # E-22-F-19. Have had Aqulino in the past (and have a new bottle of Barriga’s Espadin, second review below). Very smooth, slight herbaceous notes, sweet, nice lingering taste of vanilla and an earthy, almost mineral flavor (although it is distilled in copper not clay). Really solid mezcal for the price. Rediscovering the Espadins after being reintroduced a year ago to Cuish (the brand not the agave) and their Espadin was outstanding. In that rarefied company.

Also tasted the Joel Barriga July 2019 batch, J-04-E-19 Does not disappoint, love the roasted agave smell on the nose, not smoke. A bit of caramel, notes of poached (or cooked) pear, sweet and supple, hint of spearmint. In spite of the high alcohol content (50.7%), approachable and smooth. Showing again why espadins should not be underestimated or overlooked.

We tasted the Emigdio Jarquin July 2019 batch, Lot # E-22-F-19. Have had Aqulino in the past (and have a new bottle of Barriga’s Espadin, second review below). Very smooth, slight herbaceous notes, sweet, nice lingering taste of vanilla and an earthy, almost mineral flavor (although it is distilled in copper not clay). Really solid mezcal for the price. Rediscovering the Espadins after being reintroduced a year ago to Cuish (the brand not the agave) and their Espadin was outstanding. I

Read more
Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Emigdio Jarquín, lot E-10/15-E-17, distilled 2017. This is a very pleasant mezcal which is all about balance. It has sweetness and minerality and a distinct fruitiness, all round up in an enjoyable whole. Still. it may not have the complexity of the very best espadíns.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Emigdio Jarquin – September 2018

If I were to recommend one mid-priced espadin it would be this one. The nose has notes of banana and candied pecans.
The pallet has the fruity characteristics signature to espadins but much like the tobala from Jarquin, this has a very rich and oily mouthfeel that is a perfect balance to the heat it packs.
This mezcal is sure to make an impact on even novice drinkers. Very high recommendation

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top