Powered by 100% agave

Vago Ensamble en Barro

Each release of Vago Ensamble en Barro has drastic differences in the percentages of each type of agave that is used, making each release unique.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Salomon Rey Rodriguez
Agave:Barril, Coyote, Espadin, Mexicano, Sierra Negra, Tepeztate, Tobala
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:Sola de Vega
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Vago Ensamble de Barro is from Sola de Vega and has a soft bouquet of pine needles and fertile earth. Its full body has an essence of charred cinnamon and finishes with notes of pumpkin and chestnuts.  Each release of this bottle has drastic differences in the percentages of each type of agave that is used.  A Vago Ensamble de Barro from 2015 could be significantly different than one from 2016.

Learn more about this release at Mezcal Vago’s blog Mas Mezcal

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand claims to plant 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jaurquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

13 reviews

4.3 of out 5 stars


Rakhal

Rakhal

100 reviews
4 months ago

Lot S-06-EM-18. 55% Espadin+45% Mexicano. Ocean salt, kombu, and caraway seed. Smells like mediocre tequila. Short finish.

Lot S-01/08-ECBB-17. 84% Espadin, 9% Coyote, 5% Blanco, 2% Barril. Another underwhelming batch. Interesting only because it’s very earthy and mineral forward. It’s creamy and a bit too hot with notes of graphite, crushed granite, and freshly turned soil. Some big anise notes on the finish.

Dave

Dave

9 reviews
5 months ago

Lot s-16/05-EACM-18, 42% espadin, 27% arroqueno, 20% coyote, 11% mexicano, 50.5% abv.

I have learned there are many variations of ensambles, so I will now keep an eye out for proportions I haven’t tried. As with most mezcal they are small batch and usually offer something new between batches.

Nose – peppery. No depth.

Slightly bitter. Not too much alcohol bite like others have mentioned, but it almost feels as if its missing depth. I cant quite place the taste. It reminds me somewhat of a garage. Metallic, maybe oily? There is nothing wrong with this mezcal.

It had a great price point. It just doesn’t have the depth I have learned to love. I would buy this again to give it a fair shake on another proportion of maguey.

Lot s-16/05-EACM-18, 42% espadin, 27% arroqueno, 20% coyote, 11% mexicano, 50.5% abv.
I have learned there are many variations of ensambles, so I will now keep an eye out for proportions I haven’t tried. As with most mezcal they are small batch and usually offer something new between batches.
Nose – peppery. No depth.
Slightly bitter. Not too much alcohol bite like others have mentioned, but it almost feels as if its missing depth. I cant quite place the taste. It reminds me somewhat

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

120 reviews
6 months ago

Arroqueno, Coyote, Texpetate. 51.5% abv

Whoah. Only knock is on the slight bite from the higher abv. Otherwise… stellar

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
10 months ago

This Version was bottled at 50.5%

Nose: Smells like a peated sherry cask scotch, Peat and oak, raisins, plumbs, prunes, BBQ Pork belly excellent stuff!

Taste: Tastes like a peated sherry cask whisky! Sweet and earthy, dates, figs, toffee, chocolate.

Comments: never had a mezcal so… un mezcal like. Awesome stuff!

PDutton

PDutton

52 reviews
10 months ago

66% Arroqueno 26% Coyote 8% Mexicano, 244L batch, LOT S-03-ACM-17

Earthen / clay meets dark agave, dark fruits, dark smoke. Appropriately integrated heat, could be lower but it’s not particularly offensive. A few drops of water excites the ash and berries, and a light burnt sage note, nice. Hits with a dense dark profile, clay spreads across the mouth with the fruit sweetness, peppers tingling on the edges and the few bright notes too. Finish is even and long with smoke lingering throughout the mouth. Water softens the event in a nice way, a more open and sweet entry whilst maintaining good richness. Will add review for another batch.

66% Arroqueno 26% Coyote 8% Mexicano, 244L batch, LOT S-03-ACM-17
Earthen / clay meets dark agave, dark fruits, dark smoke. Appropriately integrated heat, could be lower but it’s not particularly offensive. A few drops of water excites the ash and berries, and a light burnt sage note, nice. Hits with a dense dark profile, clay spreads across the mouth with the fruit sweetness, peppers tingling on the edges and the few bright notes too. Finish is even and long with smoke lingering throughout th

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
1 year ago

this review is for arroqueno-66%/coyote-26%/mexicano-8%.WOW.this is a wonderful treat.like all vago,this has some heat.the entry has incredible sweetness but is balanced with delicate jalapeno and green bell pepper.mid way has hints spring flowers and strong agave.the finish has heat and smoke that lingers a little.tio rey makes mezcals that are a treasure.fantastic!

Tyler

Tyler

302 reviews
2 years ago

There are numerous variations of Tio Rey’s Ensamble en Barro. For me, some are very clay-heavy.. with wet/earth flavors that overpower the agave notes. However, many editions are spectacular. One of my favorites is Lot S-20–EMB-15 which is 53% Espadin, 32% Barril, and 15% Mexicano, distilled in March 2015 at 52.6% ABV.

The clay notes are present but exist softly in the background. Upfront flavors are of mint, lavender, and guava with a finish of cinnamon and wood spice. Recent batches have a burgundy label which denotes it is produced by Tio Rey.

There are numerous variations of Tio Rey’s Ensamble en Barro. For me, some are very clay-heavy.. with wet/earth flavors that overpower the agave notes. However, many editions are spectacular. One of my favorites is Lot S-20–EMB-15 which is 53% Espadin, 32% Barril, and 15% Mexicano, distilled in March 2015 at 52.6% ABV.
The clay notes are present but exist softly in the background. Upfront flavors are of mint, lavender, and guava with a finish of cinnamon and wood spice. Recent batche

Read more
Keith

Keith

33 reviews
2 years ago

Lot S-20-EMB-15, 53% Espadin/32% Barril/15% Mexicano; 52.6% ABV. Subdued aromas of clay distillation and ripe berries, sweet taste to start, heat & spice ignite in the middle then fizzle out quickly, sweetness continues through the finish and lingers long afterward. Baked agave essence prevails at the end with high-notes of cinnamon & dry spruce needles. The aftertaste is very pleasant and long-lived.

Jonny

Jonny

323 reviews
3 years ago

Lot S-01-CME-16. 78% Coyote, 18% Espadin, 4% Mexicano. Great Mezcal! This is high proof and the heat of the ABV stays with this one through the entire taste. It’s very hot with notes of wet oak, vanilla, and orange cream.

Keith

Keith

33 reviews
3 years ago

Five stars for Lot S-01-CME-16, 78% Coyote/18% Espadin/4% Mexicano; 52% ABV. Warm, bright, dry spices, hint of sandalwood, delightfully sizzles on the tongue, sweet on the lips.

Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
3 years ago

The high alcohol caught me off guard (read: I coughed like a wuss), but I enjoyed the earthy taste from the clay.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
3 years ago

Enjoyed a 2016 in a copita on 9/13

You taste all the heat up front but the finish is surprisingly smooth.

Lingers nicely, love this mescal

Avatar

Matt Bayuk

3 years ago

A great mezcal, but the alcohol overpowered the flavor to a degree. I may have given this 4 stars on another night. As a scotch drinker, it reminds me of a nice cask strength whiskey.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top