Powered by 100% agave

Vago Espadin en Barro

Vago Espadin en Barro is distilled in small clay pots. This process gives the mezcal a strong aroma and taste of wet clay and red earth.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Salomon "Tio Rey" Rodriguez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Sola de Vega
ABV: 51%
Age of plant: 7-12 years
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/, opens in new window
Ownership:Samson & Surrey

About this mezcal

Vago Espadin en Barro is made by Tio Rey in Sola de Vega, which is an area that is steeped in history of clay bot distillation. In true artisinal fashion, Tio Rey hand mashes the roasted agave and distills each batch in small clay pots. The batches of this mezcal are much smaller than the regular copper-still distillation Espadin releases that Vago puts out. The smell and taste of clay is highly evident in this mezcal.

Read more about Mezcal Vago Espadin en Barro at Mas Mezcal

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand plants 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

In 2021, Mezcal Vago went through its first major brand redesign since their launch in 2013.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

8 reviews

4.13 out of 5

tallchad

tallchad

40 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

This is really good! All this flavor from Espadín is incredible. So strong and yet subtle in flavor. Heat is about as perfect as it gets. I was excited when Rakhal mentioned chocolate milk but maybe not with this batch. Chalky minerality, floral and fruity on entry then finishes with excellent heat and earthy sweetness. Long finish. Extra half star for value!

February 2020, 588 liters, 49.6%.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Love the marizpan (almond, honey) and chocolate malt flavors that jump right out. It settles a bit into some hard to place fruitiness but ends with a nice hot finish that warms your chest while offering a nice coating effect. Amazing value here for the product – this isn’t your average Espadin and is well worth the investment.
S-01-E-20 Feb 2020

Rakhal

Rakhal

321 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

S-08-E-19. Like drinking chocolate milk out of an unglazed clay mug while eating a perfectly ripe cantaloupe melon. Very nice batch.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

400 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Nose – Light minerality and sweetness.

Palate – Papaya. Hot in the middle but still very nice. Clay finish is dry and morphs from a fruity to vanilla sweetness. Great smoke profile the whole way through. Solid! – 4 Stars

10/23/2021 Update:
The above review was a 2 oz. sample in Puro Burro bar in Oaxaca Centro. I recently bought a bottle of this in California for $51 (Lot: S-01E-20 – February 2020). Crazy value here! I bumped my rating up to 4.5 stars.

Nose – Light minerality and sweetness.
Palate – Papaya. Hot in the middle but still very nice. Clay finish is dry and morphs from a fruity to vanilla sweetness. Great smoke profile the whole way through. Solid! – 4 Stars
10/23/2021 Update:
The above review was a 2 oz. sample in Puro Burro bar in Oaxaca Centro. I recently bought a bottle of this in California for $51 (Lot: S-01E-20 – February 2020). Crazy value here! I bumped my rating up to 4.5 stars.

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

143 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

S-01-E-20
Slight tinge in color. Subdued smell, but obviously clay. Sweet smells of espadin as well. Notes of chalkiness and some tropical fruit. Bit hot at the end, but still very well balanced with the clay distillation. 2oz sample.
Review #96

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Tio Rey does it again! Great mezcal here, not as old a batch as the 1st 2 reviews but still a hot product (NOV 2019). I got no real funk in my batch but instead find it more like a gravel pit (in a good way). DEC 2019 bottle on deck, I plan to keep this in my cabinet always since I can buy it local.

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

35 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot S-13-E-16 from Nov 2016. 430 liters . 53%ABV. The nose on this is very earthy and almost musty. Some would call it “funky” and there is no doubt that was distilled in clay. It’s quite “hot” on the palate so sip it slow. Overall a very unique and enjoyable mezcal if you like clay pot distillation which I certainly do

Jonny

Jonny

548 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot S-07-E-16 from March 2016. 235 Liters in batch. 51.9% ABV. The nose is sweet with hints of perfume and alcohol (not surprising given the ABV). There’s a good amount of clay on the palate, and the texture of this mezcal seems to really mimic the feeling of wet clay as it cascades over the taste buds. Aside from strong notes of clay and chalky earth, this has some floral and fruity characteristics that set it aside from the regular Vago Espadin release from Aquilino.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top