Powered by 100% agave

Vago Tobala

Vago Tobala’s earthy, complex flavor is full bodied and has subtle hints of cloves and nutmeg. The agave Tobala makes this Mezcal very complex.

About this mezcal

Vago Tobalá has a mild pine nose. Its earthy, complex flavor is full bodied and has subtle hints of cloves and nutmeg. Like other Vago mezcal, the specifics of each bottle may depend on the batch.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand claims to plant 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jaurquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

8 reviews

4.4 of out 5 stars


3 months ago

Classic tobala notes. Sweetgum, pinon, and a long pappys-pipe finish. Very good, but hits like a note or two on the piano… not a whole concierto

SpencerS

SpencerS

12 reviews
4 months ago

Emigdio Jarquin from April 2019

Wow, this is an incredible Tobala. I had a glass at Whisler’s (Mezcaleria Tobala) in Austin and resolved to buy a bottle. Definitely one of the brightest, most fruit forward tobalas I’ve had and also one of my favorites.

The nose is very lush and bright with notes of banana, bubble gum, and ginger. There’s also a warm, nutmeg quality.

The palette is very oily and rich. At >50% ABV, there’s a lot of heat but it is balances perfectly with the fruitiness of the mezcal as well as the oily mouthfeel.

The finish is rich and long with an oily mouthfeel that leads way to a lingering heat.

Highly recommended.

Emigdio Jarquin from April 2019
Wow, this is an incredible Tobala. I had a glass at Whisler’s (Mezcaleria Tobala) in Austin and resolved to buy a bottle. Definitely one of the brightest, most fruit forward tobalas I’ve had and also one of my favorites.
The nose is very lush and bright with notes of banana, bubble gum, and ginger. There’s also a warm, nutmeg quality.
The palette is very oily and rich. At >50% ABV, there’s a lot of heat but it is balances perfectly

Read more
COak

COak

73 reviews
5 months ago

Aquilino 2014. Wow this is like nothing else I’ve had. Coffee bomb! Has a Carmel macchiato taste that I wasn’t expecting. Must try if you scope it.

El_Cura

El_Cura

25 reviews
6 months ago

Emigidio’s. Amazingly richful and the right amount of spice. No cheesy leathery barn flavor here.

1 year ago

Blue label, Lot E18-TOB-17 NOM 0188X coming in at a cool 51.4%.

Loved this one on comparison to the Rey campero, a little more well rounded, but still with the fruit base. from Emigdio Jarquin.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

101 reviews
2 years ago

no joke!this is one of the best mezcals i have ever tried.it is a 2016(blue label),emidgio jarquin edition.the scent is floral and vegetal.the taste follows the scent.spice is there but subtle.layers of flowers,honey and root veggies.cinnamon and some saline.balanced and silky from start to finish.a treasure!in my top 3.becoming more and more of a vago devotee.

Tyler

Tyler

352 reviews
3 years ago

Strong vegetal ash notes on the nose. Very hot taste like most Vago mezcals, fruity pepper. Lots of flavor. Almost some jalapeño notes. Hot finish. This was an April 2016 edition from Mezcalero Emigdio.

Jonny

Jonny

360 reviews
3 years ago

This is a hot Tobala. There is heat in the aroma, heat on the first taste, and heat on the finish. After the initial heat, there are notes of apple, plantains, and herbs. This is +50% ABV and the alcohol is definitely present. The taste of Tobala is so unique and this mezcal presents that taste in an interesting way that I haven’t seen in other mezcals. The bottle I tasted was made by Emigdio Jarquin from April 2016.

Second bottle: Lot A-24-DV-TB-14 with fermentation date of March 2014. 637 litres from Aquilino. Amazing! This is very clean on the nose with a slight hint of lavender and lots of coffee! It’s incredibly soft for 52.1% ABV. If you see this batch, you owe it to yourself to buy the bottle. Tasting notes of fresh vegetation and fruit – orange, green cantaloupe, freshly cut grass, sweet ground pepper, and more fresh coffee. This is totally unique and I highly recommend it!

This is a hot Tobala. There is heat in the aroma, heat on the first taste, and heat on the finish. After the initial heat, there are notes of apple, plantains, and herbs. This is +50% ABV and the alcohol is definitely present. The taste of Tobala is so unique and this mezcal presents that taste in an interesting way that I haven’t seen in other mezcals. The bottle I tasted was made by Emigdio Jarquin from April 2016.
Second bottle: Lot A-24-DV-TB-14 with fermentation date of March 2014.

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top