Powered by 100% agave

Vago Tepeztate – Aquilino Garcia Lopez

Mezcal Vago Tepeztate is made using 100% agave Tepeztate that is harvested from the nearby region. These batches are small and not always available.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez
Agave / Maguey:Marmorata, Tepeztate
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 12 years
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Mezcal Vago Tepeztate is made by Aquilino García López at his palenque in Candelaria Yegolé. This mezcal is made from 100% Tepeztate and is wild harvested in the surrounding hills of the Yegolé region. According to Aquilino, the maguey Tepeztate average 12-15 years to mature in this region. Because of the scarcity of mature agave, and the difficulty in harvesting them, these batches are small and not always available.

Read more about Mezcal Vago Tepeztate on Mas Mezcal.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand claims to plant 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

9 reviews

4 out of 5


HighWine

HighWine

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 days ago

80% Tepeztate 20% Espadín
368 Litres, June 2018

Subdued aroma of wax, honeycomb, and mulberry leaves

Medium-light bodied. Starts off thin but has a lightly pleasant viscosity that reveals itself mid-palate.

In the mouth I get nail polish remover, fresh mint leaf, custard, pepper, and pine.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

43 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 days ago

Disregard this review – I strongly feel I was mis-served at the bar and this wasn’t the Tep. I ordered. Can’t delete review, so posting this disclaimer before I can taste it again.
Disappointing one from Vago, and unfortunately didn’t catch the lot number. Some green notes with signs of clay & funk. Sweet finish. Not getting normal Tep notes and also not too complex. Overall seemed a bit watery.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

32 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Wasn’t able to get the lot or year and I only had a 1/2 oz sample but here it goes..
Interesting nose of flowers, celery and what I want to say as fresh artichoke??
The mouth feel was warm but distinctly full, more on the viscous side.
Very pretty to say the least. Wish I had had more try!

COak

COak

96 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot A-23-T-16 Aqullino.
Sugar cane and green peppers on the front and jalapeno heat on the back.

12/29/18. 80% Tepeztate 20% Espadin blend 4.5 I liked it more than the 100% Tepeztate bottle. Aqullino knows what he’s doing, blending in a small percentage of espadin into some of his wild agave bottles, like he did with his Mexicano in 2014. Upper echelon Tepeztate.

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Hands down my favorite. The nose gives you green olive brine and a caramelized funk that translates to the palate along with hot green peppers and a beautiful heat that never burns. This one changes and opens up as it sits in your class and will sometimes give you a basement musty-ness that compliments the other notes. This is my desert island mezcal and I always plan to keep at least 2 bottles around.

manthunder

manthunder

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Certainly not worth the 90 spent. Dry and complex, but without radiance. These flavors are not especially fun to parse through without a glass of water or topo Chico.

It is definitely sophisticated, very solid mezcal overall, but a slight miss from the always interesting label. This was distilled a year ago in Dec 2016. Hot at 51.6% and obviously so, with subdued hints of green spectrum, from pine to bell pepper. Some insectoid and sugarcane notes. Grumpy about my wallet, but tasty enough to session en copita.

Certainly not worth the 90 spent. Dry and complex, but without radiance. These flavors are not especially fun to parse through without a glass of water or topo Chico.
It is definitely sophisticated, very solid mezcal overall, but a slight miss from the always interesting label. This was distilled a year ago in Dec 2016. Hot at 51.6% and obviously so, with subdued hints of green spectrum, from pine to bell pepper. Some insectoid and sugarcane notes. Grumpy about my wallet, but tasty enough to ses

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

395 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Yummy tepextate from Aquilino. There are soft peppers and floral agave on the nose. Velvety mouthfeel. There is some saltiness with the spice on initial sip. I get notes of firewood, charred fruit, and hot peppers. Once you ease into this mezcal you notice an array of botanicals. Very tasty and not too overpowering considering the strong ABV. This review is for LOT A-08-T-16 which is 53.1% ABV.

Jonny

Jonny

425 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot A-08-T-16. Made by Aguilino Garcia Lopez. Very clean on the nose and fruity in taste. The spice doesn’t overpower it as it does other Tepeztates, and it’s very high ABV. There is some copper in taste with notes of jalapeno, smoked green pepper, leather, and baked banana leaves. This is one of my favorite Tepeztate mezcals. It’s very hot, and very good.

Keith

Keith

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot A-08-T-16, 53.1% ABV, Aquillino. Minerality, green grapes, green olives, green chilies, light floral background, smoked brisket, prickly pear BBQ sauce, leather, campfire smoke. Spicy & substantial; more food like than beverage. A wonderful mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top