Powered by 100% agave

Vago Espadin – Aquilino Garcia Lopez

Vago Espadin from maestro mezcalero Aquilino Garcia Lopez can have a tough attitude, but it’s rich the complexities one expects from this maestro.

Rating: (5 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez
Agave:Espadin
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Aquilino Garcia Lopez has made the Vago Espadin for many years. It was one of the original releases brought into the US by Vago. Aquilino uses a tahona to crush his agave and he distills in copper. Check your bottle for details as each batch may vary slightly.

For more about Mezcal Vago Espadin at Mas Mezcal

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand claims to plant 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

5 reviews

3.8 of out 5 stars


Jonny

Jonny

393 reviews
3 days ago

Batch from March 2018. From Aquilino. 949 litres total. 51% ABV. This is hot. Real hot. Not in a bad way as it’s also quite complex and pleasant, but this thing has no training wheels. I keep putting this bottle back on the shelf, expecting it to cool down, but I’ve now had it on the shelf for about 2 years. And it’s still hot. The aromas are pleasant however: lilac, perfume, and a bit of lavender. The palate has notes of mesquite, brisket, leather, gunpowder, and graphite. This is a stiff drink in the best possible way.

Batch from March 2018. From Aquilino. 949 litres total. 51% ABV. This is hot. Real hot. Not in a bad way as it’s also quite complex and pleasant, but this thing has no training wheels. I keep putting this bottle back on the shelf, expecting it to cool down, but I’ve now had it on the shelf for about 2 years. And it’s still hot. The aromas are pleasant however: lilac, perfume, and a bit of lavender. The palate has notes of mesquite, brisket, leather, gunpowder, and graphite. Thi

Read more
andreshemkes

andreshemkes

2 reviews
9 months ago

This Espadín is really good but I would love to try it in ABV 40 – 45%, any recommendations?

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
2 years ago

Very aggressive espadin from Aquilino. It is hot like all of his Vagos, and has a sweet ash flavor that is definately espadin. There is some green agave notes along with the usual smoke and roasted agave flavor and then a fair bit of alcohol which makes this a bit less refined tasting than the other bottles by Vago. If you want bold flavors and a step up from entry level espadins designed for mixing, you cant go wrong. However, I would argue that you would be better off spending the extra 10 bucks and getting one of del magueys espadins for a smoother and more complex option.

Very aggressive espadin from Aquilino. It is hot like all of his Vagos, and has a sweet ash flavor that is definately espadin. There is some green agave notes along with the usual smoke and roasted agave flavor and then a fair bit of alcohol which makes this a bit less refined tasting than the other bottles by Vago. If you want bold flavors and a step up from entry level espadins designed for mixing, you cant go wrong. However, I would argue that you would be better off spending the extra 10 b

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

103 reviews
3 years ago

no whimp here!there are some mezcals that are very ballsy and in your face!when i am in the mood for a stiff upper-cut (in a good way),this is one i really like.the flavor and the punch is all up front.then it dereases very quick.VERY warming.taste is strong pine and mint and rich agave sweetness.very tasty but will put a foot in the ass!

Tyler

Tyler

373 reviews
3 years ago

The espadin was the first Vago mezcal I tasted and it gave me a bad impression of the brand. The August 2015 batch from Aquilino was like drinking gasoline – very boozy! Since that time I tried many of Aquilino’s other Vago mezcals (Tepextate, Mexicano) and they are among my favorites. When I saw a bottle of December 2014 espadin on a shelf recently I purchased it and was blown away.

That batch of espadin is bursting with sweet agave flavors and while it is a high ABV it goes down easy.. too easy in fact. My family and I polished off the entire bottle over the holidays. If you see that batch, buy it. The new espadin from Joel Barriga is good as well. I’d put that in the middle between the two aforementioned Aquilino espadins. That’s an aspect of the Vago brand that makes it so interesting; all the batch information is on the bottle and each one is a new experience.

The espadin was the first Vago mezcal I tasted and it gave me a bad impression of the brand. The August 2015 batch from Aquilino was like drinking gasoline – very boozy! Since that time I tried many of Aquilino’s other Vago mezcals (Tepextate, Mexicano) and they are among my favorites. When I saw a bottle of December 2014 espadin on a shelf recently I purchased it and was blown away.
That batch of espadin is bursting with sweet agave flavors and while it is a high ABV it goes down ea

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top