Powered by 100% agave

Vago Espadin

Vago Espadin is made by all of their producers. Check the label on your bottle to see if it was made by Aquilino, Emigdio, or Joel Barriga.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez, Emigdio Jarquín Ramirez, Joel Barriga
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper, Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole, Hacienda Tapanala, Miahuatlan
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Aquilino Garcia Lopez has made the Vago Espadin for many years, but as of late 2016, Vago began releasing small batches of Espadin from another mezcalero named Don Joel Barriga Aragon. Joel is Aquilino’s cousin and his family has also been making mezcal for many generations. Aquilino worked with Joel for several months to ensure that Joel’s mezcal Espadin would be similar to his own. Vago is bringing in Don Joel (and his son, Adan) so that Aquilino can focus more on Vago Elote and other more rare small batch mezcals. Emigdio Jarquin also produces Espadin for Vago. Check your bottle for details on which mezcalero made yours.

For more about Mezcal Vago Espadin at Mas Mezcal

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand claims to plant 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jaurquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

 

Mezcal Vago blog:

Espadín Jarquín – Batch-E-02-E-15

 

11 reviews

4.1 of out 5 stars


Eric_M

Eric_M

7 reviews
1 month ago

The bottle I have right now is by Joel Barriga in May of 2019. I absolutely love this espadin. It has a rich, dark, and fruity flavor to it that reminds me of a fruit-forward dark roast coffee. I have also had Aquilino’s espadin and although different, I’m a big fan of his as well. I’d like to get a bottle of Emigdio’s and Tio’s en barro espadin to try them all since they all seem to produce such great mezcals at an affordable price.

andreshemkes

andreshemkes

2 reviews
3 months ago

This Espadín is really good but I would love to try it in ABV 40 – 45%, any recommendations?

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
4 months ago

Joel Barriga, Oct 2018, 49.4%abv

The nose keeps switching back and forth between butterscotch and cheesy jalapenos (jalapeno poppers). The taste is buttery and green…jalapeno peppers, roasted agave, slight wintergreen mint, backed with some big caramel sweetness. The finish very vegetal but dipped in raw honey and sprinkled with black pepper. A bit hot like most Vagos but I expect it to round out a bit as the bottle volume continues to go down. Great espadin as to be expected from a Vago.

Edit: Recently grabbed a bottle from Emigdio Jarquin (7/2018) and it is a bit different yet just as high quality. Less butterscotch/caramel, more vegetal/fruity. Highly recommended and you can’t do better for the price, imo.

Joel Barriga, Oct 2018, 49.4%abv
The nose keeps switching back and forth between butterscotch and cheesy jalapenos (jalapeno poppers). The taste is buttery and green…jalapeno peppers, roasted agave, slight wintergreen mint, backed with some big caramel sweetness. The finish very vegetal but dipped in raw honey and sprinkled with black pepper. A bit hot like most Vagos but I expect it to round out a bit as the bottle volume continues to go down. Great espadin as to be expected from a Va

Read more
hoboman

hoboman

3 reviews
6 months ago

Joel Barriga, 50.7% ABV, May 2017

First mezcal I ever tried, and still the best. Sharp, crisp smoky flavors, agave forward, almost no alcohol heat despite the higher proof. I can’t quite pick out individual flavors in mezcal the way I can tequila or sotol, but this is still very, very good.

pallzley

pallzley

6 reviews
9 months ago

Joel Barriga, July 2018, 50.5% abv. Great for the money as usual with Vago.
Bold as usual, Vago and flavors galore. If I were to try and compare this to a tequila, it’d be Fortaleza’s blanco. But with big mezcal flavor of course. At first opening this, I found the flint and bitter aftertaste to be a bit rough. After a few days and pours later (more than 3/4 bottle remaining), it has balanced wonderfully.

Nose of cooked oily agave and flint and mossy flor. A bright hint of wood. Texture is medium. Dry mouthfeel. Medium-heavy body. Immediately taste a sweet and acidic rainwater on flint – but not quite metallic yet. Piney big agave. Minerality. Medium-long aftertaste that chases and tapers from flint, to wood, to rainwater. 4.5/5 with price ($50) and availability considered.

Joel Barriga, July 2018, 50.5% abv. Great for the money as usual with Vago.
Bold as usual, Vago and flavors galore. If I were to try and compare this to a tequila, it’d be Fortaleza’s blanco. But with big mezcal flavor of course. At first opening this, I found the flint and bitter aftertaste to be a bit rough. After a few days and pours later (more than 3/4 bottle remaining), it has balanced wonderfully.
Nose of cooked oily agave and flint and mossy flor. A bright hint of wood. Textu

Read more
11 months ago

From Mezcal Masterclass – Espadin at Todos Santos.

Joel Barriga – Really solid for an espadin, was going for something fruity and this fit the bill.

PDutton

PDutton

61 reviews
1 year ago

Joel Barriga 50.87%, 662L batch, from Dec. 2017 LOT J-09-E-17

Vegetal! Green! Surprisingly silky and sweet, huge vegetal notes and some florality emerge with scant peppery notes riding on top of the dark smoke adding liveliness. Some of that ‘hot rain on cement’, but overall just nice green espadin. Grape leaf, poblano.

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
2 years ago

Very aggressive espadin from Aquilino. It is hot like all of his Vagos, and has a sweet ash flavor that is definately espadin. There is some green agave notes along with the usual smoke and roasted agave flavor and then a fair bit of alcohol which makes this a bit less refined tasting than the other bottles by Vago. If you want bold flavors and a step up from entry level espadins designed for mixing, you cant go wrong. However, I would argue that you would be better off spending the extra 10 bucks and getting one of del magueys espadins for a smoother and more complex option.

Very aggressive espadin from Aquilino. It is hot like all of his Vagos, and has a sweet ash flavor that is definately espadin. There is some green agave notes along with the usual smoke and roasted agave flavor and then a fair bit of alcohol which makes this a bit less refined tasting than the other bottles by Vago. If you want bold flavors and a step up from entry level espadins designed for mixing, you cant go wrong. However, I would argue that you would be better off spending the extra 10 b

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

96 reviews
3 years ago

no whimp here!there are some mezcals that are very ballsy and in your face!when i am in the mood for a stiff upper-cut (in a good way),this is one i really like.the flavor and the punch is all up front.then it dereases very quick.VERY warming.taste is strong pine and mint and rich agave sweetness.very tasty but will put a foot in the ass!

Tyler

Tyler

323 reviews
3 years ago

The espadin was the first Vago mezcal I tasted and it gave me a bad impression of the brand. The August 2015 batch from Aquilino was like drinking gasoline – very boozy! Since that time I tried many of Aquilino’s other Vago mezcals (Tepextate, Mexicano) and they are among my favorites. When I saw a bottle of December 2014 espadin on a shelf recently I purchased it and was blown away.

That batch of espadin is bursting with sweet agave flavors and while it is a high ABV it goes down easy.. too easy in fact. My family and I polished off the entire bottle over the holidays. If you see that batch, buy it. The new espadin from Joel Barriga is good as well. I’d put that in the middle between the two aforementioned Aquilino espadins. That’s an aspect of the Vago brand that makes it so interesting; all the batch information is on the bottle and each one is a new experience.

The espadin was the first Vago mezcal I tasted and it gave me a bad impression of the brand. The August 2015 batch from Aquilino was like drinking gasoline – very boozy! Since that time I tried many of Aquilino’s other Vago mezcals (Tepextate, Mexicano) and they are among my favorites. When I saw a bottle of December 2014 espadin on a shelf recently I purchased it and was blown away.
That batch of espadin is bursting with sweet agave flavors and while it is a high ABV it goes down ea

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
3 years ago

After tasting Aquilino’s mezcal Espadin for years, I was a bit hesitant to try the new release from Joel Barriga. Out of all of the Vago releases, the straight Espadin was my least favorite. I’d always opt for the Elote or one of the agave silvestre over the Espadin. Overall, I would give the Aquilino Espadin 3 stars, as it was a bit overbearing and harsh. The burn of that mezcal didn’t really pay off like the other Vago mezcals I’d tried. The Joel Barriga release, however, is quite a bit different. It still has the heat (50.4% ABV) that is a signature in all Vago mezcals, but there seems to be more of a payout in his release. It’s much richer and fruit-forward. The body is semi-viscous with notes of apple, anise, flint, mango, and pepper. The nose is clean and lacks the strong aromas that are present in most other mezcal that is this high ABV. If you see the Joel Barriga Vago Espadin, I highly recommend it. I tasted Lot: J-E-01-16.

After tasting Aquilino’s mezcal Espadin for years, I was a bit hesitant to try the new release from Joel Barriga. Out of all of the Vago releases, the straight Espadin was my least favorite. I’d always opt for the Elote or one of the agave silvestre over the Espadin. Overall, I would give the Aquilino Espadin 3 stars, as it was a bit overbearing and harsh. The burn of that mezcal didn’t really pay off like the other Vago mezcals I’d tried. The Joel Barriga release, howev

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top