Powered by 100% agave

Vago Espadin

Vago Espadin is not a Mezcal for the light-hearted. It has a light aroma of sweet potatoes, citrus, and flint.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez, Emigdio Jarquín Ramirez, Joel Barriga
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper, Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole, Hacienda Tapanala, Miahuatlan
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/
About this mezcal

Vago Espadin has a light aroma of sweet potatoes, citrus and flint. Its palate has hints of anise and plantains with a long pine and caramel finish.  This is not a Mezcal for the light-hearted.  It has a deep taste that can be difficult for new Mezcal drinkers. Aquilino Garcia Lopez has made the Vago Espadin for many years, but as of late 2016, Vago began releasing small batches of Espadin from a new mezcalero named Don Joel Barriga Aragon. Joel is Aquilino’s cousin and his family has also been making mezcal for many generations. Aquilino worked with Joel for several months to ensure that Joel’s mezcal Espadin would be similar to his own. Vago is bringing in Don Joel (and his son, Adan) so that Aquilino can focus more on Vago Elote and other more rare small batch mezcals.

For more about Mezcal Vago Espadin at Mas Mezcal

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico and ended up falling in love with the nurse who treated him. This nurse had a father named Aquilino who made mezcal in the rural village of Candeleria Yegole. The two of them, along with Judah longtime friend Dylan Sloan, worked together to create the brand. The labels of Mezcal Vago bottles are very detailed and informative. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of their art, and also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. Beginning in the late spring of 2017, Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga distill in copper. Tio Rey distills in clay pots. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey, a spirits company dedicated to partnering with independent craft brands.

Listen to an interview with Mezcal Vago co-founder Judah Kuper on Show de Vie Podcast w/Mike G. Read more about Mezcal Vago on their blog Mas Mezcal.

 

Mezcal Vago blog:

Espadín Jarquín – Batch-E-02-E-15

 

7 reviews

3.9 of out 5 stars


pallzley on Feb 13, 2019

3 reviews

  • Overall:

Joel Barriga, July 2018, 50.5% abv. Great for the money as usual with Vago.
Bold as usual, Vago and flavors galore. If I were to try and compare this to a tequila, it’d be Fortaleza’s blanco. But with big mezcal flavor of course. At first opening this, I found the flint and bitter aftertaste to be a bit rough. After a few days and pours later (more than 3/4 bottle remaining), it has balanced wonderfully.

Nose of cooked oily agave and flint and mossy flor. A bright hint of wood. Texture is medium. Dry mouthfeel. Medium-heavy body. Immediately taste a sweet and acidic rainwater on flint – but not quite metallic yet. Piney big agave. Minerality. Medium-long aftertaste that chases and tapers from flint, to wood, to rainwater. 4.5/5 with price ($50) and availability considered.

Joel Barriga, July 2018, 50.5% abv. Great for the money as usual with Vago.
Bold as usual, Vago and flavors galore. If I were to try and compare this to a tequila, it’d be Fortaleza’s blanco. But with big mezcal flavor of course. At first opening this, I found the flint and bitter aftertaste to be a bit rough. After a few days and pours later (more than 3/4 bottle remaining), it has balanced wonderfully.
Nose of cooked oily agave and flint and mossy flor. A bright hint of wood. Textu

Read more

Nic Hnastchenko on Dec 11, 2018

34 reviews

  • Overall:

From Mezcal Masterclass – Espadin at Todos Santos.

PDutton on Sep 15, 2018

28 reviews

  • Overall:

Joel Barriga 50.87%, 662L batch, from Dec. 2017 LOT J-09-E-17

Vegetal! Green! Surprisingly silky and sweet, huge vegetal notes and some florality emerge with scant peppery notes riding on top of the dark smoke adding liveliness. Some of that ‘hot rain on cement’, but overall just nice green espadin. Grape leaf, poblano.

PhilBrunski on Mar 10, 2018

19 reviews

  • Overall:

Very aggressive espadin from Aquilino. It is hot like all of his Vagos, and has a sweet ash flavor that is definately espadin. There is some green agave notes along with the usual smoke and roasted agave flavor and then a fair bit of alcohol which makes this a bit less refined tasting than the other bottles by Vago. If you want bold flavors and a step up from entry level espadins designed for mixing, you cant go wrong. However, I would argue that you would be better off spending the extra 10 bucks and getting one of del magueys espadins for a smoother and more complex option.

Very aggressive espadin from Aquilino. It is hot like all of his Vagos, and has a sweet ash flavor that is definately espadin. There is some green agave notes along with the usual smoke and roasted agave flavor and then a fair bit of alcohol which makes this a bit less refined tasting than the other bottles by Vago. If you want bold flavors and a step up from entry level espadins designed for mixing, you cant go wrong. However, I would argue that you would be better off spending the extra 10 b

Read more

razorbackmike on Apr 5, 2017

91 reviews

  • Overall:

no whimp here!there are some mezcals that are very ballsy and in your face!when i am in the mood for a stiff upper-cut (in a good way),this is one i really like.the flavor and the punch is all up front.then it dereases very quick.VERY warming.taste is strong pine and mint and rich agave sweetness.very tasty but will put a foot in the ass!

Tyler on Jan 7, 2017

249 reviews

  • Overall:

The espadin was the first Vago mezcal I tasted and it gave me a bad impression of the brand. The August 2015 batch from Aquilino was like drinking gasoline – very boozy! Since that time I tried many of Aquilino’s other Vago mezcals (Tepextate, Mexicano) and they are among my favorites. When I saw a bottle of December 2014 espadin on a shelf recently I purchased it and was blown away.

That batch of espadin is bursting with sweet agave flavors and while it is a high ABV it goes down easy.. too easy in fact. My family and I polished off the entire bottle over the holidays. If you see that batch, buy it. The new espadin from Joel Barriga is good as well. I’d put that in the middle between the two aforementioned Aquilino espadins. That’s an aspect of the Vago brand that makes it so interesting; all the batch information is on the bottle and each one is a new experience.

The espadin was the first Vago mezcal I tasted and it gave me a bad impression of the brand. The August 2015 batch from Aquilino was like drinking gasoline – very boozy! Since that time I tried many of Aquilino’s other Vago mezcals (Tepextate, Mexicano) and they are among my favorites. When I saw a bottle of December 2014 espadin on a shelf recently I purchased it and was blown away.
That batch of espadin is bursting with sweet agave flavors and while it is a high ABV it goes down ea

Read more

Jonny on Jan 7, 2017

275 reviews

  • Overall:

After tasting Aquilino’s mezcal Espadin for years, I was a bit hesitant to try the new release from Joel Barriga. Out of all of the Vago releases, the straight Espadin was my least favorite. I’d always opt for the Elote or one of the agave silvestre over the Espadin. Overall, I would give the Aquilino Espadin 3 stars, as it was a bit overbearing and harsh. The burn of that mezcal didn’t really pay off like the other Vago mezcals I’d tried. The Joel Barriga release, however, is quite a bit different. It still has the heat (50.4% ABV) that is a signature in all Vago mezcals, but there seems to be more of a payout in his release. It’s much richer and fruit-forward. The body is semi-viscous with notes of apple, anise, flint, mango, and pepper. The nose is clean and lacks the strong aromas that are present in most other mezcal that is this high ABV. If you see the Joel Barriga Vago Espadin, I highly recommend it. I tasted Lot: J-E-01-16.

After tasting Aquilino’s mezcal Espadin for years, I was a bit hesitant to try the new release from Joel Barriga. Out of all of the Vago releases, the straight Espadin was my least favorite. I’d always opt for the Elote or one of the agave silvestre over the Espadin. Overall, I would give the Aquilino Espadin 3 stars, as it was a bit overbearing and harsh. The burn of that mezcal didn’t really pay off like the other Vago mezcals I’d tried. The Joel Barriga release, howev

Read more
Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews