Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Arroqueño – Tio Pedro

Mezcalero "Tio" Pedro Hernandez makes his mezcal in the ancestral style - it is hand-mashed and distilled in small clay pots in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca.

Rating: (19 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:5 Sentidos
Mezcalero:Tio Pedro Hernandez
Maguey:Arroqueño
Agave:Americana
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 47%
Website: http://www.drink5sentidos.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

For the first batch of 5 Sentidos Arroqueño released in the United States, the 135-liter batch was distilled from mature agave Arroqueño that was harvested at approximately 5,100 feet above sea level in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca. Maestro mezcalero “Tio” Pedro Hernandez cooked approximately 70 piñas in an underground conical oven for 3 days. Pedro and his nephew Lalo then hand-mashed the cooked agave hearts with wooden mallets and allowed the agave mash to ferment with well-water for 16 days in large pine vats. The resulting mash was double distilled in small clay pots.

Batches to date:

  • MDR01: 75-liters (Exclusive to Madre NYC)
  • MO01: 135-liters (Exclusive to Moreno’s Liquors Chicago)

5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos (or Cinco Sentidos) is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it’s creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as “Destilado de Agave”.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

Member rating

4.03 out of 5

19 reviews

Bryen

Bryen

52 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Had a 2 oz pour of this last night and first time tasting it outside of the Sierrudo-Arroqueno ensamble I have from 5S. The arroqueno was fantastic by itself! Really had fun drinking this one, makes you feel like you’re back in Minas. Very earthy, leathery, and tastes like a hard days work lol bbq sauce and roasted salsa flavors peak through as well. Very complex and the more you drink the more you taste— long, enjoyable finish as well. Highly recommend.

GMAD

GMAD

79 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

BATCH ARTP 06-21 June 2021, 54.8%, 200ml

Nose – Mellow and musty, and a bit sweet. Water fountain water, sour cream, orange oil, bbq sauce, dried chocolate residue, and tamarind.

Palate – Strong bittersweet flavor, a bit tangy and savory as well; barbecue sauce, tamarind, ginger. Some vegetal and bitter notes in the middle, like green bell pepper and orange rind.

Finish – So much barbecue from this. Smoked pulled pork, with a tangy sauce.

Good, very flavorful and complex. A lot of savory flavors shining through rich bittersweet notes.

BATCH ARTP 06-21 June 2021, 54.8%, 200ml
Nose – Mellow and musty, and a bit sweet. Water fountain water, sour cream, orange oil, bbq sauce, dried chocolate residue, and tamarind.
Palate – Strong bittersweet flavor, a bit tangy and savory as well; barbecue sauce, tamarind, ginger. Some vegetal and bitter notes in the middle, like green bell pepper and orange rind.
Finish – So much barbecue from this. Smoked pulled pork, with a tangy sauce.
Good, very flavorful and complex. A lot

Read more
jlum4

jlum4

11 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

ARQTP 06-22
earthy, meaty, cheesy, savory with nice acidity to balance it. clay on the end. this has one of the best mouthfeels i’ve had

relevanteagle

relevanteagle

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch: ARTP 06-21 200ml Bottle ABV: 54.8%

Nose: sweet, nail polish

Palate: corn, light caramel, sugar

Finish: corn, hotness

Thoughts: This had a lot of heat, but was pretty tasty. I couldn’t taste much smoke. I felt it was similar to vago elote and had that corn flavor to it. Enjoyable though!

JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch ARQTP 07-21 Bottle: 185/282 ABV 54.6%

Wow, what a hot mezcal. Lots of black pepper heat, hits up front and lingers. Nose has some funk and woody notes. On the front end, I get underripe fruit and anise, then some tartness and some toffee caramel. On the backend, dark roasted coffee, anchovy, and popcorn. The nose and flavor has some notes that remind of a fermenting batch of roasted agave in the tina, with the smell of the fermentation and the wet sabino wood (though Tio Pedro uses pine) and also the smell and flavor of bagaso. This one does have some interesting funk to it after getting some air. Looking at other reviews of the same batch, there are some commonalities with those reviews. I think the heat though takes away some of the flavor and makes it just slightly unbalanced. I do agree with others on the complexity of this expression.

Batch ARQTP 07-21 Bottle: 185/282 ABV 54.6%
Wow, what a hot mezcal. Lots of black pepper heat, hits up front and lingers. Nose has some funk and woody notes. On the front end, I get underripe fruit and anise, then some tartness and some toffee caramel. On the backend, dark roasted coffee, anchovy, and popcorn. The nose and flavor has some notes that remind of a fermenting batch of roasted agave in the tina, with the smell of the fermentation and the wet sabino wood (though Tio Pedro uses

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

114 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch ARPTP D6-22 ABV: 48.16%

Nose: Beef jerky, soil, mulch, compost, black truffle, figs, carnitas, grilled pineapple

Palate & Finish: BBQ sauce, jerk chicken, green onion, cream cheese, fried green plaintains (tostones), crispy sweet potatoes, figs, Greek yogurt on the back end as that soft clay sets in. Finish is plenty of clay, rubber, wet soil, vinegar bbq sauce, cumin, thyme

This is awesome. I really enjoy Americana but particularly when done in clay. Great stuff

Batch ARPTP D6-22 ABV: 48.16%
Nose: Beef jerky, soil, mulch, compost, black truffle, figs, carnitas, grilled pineapple
Palate & Finish: BBQ sauce, jerk chicken, green onion, cream cheese, fried green plaintains (tostones), crispy sweet potatoes, figs, Greek yogurt on the back end as that soft clay sets in. Finish is plenty of clay, rubber, wet soil, vinegar bbq sauce, cumin, thyme
This is awesome. I really enjoy Americana but particularly when done in clay. Great stuff

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

ARQTP 07-21

Nose cheesy, earthy, green. Honey. A Bees Knees cocktail.

Palate: full and delicious mouthfeel. The clay gives it such a full flavor, full of earthy cheese, celery salt, glazed ham, candied carrots. Long finish with candied veggies. Delicious!

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

ARQTP 07-21

Nose: Cheesy, savory, salty, mineral, brown sugar, maple syrup, wheat, vanilla. After the glass has been sitting for a while it leaves behind an incredible funky rosewater scent

Palate: Salty, mineral, reminiscent of roe or smoked pompano; full body, slight heat. Snappy finish but I’m left with wet clay and mineral LONG after the vapors dissipate. Like I’m writing this an hour after I finished my second glass and I still got that mineral and clay taste in my mouth.

Had the pleasure of tasting about an ounce of this while hosting Jason Cox at my restaurant. I saw the same bottle a couple weeks prior but I caved and went out to purchase this batch. Really glad I did though I find myself revisiting a little too frequently.

ARQTP 07-21
Nose: Cheesy, savory, salty, mineral, brown sugar, maple syrup, wheat, vanilla. After the glass has been sitting for a while it leaves behind an incredible funky rosewater scent
Palate: Salty, mineral, reminiscent of roe or smoked pompano; full body, slight heat. Snappy finish but I’m left with wet clay and mineral LONG after the vapors dissipate. Like I’m writing this an hour after I finished my second glass and I still got that mineral and clay taste in my mouth.
Had th

Read more
Ronco Sips

Ronco Sips

10 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A 150 liter batch ARQTP 02-22. 50.7% AVB.
It all gets complicated from here out. Please bear with me I’m still a “Mezcal Rookie”.

First pour:

Nose: Strong Agave, Green, slight smoke, slight camp fire.

Palate: Very green, strong agave, some smoke, slight citrus, note of pine, a bit of mint, not very complex. (Em, added black pepper on the tongue)

Mouth Feel: A really nice viscosity.

Finish: Long dark finish.

In the video ( https://youtu.be/zTzC5qIccsA ) we made I rated this a 3, Em rated it a 2.5. All in all I was a bit disappointed. We did not have our socks knocked off.

That night after dinner, I tried another pour, this time the noise was somehow sweeter. The palate was vegetal with a slight sweetness, black pepper, on third sip there was a light burn as in a hot pepper, but without the pepper taste. Smooth very long herbal finish with agave and then black pepper…the finish is really smooth, just keeps going and going. Going to change my rating to 3.5 This is a mexcal to really take ones time with. Maybe it’s just my lack of knowledge of the various tastes of mescal, that I do not understand the taste of this maguey? I’m thinking this could grow on me.

Next evening…another two once pour…sort of shocking, the nose more less the same, clean, green, but now zero smoke. The Palate is better, right off a blast of citrus, then dark chocolate mixed with agave, a bit burn, but then very smooth on the next sip. A long delicious after taste. What I’m calling agave maybe is what some people are calling a funk?…for me it’s dark deep green vegetal mix with dark chocolate. What is going on? Have I changed or did the mezcal change with a bit of air in the bottle for 48 hours? I’m going to stick to 3.5 rating, but I could now go to a 4, but really like a 3.9.

A 150 liter batch ARQTP 02-22. 50.7% AVB.
It all gets complicated from here out. Please bear with me I’m still a “Mezcal Rookie”.
First pour:
Nose: Strong Agave, Green, slight smoke, slight camp fire.
Palate: Very green, strong agave, some smoke, slight citrus, note of pine, a bit of mint, not very complex. (Em, added black pepper on the tongue)
Mouth Feel: A really nice viscosity.
Finish: Long dark finish.
In the video ( https://youtu.be/zTzC5qIccsA ) we made I rated this a

Read more
little_agave

little_agave

36 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Aroma:
Palate: Rustic long tasty finish.
Batch: Tasting event. Didn’t catch batch number.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose – Sour green apple. Funky Minas clay. Sweet potato.

Palate – This batch is listed at 54% ABV so big, booming flavors. Brown sugar. Beaucoup clay. Sprite soda. A vegetal note that reminds me of artichoke meat from the leaves. Detect some celery leaf long into the finish. Honest heat for 54% but that doesn’t bother me in the least. Damn good mezcal!

Hat tip to my buddy MLR, who shared 2 oz. of this beauty with me.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

ACL02-19. I’ve reviewed this before somewhere I swear, retasted it recently and here are my shortened notes from a clay arroqueno flight: Yea, there’s that banana. Bosyenberry cream cheese, sage, floral finish. Tempted to grab a bottle, tempted to call it an 8/10,

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Have never been the biggest fan of Tio Pedro but batch ACL02-19 from February 2019 is really nice. I get green tobacco, blueberry Greek yogurt, soy sauce, and honeydew.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch MO01. 47.1% ABV. Bottled exclusively for Moreno’s Liquors.
Bottle #22/126.

Aroma of dates, biscuit crackers, and campfire smoke.

Medium-full bodied in the mouth. Viscous enough to coat the tongue and gums in a pleasant way and leaving heat to linger along the gum line.

Earthy flavor of clay, parsley, and very peat-like smoke that Islay Scotch drinkers will enjoy. There’s more here and I’m having trouble isolating the subtleties and putting them into words. May update later but I’m just enjoying savoring this now without too much thought.

Overall a very delicious quaff and one that gets more sophisticated as it opens up.

Batch MO01. 47.1% ABV. Bottled exclusively for Moreno’s Liquors.
Bottle #22/126.
Aroma of dates, biscuit crackers, and campfire smoke.
Medium-full bodied in the mouth. Viscous enough to coat the tongue and gums in a pleasant way and leaving heat to linger along the gum line.
Earthy flavor of clay, parsley, and very peat-like smoke that Islay Scotch drinkers will enjoy. There’s more here and I’m having trouble isolating the subtleties and putting them into words. May update later bu

Read more
t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Rich mouth feel. Honey, wafer cookie. Lots of rich creamy sweetness before the funk rolls in. Clay, brine, olive, earth and a lovely savory note. Faint pepper. Heat very much in check. The clay character is really something.

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch: ACL02-19

Nose: Plantain on first whiff morphs into savory honey ham and smoked cheese over sweet potato, garnished by celery, roasted corn and ancho chile. Mild clay influence contributes a hint of fresh rubber.

Palate: Plantain, sweet potato and glazed carrots, seasoned with mint, fennel, cinnamon and bacon. A green core of baked agave. Damp clay beneath it all. Medium-full body.

Finish: More candied starches, returning to the smoked mild cheese from the nose, then ends on damp forest floor, cocoa, and mesquite-smoked bacon. Medium-long length.

Thoughts: Savory smoked proteins meet banana, cocoa and candied vegetables – all makes for a quality Arroqueno in my book. It carries the clay influence very well.

Batch: ACL02-19
Nose: Plantain on first whiff morphs into savory honey ham and smoked cheese over sweet potato, garnished by celery, roasted corn and ancho chile. Mild clay influence contributes a hint of fresh rubber.
Palate: Plantain, sweet potato and glazed carrots, seasoned with mint, fennel, cinnamon and bacon. A green core of baked agave. Damp clay beneath it all. Medium-full body.
Finish: More candied starches, returning to the smoked mild cheese from the nose, then ends on damp fores

Read more
Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Had this at El Destilado in Oaxaca. When they brought the bottle to the table and poured it, I knew from the aroma it was going to be good. I would have had another, which is positive. Agree with Jonny that it is flat on the finish.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lote: AR02. From June 2017. Tasted at El Destilado. Dope! Aromas of bananas and lemon. Palate of anise, plantains, and cactus fruit. This is nice but a bit short on the finish.

Lote: ACL02-19 from February 2019. This was a Texas-only batch for Alamo City Liquor in San Antonio. Sweet brown sugar aromas with other scents of vanilla bean, nail polish, and freshly tanned leather. The palate is amazing! More notes of brown sugar, candied yams, sugar daddy candies, caramel apples, and wet fall leaves. Medium finish. Great viscosity.

Lote: AR02. From June 2017. Tasted at El Destilado. Dope! Aromas of bananas and lemon. Palate of anise, plantains, and cactus fruit. This is nice but a bit short on the finish.
Lote: ACL02-19 from February 2019. This was a Texas-only batch for Alamo City Liquor in San Antonio. Sweet brown sugar aromas with other scents of vanilla bean, nail polish, and freshly tanned leather. The palate is amazing! More notes of brown sugar, candied yams, sugar daddy candies, caramel apples, and wet fall leaves.

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

MO01

It took me a while to find this bottle, but picked it up at Mexico in a Bottle last year. Claypot still, revisiting this, getting some chocolate coming through. Interesting how i am getting a better idea for the taste of this one as i go through the bottle.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top