Powered by 100% agave

Aguerrido Cupreata – Vicencio y Gabina

Aguerrido Cupreata from Vicencio Miranda Barranca y Gabina Morales Tecomulapa is produced in Ahuacuotzintla, Guerrero using Agave cupreata.

Rating: (5 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$
Brand:Aguerrido Mezcal
Mezcalero:Gabina Morales Tecomulapa, Vicencio Miranda Barranca
Agave:Cupreata
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Guerrero
Town:Ahuacuotzingo
ABV: 46.5%
Age of plant: 15 years + 2 years capon
Batch size: May 2021: 189 liters
Website: https://www.instagram.com/aguerridomezcal/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Aguerrido Cupreata from Vicencio Miranda Barranca y Gabina Morales Tecomulapa is produced in Ahuacuotzintla, Guerrero using Agave cupreata. They cook their agave in a pit oven, mill the cooked agave using a shredder, ferment the agaves with open air yeasts, and double distill in a copper alembic still.

Aguerrido Mezcal

Mezcal Aguerrido is a brand that comes from the heart of the state of Guerrero, one of the least represented mezcal producing states due to the difficulties with narco-traffickers in the area. The brand is a union of maestros mezcaleros from Chilapa, Guerrero including Don Refugio, Don Ciro (R.I.P.), Don Tomás, Don Benigno, Dona Gabina, y Don Antonio.

Member rating

3.9 out of 5

5 reviews

KyraNicole

KyraNicole

60 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Too green for me

JDB

JDB

170 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

46.5% abv May 8, 2021 189 liters produced

Doing a side by side of three cupreatas. Another destilado aged in glass, love these ones and I have really come round on cupreatas. Such a deep rich flavor. A real interesting mouthfeel, brings some sweetness and an interesting mix of herbal, mineral, and spice flavors. coriander and green cardamom, a bit of lavender. The flavor lingers for a while and keeps coming in waves. The backend has some dogwood in there. Great stuff! The flavor is close to Ciro and Javier Barranca’s papalote capón (Mal Bien) as well. Lots to think about why….region, family, microclimate, water, process??? The only difference in reviewing the production notes is that this one is aged in glass and they produce about 3 1/2 hours from each other. I love the curveball here given that I have found variation among producers, agaves, and regions to be the norm, so the similarities I would not expect, but maybe somethings do flock together (or grow together, roast together, ferment together, distill together…)

46.5% abv May 8, 2021 189 liters produced
Doing a side by side of three cupreatas. Another destilado aged in glass, love these ones and I have really come round on cupreatas. Such a deep rich flavor. A real interesting mouthfeel, brings some sweetness and an interesting mix of herbal, mineral, and spice flavors. coriander and green cardamom, a bit of lavender. The flavor lingers for a while and keeps coming in waves. The backend has some dogwood in there. Great stuff! The flavor is

Read more
James Christian

James Christian

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 2, 08 de Mayo 2021
Nose – brine and sweetness and a tiny bit of nail polish ( which I think will dissipate once the bottle breathes)

Taste – VERY GREEN, with very apple jolly rancher flavors up front. I’m not getting strong chocolate notes as the previous reviewer…more like apple jolly rancher in a very buttery white chocolate croisant if there was such a thing.

IT”S DELICIOUS

COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch from 2021. Vincencio is the grandson of the late Ciro Barranca, I’ve loved Ciro’s cupreata so I was excited to try this. On the nose I get sweet baked goods. The palate is green, candied caramel apples with chocolate notes. It’s soft and approachable with a long finish. One of the best from the Aguerrido line.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Subtle and smooth for a Guerrero mezcal. Floral, slight, slight cheesiness, a hint of peppermint. And a friend picked out a white chocolate note, which I agreed with after the fact. This is my 500th review with mezcal besties top bloke MLR, James $$$ and the legendary Ivan Vasquez which took place at Madre in LA (Hollywood). Amazing mezcal shared with unmatched friends. Salud!!!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top