Powered by 100% agave

Cruz de Fuego Tepextate

Cruz de Fuego Tepextate is produced by Carlos Mendez Blas and Margarita Blas at their palenque in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca.

About this mezcal

Cruz de Fuego Tepextate is made with wild agave Tepextate. This mezcal is traditionally produced using an underground stone horno, tahona, and copper stills.

Cruz de Fuego Mezcal

Cruz de Fuego Mezcal is operated by the mother-son duo Margarita Blas and Carlos Mendez Blas. They both live and work in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca and use a distillery that has copper stills. They both work out of the same palenque and follow similar traditional techniques in their mezcal production.

Member rating

3.83 out of 5

9 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

117 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot: TX1-18 ABV: 48%

Nose: celery, lemon lime, menthol almost tooth paste level, tons of peppers, green peppers with salt

Palate and Finish: lemon lime Gatorade, a bit of melon, cilantro plenty of minerality bitterness, grilled veggies, slate, then moving into the finish some herbs, sage, more menthol

Solid Tep for the price. Not gonna blow anyone away but very approachable regardless

masmezcal

masmezcal

14 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

48% abv
A tasty Tepeztate with emphasis on green notes, bell pepper, grass, and sweet peppers. Fruit notes of citrus and melon were also present with some earthiness. Balanced overall with medium complexity and smoke, and a pleasant finish.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lote TXI-18, 48% abv

Review #109: Nose is banana, raspberry, orange scented cleaning product, vanilla, light florals, rubber, wet stone, tobacco, asparagus, smoke, leather, herbal, and raisin. The palate is banana, orange, raspberry, tobacco, vanilla, grilled asparagus, smoke, some herbs, maybe fennel and basil.

I got to try this one as a fully blind sample. I found it to be quite a fruity expression of Tepextate and I certainly did not guess that as the blind, haha. It definitely changed my idea of what to expect with this agave. I’m a sucker for the banana flavors and the light herbs and vegetables surrounding the primary fruit notes are very pleasant. It doesn’t have the right potency for me to score higher but it’s flavors are still done well.

Lote TXI-18, 48% abv
Review #109: Nose is banana, raspberry, orange scented cleaning product, vanilla, light florals, rubber, wet stone, tobacco, asparagus, smoke, leather, herbal, and raisin. The palate is banana, orange, raspberry, tobacco, vanilla, grilled asparagus, smoke, some herbs, maybe fennel and basil.
I got to try this one as a fully blind sample. I found it to be quite a fruity expression of Tepextate and I certainly did not guess that as the blind, haha. It definitely changed my ide

Read more
jmehrk35

jmehrk35

43 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote No: TX2-18
Bottle No: 262/360
Year 2017
Bright aroma of mango, gauva fresh sliced jalapenos hit the nose as soon as the bottle is opened.
Nice tingle on the tongue from sufficient alcohol with a soft mouthfeel. Cantaloupe (with some green rind), honey and jalapeno peppers dominate the flavor. Very little heat, even at 48ABV on a medium finish. A good tepextate at a reasonable price

Czequershuus

Czequershuus

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The aroma is fruity and smoky, with grilled cantaloupe, mango, raspberry, as well as white pepper, fresh cut grass, green bell pepper, and limestone. The flavor has similar fruit notes, with cantaloupe and raspberry most present, as well as white grape, and then a big salty side, limestone, and seaside air. Overall this is extremely balanced and easy going, with gentle flavors, nothing in your face other than the fresh salty finish.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Also really liked this. Pretty green, and the highest ABV from Cruz de Fuego.

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

36 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Fresh cut jalapeño peppers on the nose. Slightly sweet and smooth on the palate. Very little bite. Overall : Nice!

Tyler

Tyler

648 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Bright nose of fresh green peppers. You can smell the organic nose from a few feet away! On the palate there is some candy and a slight sour funk and mid-palate you get the rich agave Tepextate vegetal peppers. Not incredibly complex but a good representation of the plant for the price.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

BIG green aromas. Fresh green peppers, bell peppers, and tomatillo on the nose. Viscous and think on the palate. Flavor notes of burnt orange peel, fresh green peppers, and vanilla beans. Medium finish and very smooth throughout. Low acidity with almost no bite whatsoever.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top