Powered by 100% agave

Cuentacuentos Cuish

Cuentacuentos Cuish is produced by Maximiliano “Serafin” García Gerónimo outside of San Dionisio Ocotopec. The flavor profile of this mezcal is fresh, vegetal, green and bright.

About this mezcal

Cuentacuentos Cuish is produced by Maximiliano “Serafin” García Gerónimo on a small hillside outside of San Dionisio Ocotopec. The agave is cooked for 72 hours in a traditional underground horno and then milled by a horse drawn tahona. It is then naturally fermented in 5-6 days and doubled-distilled in copper pots. Tails from the distillation are used to adjust the spirit to approximately 48% ABV. The flavor profile of this mezcal is fresh, vegetal, green and bright without the unwanted aromatics.

Cuentacuentos

Cuentacuentos curates small-batch traditional mezcals and destilados de agave from producers across the state of Oaxaca. Cuentacuentos released its first 6 mezcal expressions in 2018; future releases from the brand will change over time and include non-certified mezcals. The logo and bottle artwork (by artist Cesar Ruiz Conseco) features an opossum or tlacuache in Spanish. The tlacuache on the logo is El Viejito, the little old man opposum who stole mezcal from the demons as a service to humanity. The tlacuache ranks with the jaguar, eagle, and burro in importance in Zapotec, Taina, and Mexican mythologies. Cuentacuentos is bottled under NOM-O20X by Carlos Méndez Blas. The Cuentacuentos motto is Mezcal brings people together, stories make us friends.

 

Craft Distillers’ tasting video

14 reviews

3.86 out of 5

GCropsey

GCropsey

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lote: CCCM7. Mezcalero: Maximiliano “Serafin” Garcia Geronimo.
Nose: Cantaloupe, Wet Stone, Pepper Skins.
Sip: Green Grass, Raisins, Dry Spices.
Finish: Mellow, dry mid-tongue, savory edge of palate.
Notes: Wow, what a well made cuish! As a karwinskii fanatic this one hits all the levels. Fresh nose, brightly bursting flavors, and a lovely lingering finish are sure to make me miss this bottle once I finish it. Thankfully that hasn’t happened yet!

COak

COak

195 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

MGG-13C. Love the nose on this. Like a bouquet of flowers really clean. Taste like banana, spice, raspberry. This has a bite, spicy finish.

Gfunk

Gfunk

17 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot mgg-13
Nice grassy nose. . It’s a good, classic cuixe profile. Sweet grass, oily finish which lingers a good amount of time.. Perfectly drinkable, but nothing really memorable.

tallchad

tallchad

63 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Good stuff! Aroma is a bit perfumey with some unripe pear, red grapes and light mint. Taste is a little hot with some good pepper, light ash and slight river rock. Finish a good with a fairly oily mouthfeel and some lingering sweetness. MGG13C September 2020

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

166 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

MGG-13C
Damp, earthy smell. The taste is lighter though than I prefer, some caramel, but does have some burnt notes. If you look for it you can taste the madrecuixe (I simplify as a ‘creamy, woody sweetness’), but compared to others I’ve tried this week, it doesn’t quite hold up to how good this agave can taste. Also, great brand, but this is one of my least favorite of the bunch.
Review #152

RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

32 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot: MGG13C September 2020

Incredibly vegetal nose to this one like an alfalfa shake. Lots of citrus oils both lemon and lime. Lime leaf, avocado oil richness. Dark literal earth flavors. Slate, gravel, calcium. Hint of tropical acidity. Chili spiced, glazed and grilled pineapple. A touch of cinnamon. Aloe vera, agave like medicinal aromas.

Bold earth and minerals. Really rich flavors on the palate. Mushrooms. Match sticks, sulfur. Some sweetness is here but not a ton. Pine needles, tobacco, clove cigarettes. Really nice spice with peppercorn, woody cinnamon bark and all-spice berries. Wood and resins. Leaves, hay and dried grass. Green onion and scallions. More of those simple herbs like parsley and spouts

Much more vegetal finish. Dried tobacco and black tea. Pine sap. Agave syrup. Mint, parsley, chives, and celery root. Walnuts, pecans. Boggy moss flavors. Green lumber with a virgin oak spice quality. A very dry lingering finish.

The more I tasted the more I just kind of felt meh about it. Just very one dimensional flavors and having rested an equal amount of time, I felt like this didn’t improve like the other samples from Serafín did. Just a bit disappointed in the flavor after a rather interesting nose.

Lot: MGG13C September 2020
Incredibly vegetal nose to this one like an alfalfa shake. Lots of citrus oils both lemon and lime. Lime leaf, avocado oil richness. Dark literal earth flavors. Slate, gravel, calcium. Hint of tropical acidity. Chili spiced, glazed and grilled pineapple. A touch of cinnamon. Aloe vera, agave like medicinal aromas.
Bold earth and minerals. Really rich flavors on the palate. Mushrooms. Match sticks, sulfur. Some sweetness is here but not a ton. Pine needles, tobacco, clo

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

373 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

MGG-13C. Wow I got completely different tasting notes than everyone else! I guess that’s how the brain works though. When I first tasted this Mezcal I loved it right off the bat! My first thought was chocolate ice cream with raspberry jam. I love that combination! Also some caramelized banana, and Jamaican allspice. I’m a big fan of this one.

JDB

JDB

67 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

ABV 47.86% Sept. 2020 Lot MGG-13C
Aromas of fresh cut grass, wet earth, and wet wood. Another hot mezcal from Serafin, seems to punch above its 47% abv. Balanced and very flavorful, what I like about a good cuish. Dried tobacco leaf, artichoke, pine tar, freshly cooked chickpeas, a light sweetness right between apple and citrus, and a touch of acidity. Good complexity and wide spectrum of flavors that I enjoy in a well-made cuish.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot MGG-13C Bottle: 174/319
Nose – Fresh coconut meat. Rainy soil. Violets.

Palate – Charred pine wood. Somewhat floral. Heavy notes of rolling tobacco, cigarette ash and a bit of latex in the finish. Some parm cheese and anise in the aftertaste. A tad hot for 46% ABV.
Rating: 3 stars

longhorn

longhorn

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lott MGG-11C, Bottle 96/227 Production Date: August 2020. Purchased Jan, 2022 ~$85 in Dallas. This was better than I expected and is a well-crafted product. Upfront, it has some fruit elements, almost a cross between lemon and the smell of juniper. Alcohol is smooth and creamy, no punch and no negative effects like stuffy nose that can come from some liquor. Not much smoke at all. Back-end is a bit concise. This is a clean, well made mezcal. I’m impressed. Reminds me a lot of Wahaka Espadin Botanico, around the same price point. I’ve basically used this as a sipper, too good to waste blending into a drink in my humble opinion.

Lott MGG-11C, Bottle 96/227 Production Date: August 2020. Purchased Jan, 2022 ~$85 in Dallas. This was better than I expected and is a well-crafted product. Upfront, it has some fruit elements, almost a cross between lemon and the smell of juniper. Alcohol is smooth and creamy, no punch and no negative effects like stuffy nose that can come from some liquor. Not much smoke at all. Back-end is a bit concise. This is a clean, well made mezcal. I’m impressed. Reminds me a lot of Wahak

Read more
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Production date: August 2020, 87/227 Lot: MGG-11C.

Subtle mineral notes at the onset. It makes a bold entrance like a cowboy from the 1950s announcing “here I am”. This mezcal is not one to be confused about its gender either. At about 47% abv its very straightforward and perhaps would be insulted by pairing it with anything fruity. Whereas other mezcals can be paired with oranges. This mezcal is best paired with a good pal that appreciates the work and attention to detail that gives this mezcal its robust and earthy flavors. Additionally, one of my favorite things about Cuentacuentos Cuish is that it briefly radiates in your chest (some spiciness) before quickly disappearing; embodying the true meaning of spirit.

Production date: August 2020, 87/227 Lot: MGG-11C.
Subtle mineral notes at the onset. It makes a bold entrance like a cowboy from the 1950s announcing “here I am”. This mezcal is not one to be confused about its gender either. At about 47% abv its very straightforward and perhaps would be insulted by pairing it with anything fruity. Whereas other mezcals can be paired with oranges. This mezcal is best paired with a good pal that appreciates the work and attention to detail that give

Read more
mezcalphd

mezcalphd

8 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot MSG006, bottle 15. This is one kick ass cuishe! It is luscious on the front with bright tropical fruits – think mango and pineapple – and then it just glides into a lovely finish of rich roasted agave and lingers beautifully. Well done!

Tyler

Tyler

583 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This new brand is exciting. The founder is incredibly passionate about working with talented producers and being transparent about the production process. I can see why people love this agave Cuishe mezcal. There are tons of earthy and grassy notes along with soft lemon peel and cooked agave. With a slight tartness and zero bite, this is a great representation of an agave Karwinskii mezcal.

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot CCCM7. Bottle 64/267. Sweet green aromas and slight hints of cold white onions on the nose. The palate is grassy and vegetal with a hint of dust and old books. There’s some heat on the back of the palate, but not unpleasant. This is worth trying but I preferred the Tepeztate and the Coyote from this brand.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top