Powered by 100% agave

Cuish Madrecuishe – Hermogenes Vasquez

Cuish Madrecuishe was distilled in March 2020 by Hermogenes Vasquez in San Luis Amatlan, Miahuatlan, Oaxaca, Mexico.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Cost:$$$
Brand:Cuish Mezcales
NOM:NOM-O606X
Mezcalero:Hermógenes Vasquez
Maguey:Madrecuishe
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis Amatlan
ABV: 48%
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.mezcalescuish.mx/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Cuish Madrecuishe was distilled in March 2020 by Hermogenes Vasquez in San Luis Amatlan, Miahuatlan, Oaxaca, Mexico. The harvested agaves were cooked in an underground stone-lined oven, milled by a desgarradora (shredder), naturally fermented in Montezuma Cypress vats, and twice distilled in copper pots. Lot number: HBG-MDR-02.

Cuish Mezcales

Mezcales Cuish is made up of rural producers that are dedicated to the production and commercialization of traditional Oaxacan mezcal from different regions and agave varieties.

For many years, Mezcales Cuish has operated a mezcaleria in Oaxaca City a few blocks southwest of Mercado Benito Juarez. A second location was opened in Centro, Oaxaca. In 2019, the brand began exporting to the United States. Mezcal Reviews lists a mix of their exported releases along with Oaxaca releases requested by website members.

Member rating

3.83 out of 5

6 reviews

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

214 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lote: MAD/11-23, 48%
I love both Hermogenes as well as Miahuatlan mezcal so I’m obviously bias to this one. But still…what a great, sweet, nutty nose I’ve come to associate with madrecuishes.
Sweet tart candy on the taste, lime, peanuts, some minerality, with slight dusty, earthness as well. Full body and strong with integrated smoke.
Review #190

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars10 months ago

lote hbg-mad21 ix-22, 47% abv

Review # 29: Grassy and dusty everywhere here. Some lime, minerals, soil, light smoke, vegetal jalapeno, a little spicy, dry and smoked herbs on the finish.

I was a bit dissapointed with this. It was very dusty and dry and while there was more to offer from this mezcal, it was just too strong on those notes. Maybe i got a less than stellar batch here

JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Mezcalera: Cuquis Cortez Ramos 47% ABV Lot: MAD-VII-2021

A ton of fresh cut grass on the nose, pretty standard karwinskii/madrecuixe profile. The flavors have a great mix of herbaceousness, spices, and minerals. Coriander, and I get candy corn too (which normally I dislike, but here was very nice). Sublime. I am pretty impressed by how different this madrecuixe is from the Ramos (Gusto Historico) offering, both from Miahuatlan. Sometimes, you can drill down on terroir, and think that a region has a “flavor” or a “profile” and then the hand of the mezcalera/o enters in the equation and messes up what you perceive to be that thing. Both the Cuish and the Gusto Historico had the same oven roast (conical pit), the same fermentation ( sabino wood), well water, and cooper still with referescadora. So glad to have my world rocked.

Mezcalera: Cuquis Cortez Ramos 47% ABV Lot: MAD-VII-2021
A ton of fresh cut grass on the nose, pretty standard karwinskii/madrecuixe profile. The flavors have a great mix of herbaceousness, spices, and minerals. Coriander, and I get candy corn too (which normally I dislike, but here was very nice). Sublime. I am pretty impressed by how different this madrecuixe is from the Ramos (Gusto Historico) offering, both from Miahuatlan. Sometimes, you can drill down on terroir, and think that a

Read more
Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Had a bottle of this with friends last Friday. At first it seemed a little softer than I normally like, but then (as is often the case) it started tasting better. In fact I could taste the underlying beauty straight through the cigar I was smoking.

THEN I notice who the Maestro Mezcalero was: Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia! Mogen, one of my all-time favorite maestros!

I’m told by a friend who works with Mogen that this was a cold blend of two different Madrecuixes made within a couple of weeks of each other. Really lovely.

Batch number is written and hard to read. Looks like Lote: H86-MOR-04

Had a bottle of this with friends last Friday. At first it seemed a little softer than I normally like, but then (as is often the case) it started tasting better. In fact I could taste the underlying beauty straight through the cigar I was smoking.
THEN I notice who the Maestro Mezcalero was: Hermogenes Vasquez Garcia! Mogen, one of my all-time favorite maestros!
I’m told by a friend who works with Mogen that this was a cold blend of two different Madrecuixes made within a couple of weeks

Read more
Grexican

Grexican

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The more I sipped with Madrecuishe bottle the more I enjoyed it. Has a great grassy notes with a minerality on the tongue that lingers. Its a very soft 48% which is nice

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose: Hard citrus candy. Slight bit of cream corn.

Palate: A hint of cheesecake sweetness. Lime zest. Peppermint heat. Long, sweet and warm finish. Very light smoke and saline aftertaste.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top