Powered by 100% agave

Don Mateo Pechuga

Don Mateo Pechuga is made with maguey Cenizo or Cupreata, which makes it unique as most other pechugas are made with agave Espadin.

About this mezcal

Don Mateo Pechuga is a pure sampling from Michoacan. It’s made with maguey Cenizo or Cupreata, which makes it unique as most exported pechugas mezcals are made with maguey Espadin. During the third distillation, Emilio Vieyra’s mother adds her special recipe, which calls for chicken breast, deer meat, and a blend of select spices. This blend gives the mezcal a fuller, richer taste.  This mezcal has a nose of roasted agave, tropical fruits, citrus, earthy notes and spice. It has a great texture and weight on the palate. Some batches of this will use different types of meat that are not chicken.

Don Mateo de la Sierra

Mezcal Don Mateo de la Sierra is run by maestro Emilio Vieyra. Don Mateo was Emilio’s grandfather. He migrated from Guanajuato to Michoacán in 1840, and began producing mezcal. Given that Don Emilio represents his family’s sixth generation of maestro vinatero, what better ambassador of the spirit of Michoacán. Coming from Michoacán gives their mezcals a very different character and taste from those made in Oaxaca or elsewhere in Mexico.

Learn more about Don Mateo de la Sierra in our blog post Emilio Vieyra and Mezcal Don Mateo de la Sierra

Or in the Family First Article on the K&L Wines Spirits Journal blog

Member rating

2.96 out of 5

12 reviews

Puzzled

Puzzled

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

I had a shot at a restaurant so the bottle wasn’t available. It’s not as smooth as other Pechugas, perhaps it’s the other meats. Spicy, earthy, strong flavors. I wouldn’t get a bottle.

MaryKitty

MaryKitty

10 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lot G-59. Purchased at Agave Liquors in PV. Not sure if I actually taste chicken or if it’s the power of suggestion. 😀 a bit of boozy heat. Not as well balanced as the other San Mateo mezcals that I’ve tried. I think I do taste chicken.

Suicide Squid

Suicide Squid

10 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Agave: Cupreata
Lot: G-59

Smell is earthy agave with some heat. Sweet agave upfront, becoming earthy and clay mid palette and then running hot and earthy on finish that lingers with some dirty bitterness.

Dom

Dom

29 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Notes of spice & dried fruits on the nose. Palate has light meaty & spice with some light salt. Short finish

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

LOTE#: F-15
Nose – Fruit Punch & Sprite Soda. Slightly lactic. Steak tartar. Thanksgiving holiday spices.

Palate – Great medium viscosity. Definitely papaya. Pine wood. Smoked and salted white-tail deer jerky. Slight burnt bacon fat on the finish. I like the fruitiness/spiciness/meatiness balance on this although the finish falls a bit flat and is quite salty. I really like the Agave cupreata pechuga versus the normal espadin – it’s a solid change up.

LOTE#: F-15
Nose – Fruit Punch & Sprite Soda. Slightly lactic. Steak tartar. Thanksgiving holiday spices.
Palate – Great medium viscosity. Definitely papaya. Pine wood. Smoked and salted white-tail deer jerky. Slight burnt bacon fat on the finish. I like the fruitiness/spiciness/meatiness balance on this although the finish falls a bit flat and is quite salty. I really like the Agave cupreata pechuga versus the normal espadin – it’s a solid change up.

Read more
Xris

Xris

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 35, June 2018. Maestro: Delia Vargas Vieyra. A. Cupreata w/ turkey breast, deer & iguana meat.

Orange peel & roasted agave, the higher notes of star anise & clove, with the tannins of mulled wine. Doesn’t hold the robust meatiness nor the lingering sweetness of dried fruit that I often align with my favorite Pechugas, yet maintains the Don Mateo level of quality.

Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

It is a different experience. I was not aware of the meat process prior to taste:) I don’t eat meat. I actually taste a gaminess in this. Not bad. After taste reminds me of the skin on barbecue chicken. I used to live that as a carnivore!

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Dried fruits and cough medicine on the nose. Some gamey meat and chicken notes on the palate.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

D-25. Chocolate, roasted peanuts, papaya, mango, pineapple, cucumber, and allspice. Very tropical.

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

This is a spice forward pechuga with notes of green pepper, coffee, clove, and dried fruit. I’m enjoying it more after it has rested in the bottle for over a year. Overall I prefer the other mezcals from Emilio Vieyra. Lot 10 from September 2014.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

158 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars6 years ago

i have enjoyed other versions of this brand but this one was a let down.its ok but for the price,it should be much more.its drinkable and fairly smooth.it seems watered down and not much personality.the alto is very good as well as the cupreata.if the cost was about $40,it would get 3 stars.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 years ago

Lot 10 from Sept 2014. The aroma of this mezcal is similar to that of the Siembra Metl Cenizo, which is odd given the Pechuga element. I find this Pechuga is not as meaty as most other Pechugas out there. Some of the additional spices come through on the palate with notes of sweet rosemary, cinnamon, cardamom, menthol, and papaya. This doesn’t taste much like a traditional Pechuga, but it’s a very good mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top