Powered by 100% agave

La Venenosa Puntas

La Venenosa Puntas is 63% ABV (126 proof!), but it is elegant, subtle, and incredibly complex. It is a prized and rare spirit.

Rating: (16 reviews)
Category:Raicilla
Cost:$$$$
Brand:La Venenosa Raicilla
Raicillero:Gerardo Pena
Agave:Maximiliana
Distillation:Steel
Style:Joven, Puntas
State:Jalisco
Town:Jacales
ABV: 63%
Website: https://www.instagram.com/raicillalavenenosa/, opens in new window

About this raicilla

La Venenosa Puntas is a prized and rare spirit. The puntas in this case refers to the upper portions of the agave hearts and the portion of the distillate separated right above them. This Raicilla is 63% ABV (126 proof!), but it is elegant, subtle, and incredibly complex.  It’s produced by Gerardo Pena (the cousin of Don Ruben Pena) with agave Maximiliana in Jacales, Jalisco.  This Raicilla is fermented in a 200 litre oak vat and double distilled in a stainless steel still.

La Venenosa Raicilla

Raicilla has been produced for over 500 years in the Mexican state of Jalisco, Mexico. Jalisco offers a plethora of agave species, second only to Oaxaca, however the Tequila made in Jalisco can only be made with the blue agave. Raicilla from Jalisco can be made with many different types of agave that are scattered across the landscape. These, along with great diversity in terroir, equipment and techniques, give Raicilla an amazing spectrum of flavor and history.

La Venenosa Raicilla range was created by Chef Esteban Morales to bring these hidden jewels to the global market. Esteban traversed the state in search of the best producers in each region. Every one of these Raicilla expressions is unique; created by different Maestro Taberneros in distinct regions, from different species of agave using diverse techniques, the individual results are astounding. Due to the relatively raw nature of Raicilla production, the ABV of each La Venenosa may vary slightly by batch.

Learn more:

Member rating

4.13 out of 5

16 reviews

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

214 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lote 9
Nose is bright with notes of green apply jolly rancher and some citrus. Taste is sharp but full of flavors: orange creamcicle , melon, fruity. The ‘funkiness’/cheesiness from the raicilla is very light. Overall this tastes very balanced and sweet – almost doesn’t seem like it’s 60%+ ABV. Which makes this dangerously good!
Review: 198

Forpowder

Forpowder

87 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot A29 bottle 120T date 10/22 62.3% aroma’s out of the bottle are rubbing alcohol and taco chips. My 1st raicilla reminded of a grappa with candy like flavors. Not hot at all. Clean and simple. Mostly alcoholic like flavors kind of bland.

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

* Lot: 25
* Bottle: 109/150

A *fantastic* Raicilla – Strong flavors, strong heat, tons of sweetness and just plain tasty. ABV is high (63%) but you would never know it.

Long finish and super palatable. The perfect amount of cooked agave and cheese funk and yet it somehow still delivers my desired smooth creaminess.

Lots of various fruits; barely any smoke and honestly the best Raicilla I think I’ve ever had. This is something that I will keep on hand until La Venenosa makes something better to replace it with. A+!

* Lot: 25
* Bottle: 109/150
A *fantastic* Raicilla – Strong flavors, strong heat, tons of sweetness and just plain tasty. ABV is high (63%) but you would never know it.
Long finish and super palatable. The perfect amount of cooked agave and cheese funk and yet it somehow still delivers my desired smooth creaminess.
Lots of various fruits; barely any smoke and honestly the best Raicilla I think I’ve ever had. This is something that I will keep on hand until La Venenosa makes something better

Read more
Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lot 21, 03/22 production date, 61.9% abv

Review #17: Nose has lemongrass and quite herbal. Palate just smacks you in the face. Wow. So many flavors at once. This is 61.9% and isn’t even that hot. Very funky. Light lactic creamy notes, but as someone else ive read says, more jamaican like funk and i agree, it works so well with the all the fruit here. Strawberry, pineapple, red wine, melons, grape candy, lemon. A touch of milk chocolate. A variety of sweet herbs, like rosemary. A bit flowery as well. Light minerality and some sort of chemical note i get similar to the occidental. There’s no smoke on this. Very complex and there’s a lot there that is still difficult to pick out. Worth trying at least once

Lot 21, 03/22 production date, 61.9% abv
Review #17: Nose has lemongrass and quite herbal. Palate just smacks you in the face. Wow. So many flavors at once. This is 61.9% and isn’t even that hot. Very funky. Light lactic creamy notes, but as someone else ive read says, more jamaican like funk and i agree, it works so well with the all the fruit here. Strawberry, pineapple, red wine, melons, grape candy, lemon. A touch of milk chocolate. A variety of sweet herbs, like rosemary. A bit flower

Read more
bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Batch #21

Nose: white grapes, red berries, fruity pebbles, slight carmel, pear

Palate: strawberries and cream, fruity pebbles, slight minerality, green grapes; mild heat but the mouthfeel is full and rich. Snappy finish featuring herbs and cheese, mostly getting dry green apples after the vapors dissipate.

I’m a HUGE fan of this bottle, super delicate, soft on the palate in spite of the ABV. I’ll probably be on the lookout for another bottle so I can compare but man this stuff is incredible.

Batch #21
Nose: white grapes, red berries, fruity pebbles, slight carmel, pear
Palate: strawberries and cream, fruity pebbles, slight minerality, green grapes; mild heat but the mouthfeel is full and rich. Snappy finish featuring herbs and cheese, mostly getting dry green apples after the vapors dissipate.
I’m a HUGE fan of this bottle, super delicate, soft on the palate in spite of the ABV. I’ll probably be on the lookout for another bottle so I can compare but man this stuff is inc

Read more
JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

61.4% abv, Date: 3-22 Lot: A26 Bottle 240T

Picked up this 200 ml bottle at Louie’s Liquor in Azusa. I first tasted this puntas in Chicago this past October at Frontera Grill. Really impressed with that pour. This offering has a thick, strong mouthfeel. Hot for me, unlike other reviewers, but not burning. Has lots of flavors: sweet caramel and toffee, grape jelly, and peppermint. On the backend, there is a touch of the funky raicilla flavor, a bit of cream cheese. Definitely a must try if you come across a bottle at a bar. I am usually going to opt for any puntas regardless, but do seek this one out; you won’t be disappointed.

61.4% abv, Date: 3-22 Lot: A26 Bottle 240T
Picked up this 200 ml bottle at Louie’s Liquor in Azusa. I first tasted this puntas in Chicago this past October at Frontera Grill. Really impressed with that pour. This offering has a thick, strong mouthfeel. Hot for me, unlike other reviewers, but not burning. Has lots of flavors: sweet caramel and toffee, grape jelly, and peppermint. On the backend, there is a touch of the funky raicilla flavor, a bit of cream cheese. Definitely a m

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I’ve always been a big fan of Gerardo Peñas Puntas. It blows my mind how soft and well integrated this is at 63% ABV. Almost no burn and tons of flavor. I get lots of powerful menthol flavors and strong herbal notes that remind me of fresh lemon thyme. It’s probably not for everyone but it’s unique and I love it!

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This bottle is hard to compare with any other agave spirit because of its unique character. It does not smell of mezcal: it’s a very fruity funk like a Jamaican rum, not the lactic, typical raicilla connotations of milk products or barn. Also lilac and a metallic minerality. Little smoke on the palate if any, tastes of a marriage of rhum agricole, aromatic pisco and a vegetal agave spirit. The aftertaste lingers on forever, sometimes suggesting a barrel aged spirit, but at other times just delicious, fresh fruitiness.. I’ll might try water the next time, but this is lovely as it is.

Lot 5.

This bottle is hard to compare with any other agave spirit because of its unique character. It does not smell of mezcal: it’s a very fruity funk like a Jamaican rum, not the lactic, typical raicilla connotations of milk products or barn. Also lilac and a metallic minerality. Little smoke on the palate if any, tastes of a marriage of rhum agricole, aromatic pisco and a vegetal agave spirit. The aftertaste lingers on forever, sometimes suggesting a barrel aged spirit, but at other times just de

Read more
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 4, Bottle 69-285 made 5/17.

Bright pollen notes, with a Sardinian olive oil brine. Nearly just a curiosity try due to the proof, perhaps that’s it’s selling point. Otherwise lacking in complexity and balance. One to pour for random friends.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

38 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Date: 4-17
Lot 4
Bottle 25-280

Agave Maximiana

**ABV:** 61.8%

**Nose:** Strong, pungent. Ripe red strawberries, fruity pebbles, clay, peppers, agave funk.

**Palate:** Medium oily mouthfeel. Dry, Strawberries, clay, roasted green peppers, clay, earthiness, slight minerality. Light funk, slight salt.

**Finish:** Long length, dry. Fruity pebbles, roasted peppers, earthiness, minerality, slight funk.

This thing is an all out assault of red berries all throughout, almost sugary cereal-esque in pure pungentness. This plays well with the more savory flavors of the peppers, clay, and the light agave funk that this bottling has. I can see why this is considered a choice cut due to how intense the flavor is.

Date: 4-17
Lot 4
Bottle 25-280
Agave Maximiana
**ABV:** 61.8%
**Nose:** Strong, pungent. Ripe red strawberries, fruity pebbles, clay, peppers, agave funk.
**Palate:** Medium oily mouthfeel. Dry, Strawberries, clay, roasted green peppers, clay, earthiness, slight minerality. Light funk, slight salt.
**Finish:** Long length, dry. Fruity pebbles, roasted peppers, earthiness, minerality, slight funk.
This thing is an all out assault of red berries all throughout, almost sugary cereal-esque in

Read more
Nick

Nick

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

That distinctive raicilla taste – a change from the more smokey mezcals on the shelf. Always search out a La Venenosa when travelling as it’s been hard to get in Australia. Sweetness and fruits, currant, grape and apple with a touch of candy. ABV 61.8% leaves a sharpness on the mouth leaving room for the flavours to make mark. Second sip confirms the flavours and perhaps a bit more robustness. Third? OK, I will. It’s also the first chance to own a bottle of La Venenosa, so a special place on the shelf. Lot 4: Bottle 191-300: Date 4/17.

That distinctive raicilla taste – a change from the more smokey mezcals on the shelf. Always search out a La Venenosa when travelling as it’s been hard to get in Australia. Sweetness and fruits, currant, grape and apple with a touch of candy. ABV 61.8% leaves a sharpness on the mouth leaving room for the flavours to make mark. Second sip confirms the flavours and perhaps a bit more robustness. Third? OK, I will. It’s also the first chance to own a bottle of La Venenosa, so a sp

Read more
El_Roberto

El_Roberto

23 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 03, bottle 33 of 200 (was a bit scribbled) Real funky this one! Dried fruit sweet smell. Sweet aloe vera flavour. Couldn’t see the ABV % on the bottle but probably low 60’s, and suprisingly low alcohol burn with something so strong! A lot less afterburn than most 40% ABV’s!

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Had a heavy hitting bottle from Real Minero right before this, and asked the bartender what the strongest mezcal they had was. Turns out it was a Raicilla. Super interesting that it was just the puntas. This one came in at 62.4%

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Fruitiest agave spirit ive ever had. Apple and pear on the nose, and kiwi and stone fruit on the palate. Almost no smoke. No burn for 63%. Excellent, a crazy awesome raicilla.

From the Nasa Liquors special bottle from their store-pick batch

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 years ago

Nose of dried apple much like the other La Venenosa raicilla from Maximiliana agave. I got notes of spearmint, grape, apple, and slight metal. It doesn’t taste too strong going down but the finish leaves your palate tingling from the high ABV. Compared to the other La Venenosa Maximiliana raicilla (black bottle), you can taste the difference a second distillation makes.. the flavor experience is more compact and distinct here. I enjoyed this but expected to be more impressed considering the high cost of about $200/bottle; thankfully I tried this at a bar. Lot 3, 5-16.

Nose of dried apple much like the other La Venenosa raicilla from Maximiliana agave. I got notes of spearmint, grape, apple, and slight metal. It doesn’t taste too strong going down but the finish leaves your palate tingling from the high ABV. Compared to the other La Venenosa Maximiliana raicilla (black bottle), you can taste the difference a second distillation makes.. the flavor experience is more compact and distinct here. I enjoyed this but expected to be more impressed considering t

Read more
Keith

Keith

35 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 years ago

Lot 1. Clarity and focus, flavor that cuts through anything previously on the palate, then establishes a sweet, lightly citrus aftertaste. Its high ABV is more buzz than burn; a flavor delivery mechanism rather than distraction. As Raicilla goes this is an all-star. The scaling conundrum is selecting a rating compared to smoked-agave spirits.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top