Powered by 100% agave

La Venenosa Raicilla Costa

La Venenosa Raicilla Costa is distilled two times in a Philippino still made out of copper and a hollowed out tree trunk.

About this raicilla

La Venenosa Raicilla Costa is produced by Maestro Tabernero Don Alberto Hernández in the village of Llano Grande of the coastal region Cabo Corrientes, 700 metres above sea level. The agave in this Raicilla varies widely from batch to batch. Certain batches are 100% Agave Rhodacantha (Mexicano) and others are an ensamble of Amarillo and Chicho Aguilar. It is roasted in a wood fired adobe oven. It is distilled two times in a Philippino still made out of copper and a hollowed out tree trunk. The flavor is complex, bouncing around between fruit, spice and herbs, eventually settling on sweet spice.

La Venenosa Raicilla

Raicilla has been produced for over 500 years in the Mexican state of Jalisco, Mexico. Jalisco offers a plethora of agave species, second only to Oaxaca, however the Tequila made in Jalisco can only be made with the blue agave. Raicilla from Jalisco can be made with many different types of agave that are scattered across the landscape. These, along with great diversity in terroir, equipment and techniques, give Raicilla an amazing spectrum of flavor and history.

La Venenosa Raicilla range was created by Chef Esteban Morales to bring these hidden jewels to the global market. Esteban traversed the state in search of the best producers in each region. Every one of these Raicilla expressions is unique; created by different Maestro Taberneros in distinct regions, from different species of agave using diverse techniques, the individual results are astounding. Due to the relatively raw nature of Raicilla production, the ABV of each La Venenosa may vary slightly by batch.

7 reviews

3.79 out of 5


aarild

aarild

67 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Wet clay, hay, grilled raclette cheese tingling the nostrils.
Medium viscosity, a bit subdued, but nice and very pleasant. Green Madagascar pepper, leathery plum rakia and herbal freshness. Medium aftertaste with hints of blue cheese and pears. Great bottle.
Did not catch the batch number, but I know it was an ensamble Amarillo/Chico Aguilar and a quite recent batch (writing June 2021).

Nickwrobison

Nickwrobison

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot 25. 06/18
44.4% abv

Aroma after running some on my hand is very lactic, funky feet. Smelling it directly from the glass is much sweeter and fruity.
Flavor notes: sweet, limestone, stone fruit (cherry/plum).
Not my favorite of the La Venenosa lineup, but it’s quite tasty.

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Funky and awesome. Blue cheese!! I feel this bottle is well worth the price.

Jongers

Jongers

14 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The first time I tried this raicilla I must say it was really different and I wasn’t sure what to think about it. That blue cheese flavor is fairly pronounced, with smokey and minty undertones. However, I’m now at the end of the bottle and I must say I’m craving another one. This is the kind of raicilla that you really have to get to know, but then you do and grow to love it.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

302 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Echo the other reviews on here. Def. more of a blue cheese/burnt rubber taste. When offered to friends, most dont care for it. Have to say that I am sad I purchased the bottle, however, it would be fun to try once. A miss for me

Tyler

Tyler

506 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

The batch I tried was 100% agave Rhodecantha and shared many flavors you might find in agave Mexico/Dobadaan mezcals like banana, fig, and fruit leather. But it also shares the familiar raicilla notes of diluted vinegar and sour apple. There is a soft mint flavor here that leans towards toothpaste. I’m still getting into raicillas and this one is just okay for my taste. At 45.5% ABV it tastes a bit watery. Definitely a unique spirit and one that might be interesting in a tasting with other spirits made from the same agave. Lot 7 from November 2014.

The batch I tried was 100% agave Rhodecantha and shared many flavors you might find in agave Mexico/Dobadaan mezcals like banana, fig, and fruit leather. But it also shares the familiar raicilla notes of diluted vinegar and sour apple. There is a soft mint flavor here that leans towards toothpaste. I’m still getting into raicillas and this one is just okay for my taste. At 45.5% ABV it tastes a bit watery. Definitely a unique spirit and one that might be interesting in a tasting with other

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

535 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 007 from November 2014. Bottle 36/400. This has a dry, sour, funky aroma. Notes of unroasted coffee beans and wet jungle. It’s good but be prepared for this to end your palate for the night. It’s difficult to drink anything after this one.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top