Powered by 100% agave

La Venenosa Raicilla Sierra del Tigre

La Venenosa Raicilla Sierra del Tigre is typically served at the end of the night due to it’s strong flavor and scent of blue cheese.

About this raicilla

La Venenosa Raicilla Sierra del Tigre is made by master Taberenero Don Luis Contreras in the village of Manzanilla de la Paz, which is approximately 2,000 metres above sea level.  This Raicilla is made from agave Inaquidens, which is locally known as Bruto.  This agave grows wild in coniferous forests and it is roasted over wood embers in an earthen oven.  The still used for this Raicilla is ceramic, Filipino style.  Don Luis produces about 700 litres per year.  This is a rare La Venenosa, and it is typically served at the end of the night due to it’s strong flavor and scent of blue cheese.

La Venenosa Raicilla

Raicilla has been produced for over 500 years in the Mexican state of Jalisco, Mexico. Jalisco offers a plethora of agave species, second only to Oaxaca, however the Tequila made in Jalisco can only be made with the blue agave. Raicilla from Jalisco can be made with many different types of agave that are scattered across the landscape. These, along with great diversity in terroir, equipment and techniques, give Raicilla an amazing spectrum of flavor and history.

La Venenosa Raicilla range was created by Chef Esteban Morales to bring these hidden jewels to the global market. Esteban traversed the state in search of the best producers in each region. Every one of these Raicilla expressions is unique; created by different Maestro Taberneros in distinct regions, from different species of agave using diverse techniques, the individual results are astounding. Due to the relatively raw nature of Raicilla production, the ABV of each La Venenosa may vary slightly by batch.

18 reviews

3.94 out of 5

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Very funky aromas that continue to open up the longer this sits in the glass. The initial note is blue cheese, and there are some really nice additional notes of blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries. This smells like pure berries and cheese. The palate matches the nose in terms of blue cheese + fresh berries, with an additional leathery tone and highly viscous mouthfeel. I’ve tasted a few batches of this and they’re fairly consistent. The notes above are from an unlabeled bottle purchased at the viñata.

Very funky aromas that continue to open up the longer this sits in the glass. The initial note is blue cheese, and there are some really nice additional notes of blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries. This smells like pure berries and cheese. The palate matches the nose in terms of blue cheese + fresh berries, with an additional leathery tone and highly viscous mouthfeel. I’ve tasted a few batches of this and they’re fairly consistent. The notes above are from an unlabeled bottle purcha

Read more
exileonmorrison

exileonmorrison

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Lot A25. This Mezcal is something else. It has a big, bright citrus nose of orange and lime peels. At first taste, it is all orange sorbet with some floral orange blossom and unsweetened yogurt, then it finishes with a lingering creamy meringue feel. This Mezcal is very unique, but probably not a daily sipper.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

This was funkkkk and I liked it. It had a cheese salt popcorn characteristic about it that makes it very intriguing to me. I like weird, this is weird.

aarild

aarild

125 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lot 30, April 2021. I had to rewrite this review after finally buying a full bottle. Popping the cork releases a smell of fromage blanc dessert with lemon, along with light smoke. From the glass, clay aroma and some hay are added. A fruit explosion follows on the palate, sour at first like fried bananas with greek yoghurt, but then the sourness is turning sweeter, with mascarpone cheese, papaya, charred pineapple, peach, lemon rind preserves. Eventually parboiled strawberries are dominating for a second, before a brief notion of proper Italian tiramisù with pastry cream, cocoa powder and amaretto. Finish starts with a hint of china bark and dried basil adding a nice herbal touch for balance. It’s triggering a vague memory of mezcal from Michoacán, perhaps? The aftertaste lingers forever.
It is simply amazing that it has been distilled with just a single pass, in clay pot stills. The sour aspect is the only thing that could possibly be polarising about this raicilla, because the craftsmanship is just excellent. I love it more for every sip.

Lot 30, April 2021. I had to rewrite this review after finally buying a full bottle. Popping the cork releases a smell of fromage blanc dessert with lemon, along with light smoke. From the glass, clay aroma and some hay are added. A fruit explosion follows on the palate, sour at first like fried bananas with greek yoghurt, but then the sourness is turning sweeter, with mascarpone cheese, papaya, charred pineapple, peach, lemon rind preserves. Eventually parboiled strawberries are dominating for

Read more
El_Roberto

El_Roberto

23 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Bottle 34 of 70, lot 13, destilled 03/2018. Love this brand and their wild funky flavours. Smells like blue cheese, Boysenberry on the palate. Such a delicious berry flavour.

DaveMaguey

DaveMaguey

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Date 11-19, Lot 21, Bottle 48/390
I like this a lot! Strawberry cream cheese or something like that. Suave and a bit creamy feeling. Very unique, find a bottle and try it.

Rakhal

Rakhal

378 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is one of the most polarizing agave spirits I’ve ever come across. In a recent Raicilla tasting two of our group loved it and the rest couldn’t stand it. I appreciate it for its uniqueness but I probably wouldn’t reach for it often if I had a bottle. Apparently the still that he uses to make this is quite unique, I’d love to visit his Taberna. As for the tasting notes… when I lived in Thailand there was a fermented yogurt drink called Yakult that we would drink to settle our stomach’s when we weren’t feeling well. This spirit reminds me of Yakult. Fermented milk, dried aged Mexican cheese, sour Pulque, the slight sweetness of fruit on the edge of rotting, and dirt. Definitely worth trying because you may just love it.

This is one of the most polarizing agave spirits I’ve ever come across. In a recent Raicilla tasting two of our group loved it and the rest couldn’t stand it. I appreciate it for its uniqueness but I probably wouldn’t reach for it often if I had a bottle. Apparently the still that he uses to make this is quite unique, I’d love to visit his Taberna. As for the tasting notes… when I lived in Thailand there was a fermented yogurt drink called Yakult that we would drink to settle our s

Read more
meserole

meserole

72 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Wow – this really is surprising and funky. Lactic/microbial/yogurt/sour cheese on the nose and mouth, with a sort of burnt cacao or fudge aftertaste. Like chocolate cheescake? Weird and exciting — easy sipper once you get used to it.

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Big orange and blue cheese flavors. At first I wasn’t a fan of how thin the body and the abv felt but now im really enjoying this. As unique as it gets!

Nick

Nick

25 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is a great raicilla to enjoy with summer salads – throw some fetta or blue cheese in (ok, a bit of balsamic vinegar, some cherry tomatoes…I digress). Rich, robust and yes funky, but the palette seems to want to come back for more. You’ll find more flavours hidden if you wait a bit and enjoy the back palette – breathe out slowly. Del tigre can surprise with a few more fruit flavours, some tempered with a bit of age. It’s certainly not a run of the mill raicilla. Don Luis Contreras, 46.7%, Lot 13, 03/18. Bottle 35/70.

This is a great raicilla to enjoy with summer salads – throw some fetta or blue cheese in (ok, a bit of balsamic vinegar, some cherry tomatoes…I digress). Rich, robust and yes funky, but the palette seems to want to come back for more. You’ll find more flavours hidden if you wait a bit and enjoy the back palette – breathe out slowly. Del tigre can surprise with a few more fruit flavours, some tempered with a bit of age. It’s certainly not a run of the mill raicilla.

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Strong butterscotch vibes. I am not a huge fan of butterscotch, but this is no doubt an interesting bottle for those who are.

Patrick

Patrick

48 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote : 09
Date : 01/16
Nose : Immediately cherries and blue cheese. Sour with caramel and faint herbs.
Taste : also sour with berries and bagasse. Clay and chocolate round it off.
Finish : Wow that’s big. Let’s just say it leaves a permanent impression. Everything I mentioned plus some smoke.

Jongers

Jongers

14 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I find this one excellent. Notes of butterscotch, mild cheese, and yeast/wild microbes on the nose. Some of that carries over into the taste, with some herbal, sweetness, and elderflower character as well, finishing in a light smokiness. It kind of has a character I typically associate with Sotol. I find it fairly smooth and creamy.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

168 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

46.7%ABV

Slow legs. Aged cheddar cheese, flowers, orange [peel]. Some juniper, papaya, tickle of ash, lilac, lily, chrysanthemum, wild cherries, coriander. Slight charcuterie, kukicha.

Electric and floral. So high toned but with that proteiny thing underlying it all. More herbs like rosemary on the finish with ripe cara cara orange and flowers.

Amazing product, but it lacks balance of flavors. I don’t mind eccentric if it’s done well, and this is missing the balance although just a very impressive style to produce.

46.7%ABV
Slow legs. Aged cheddar cheese, flowers, orange [peel]. Some juniper, papaya, tickle of ash, lilac, lily, chrysanthemum, wild cherries, coriander. Slight charcuterie, kukicha.
Electric and floral. So high toned but with that proteiny thing underlying it all. More herbs like rosemary on the finish with ripe cara cara orange and flowers.
Amazing product, but it lacks balance of flavors. I don’t mind eccentric if it’s done well, and this is missing the balance although just a very impr

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I was warned it was funky… It truly was, my first raicilla – smelled like cheese and active yeast. Reminds me of some wild ales that i’ve tried, but unlike any other agave spirit I’ve had.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Solid but not overpowering like Costa. Not sure if its worth the price, but worth trying nonetheless. Sl

Keith

Keith

35 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

I appreciate funk and I kind of like Sierra del Tigre. My wife says my breath smells like I’ve been eating road-kill after I drink it. We still get lots of laughs on that comment.

Joseph

Joseph

26 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Tried a small sample – the glass smelled like it had been rubbed down with a roquefort blue cheese. A silky mouthfeel & medium-heavy viscosity from what I remember. A rich robust funkiness pervades the palate. It tastes like the roasted agaves had some extra time to decompose and pick up all sorts of yeasts and bacteria. If you like the idea of a spirit tasting like a world of funk – then give this a try.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top